Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean & Rice Veggie Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean & Rice Veggie Burgers

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2008

      I read a previous review and decided to use fat free refried beans instead of mashing the beans myself. Otherwise I followed the recipe closely. I thought I had the consistency problem solved because this made a smooth batter. But they still didn't fry nicely and were mushy. So I took the rest of the mixture, formed it into patties and baked it at about 375 degrees for about 15 minutes. Viola! Very good! I could hear my DS taking a bite and saying "These ARE good." Thanks for the recipe, Krsi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      We loved this black bean burger. Even my 4 yr old daughter ate it and she usually shuns new foods. I mostly followed the recipe, but added a little minced garlic. Next time, I plan to use more salsa. The burgers held together well for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      YUM-O! These had a great taste. Although they fell apart on me, they still were amazing. I might add an egg to bind them next time. I had several guests ask for the recipe. Served them with recipe 101803 and recipe 156914.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      The taste and ease to this prepare is great, the texture isn't though. It was very dry and I had a hard time getting it to stay in one piece. Adding a little bit of oil, helped it stay together better. I won't be making this recipe again though... :/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      These were my first attempt at veggie burgers. I'm hoping to find a recipe that can replace the expensive store-bought kind. I doubled the salsa, added extra spices, and added 1/2 cup bread crumbs. They held together fine, and the taste was pretty good. I made the mixture into 6 burgers. I love that they are cheap, healthy, and easy. My main complaint is that I would like them better if the texture were a little more "meaty" though... they really don't compare to the store-bought in that respect (unless I did something wrong?). Not sure how to achieve that. I would probably also add some other veggies to it in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Followed the recipe as written, except to add some shredded carrot as well. Not very impressed. The texture was decent for me, but the flavor was severely lacking. I guess I should have followed some other reviewer's advice and upped the seasoning. I might also try again but using re-fried beans or mashing mine a bit finer, as my 3 year old was not fond of the taste or the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I've never eaten black bean burgers before and these were a great first try! I use an Uncle Ben's brown rice and vegetable medley pouch for the rice, and I added extra cumin and chili powder. The rice and beans and everything held together ok, but I added the egg anyway. It made it way too soft, so I added more rice and some breadcrumbs. I cooked these on my George Foreman grill and they came out nice. I was trying these out on my husband as part of a meatless meal but he thought they didn't have enough flavor for his taste, but he says that about nearly everything, lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      I might not have the expertise needed for this. I was very excited about the recipe - but it ended up as a "Black Bean Sloppy Joe", and not really a very tasty one. I did add Guacamole, which was good! But it was kind of like a sloppy burrito on a hamburger bun. I wish I knew how to make it stick - obviously other people were able to do this, I just couldn't make it happen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This started out as a disaster. I followed the recipe exactly. Used whole wheat rice and green onion. I started this in a pan making 2 burgers 1/2 cup each. They just didn't bind together enough for me to flip them and eventually I ended up mixing it all up and making a burrito out of it for my 6 year old. She was happy, with cheese, extra salsa and sour cream. Next I tried 1 burger using 1/4 cup of the mixture. I cooked the bottom and then put it under the broiler to stiffen up the top. It sort of worked. It fell apart a little but in manageable pieces. The taste was ok. I ate it on whole wheat toasted bread. It was much better after adding a piece of cheese. I have the left over mixture sitting in the fridge. Maybe it will be better after sitting over night. It seems like it needs more of a binder. The rice isn't enough. All in all 3 stars is generous. Sorry, I really wanted this to be good too, especially after all the good reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Cheap + Healthy + Tasty = Inspiring! We used jasmine rice, which added a deep, almost nutty flavor to the patties, and threw in some fresh chopped tomatoes and cucumber to boost the veggie count. We also spiced it up using extra garlic, Thai chili sauce (Sambal Oelek, ground chili with garlic - available at Asian markets or in the Asian food sections), a few dashes of cumin (powder), and homemade salsa (tomatoes, garlic, fresh jalepenos, salt, and lime juice). We also used the liquid in which the beans were packed, adding approximately 1/2 - 3/4 cup of homemade bread crumbs to soak up excess moisture. Our yield was easily up to 12 hamburger-sized patties. Depending on the amount of rice/bread crumbs used, you may want to use more eggs and/or oil to bind. We drizzled a little lime over our patties and ate them over a bed of jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Found this one to be a huge family hit and is now on our "favorites" list. I used an entire one pound package of beans, and increased the recipe accordingly. I also added some bread stuffing mix to help the patties stay together better. With the increased recipe, I was able to feed my wife, my son and the four other members of his band who practice at our house regularly, and then to put about twenty burgers in the freezer to be popped out for a quick and easy (and tasty) meal at will. Won't be buying anymore veggie burgers at the store, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I've been searching for a veggie burger recipe that didn't involve a long list of ingredients, massive prep and cook time, and a blender. And this is it! I've been buying veggie burgers occasionally, because I like them, even though I'm not a vegetarian. After this recipe, I will no longer be buying those expensive tasteless burgers and using this instead! This took me about 20 minutes to put together and cook, and I added red pepper flakes, cumin, and garlic powder. I froze a couple of these for a meal later on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Easy and very good. I added a little cumin and chili powder to it. Made 8 smaller patties and they are good as a burger but I also enjoyed it crumbled on a salad with tomatoes, avocado, and shredded pepperjack. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I LIKED THIS! I will only make it for me though and perhaps our son. I put a tblsp. of diced green mild chilies in it and grated the onion and one large egg. For a vegie pattie this is good, served with a slice of lettuce and tomato open faced on a slice of toast, even better. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Made this for my husband and vegetarian teenage daughter last night and they loved it. Much better than store-bought veggie burgers. I did add the egg and that helped them stay together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Thank you! These are the best veggie burgers that I've made. They had the best taste and were the easiest to make. I followed the recipe, except that I used brown rice and my favorite enchilada sauce instead of salsa. The first four burgers tasted great, but fell apart. Next time I added some ground up whole oats to thicken the burger mixture and hold it together. I should have added some additional seasoning to make up for the oats diluting the flavor of the mixture, but it was still yummy! Next time I'll try adding some fresh cilantro and some garlic. I will be making these for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I made them for my 2 year old b/c I want to try and get her away from eating animal protein as her main source of protein (and for me as I'm slowly turning into a vegetarian). I didn't have black beans in the house so instead I used kidney beans. The last two on the griddle as I type this. I did make some alterations as I'm also trying to get veggies into my daughters diet. I chopped up 1/2 celery really fine and shredded 1/2 carrot really fine. I added some fresh parsely and a few dashes of my steak seasoning. I also upped the amount of salsa to just under 1/4 c. Although I am on a juice fast, I just had to try one. It was delicious - even my picky husband liked it. I served it to my daughter without a bun and just put some ketchup and mustard on it. She devoured it and for that alone this gets 5 stars. Even if she didn't like it, I still would have given it 5 stars b/c both DH and I liked it, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      I really enjoyed these. I have a soy allergy, and it is next to impossible to find a frozen veggie burger without soy of some kind in it. I made a double batch of these and froze them for summer parties. I was able to get 12 patties out of the batch. I will be taking some with me to a BBQ tomorrow. I enjoyed these without a bun on a bed of lettuce and a dollop of sour cream and more salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      I used leftover refried black beans in this recipe, and it tasted good. It's a nice, easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean & Rice Veggie Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    83%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 118.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites