Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean & Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean & Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2002

      THIS... THIS...Oh MY!!! WOW! I LOVED it!!! It's so simple and wonderful and delicious!!! I added a fresh jalapeno for and extra kick. What a great pick-me-up from a not so grand day! Thank you so much for this recipe! This will be going on the books and showing up at the annual Traynor Christmas party!!! I have a Mexican theme most of the time so this will be awesome!! Wahoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      I can't understand how something so simple and yet so delicious has passed me by so long. Not anymore! This is going to become a staple in our weekly meals. I just made this last night and there wasn't any left to take to work today, sigh... Black beans aren't readily available where I live, so I used 1 cup of cooked red beans and 1 cup of cooked chickpeas. It's really the cilantro that is the star of this dish! I used a garlic flavored oil, and tossed in just a hint of crushed red pepper flakes. Thanks again, Dancer, you've always come through for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Terrific tasting recipe. I used canned dark red kidney beans (my favorite). I also added some cumin and chili powder to the dressing. A freshly chopped jalapeno really gave it some zing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Excellent. Made this for a picnic this past weekend and there wasn't any to take home. (And I doubled the recipe)! Next time I'll take Miriam's suggestion and use a garlic flavored oil, but will use a little bit less than it called for. I may add some chopped tomato next time too. Don't skimp on the cilantro - it really makes this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      Salad was way too oily, so I would definately cut back on that if I ever made it again, which I doubt. Also thought the dressing to be a little bland. I have decided that I do not care for the crunch of cold cooked rice so that is why I probably won't try again. The recipe sounded great so I had to give it a try but it just is not what we like so it's nothing personal, just a matter of preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      I really liked the idea of this recipe, but I felt it had way too much garlic, especially the left-overs. I'm usually not anti-garlic, but for raw fresh garlic, it was just too much even after I added extra rice and beans. I actually offended myself with my breath that night and the next day. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and next time will reduce it further to 1/4 or 1/3 cup, because it was still a little oily. I also added a half of a jalapeno pepper and some cumin, which was good. I will try this again some day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Wonderful recipe. Only change I made was add a red pepper, to which i had roasted, peeled & diced. Took it to a potluck at work and everyone loved it. I am going to make again for home and try to use less oil. Will advise how this turns out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This is a tasty cold rice salad! I take it for lunch frequently. Sometimes I add chopped leftover chicken. I always use only 1/4 cup oil and it is still nice and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I cooked the rice with a can of Hunts diced tomato and green chilies. Like others, I added some chopped jalepeno and lessened the oil. I also left out the onion, and roasted a whole bulb of garlic which I added. Just yummy. Hopefully we wont eat it all before it chills and I can see if it is good like that too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I made the recipe as written except for using way less oil. I used brown rice, added black olives and chopped fresh tomato. This is a great fresh salad that is almost enough for a meal in itself

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Made it lunch one day and took it to work. Was just what I needed for a filling lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      We really liked this. I followed some of the advice to suit our tastes. I added a freshly chopped jalapeno. I used only a quarter of a cup of oil and I added garlic juice instead of fresh garlic to make sure it was well blended in the dressing. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Hi,I was looking for an easy mexican side dish and this was perfect.Only thing I didn't like was that the garlic was a little too much even for a garlic lover like me.Another use for the leftovers,add some corn and roll it in a warm tortilla roll with some salsa,sour cream and guacamole and you have a great burrito.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      Absolutely delicious. A great side dish to any Mexican entree. I agree with one other chef who states that the cilantro is the star. I used extra virgin olive oil and when whisked with the garlic and lime juice, the dressing takes on a thicker consistency. Perfect. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean & Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 611.6
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    61%
    Total Fat 41.6 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites