12 Reviews

My husband was out when I was preparing this, and returned to see me pulling a 'pie' out of the oven. He anxiously asked me what kind it was and then paled when I said it was Black Bean. However, his expression changed considerably when he tasted it. This is a definate keeper. The flavors are great. It is like bean enchilladas in a pie crust. After starting this recipes, I realized that I didn't have any bottled salsa. I substituted some canned diced tomatoes with green chilies and upped the amount of the other spices a little. I am anxious to try it with salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. October 17, 2003

This was quick and easy to prepare. The only thing I did different was I criss-crossed the top crust rather than use the whole thing. Just a personal preference. This made a delicious entree. I served a pineapple/mandarin orange salad and corn muffins with it. Geema, I thank you for sharing this recipe. It has been added to my permanent recipe collection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug March 25, 2003

I really enjoyed this recipe. Instead of adding the shredded cheese between layers I made a mixture of half sour cream and half salsa. This gave the pie a bit more moisture. I'll make this one again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rewetzel1 December 29, 2009

This dish is yummy! It's filling and pretty healthy, with lots of fiber and not a ton of fat. I omit the salt, just don't feel that it needs it. Don't be afraid to give this a try, it's packed with flavor. My vegeterian friends love when I make this for them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rottmom June 02, 2009

I made this recipe for my cooking group and all 6 families raved about it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btwachs August 24, 2008

This was excellent!! I had a pre-made frozen pie crust I needed to use so did as another reviewer suggested and used crescent rolls for the top crust - worked beautifully! The only other changes I made were to use taco sauce (also needed to use it) instead of salsa and all red bell pepper (don't care for green bell pepper). A single can of beans was plenty to fill the crust I had. The seasonings were just perfect. Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 July 02, 2008

This was a great pie....something a little different which is always nice. I used a store bought pie crust dough and although they come 2 in a package; I had only one left. In skimming over the other reviews; I noticed that a couple had omitted the second crust and 1 had done a criss-cross topping... SO I improvised and experimented with something I have been wanting to try and used a crescent roll type of quick dough to top the filling mixture. I layed 3 "rolls" out flat over the top of my pie - this worked well for me because the dough is not my favorite part of a pie and I do not like them entirely closed lidded. I sprinkled a bit of the cheese over the crusty topping as well as in the pie filling, however I only used about 1 cup total because I did not want it too cheesy - Things turned out wonderfully!!!...The flavors are fabulous...really perfection as far as the spice combos. I was also quite pleased with the crescent roll crust topping idea and will be using that again as well as making this recipe again!! My husband said it was like having burrito pie, and had his slices with a dollop of sour cream - no need for extra salsa here!! Very yummy- Thank You!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 19, 2007

Made this for our vegetarians while the rest of us were going to eat Tourtiere for Christmas Eve dinner. I liked the fact that they were also having a pie-type meal with us and this sounded very good. Deleted the onions because of personal preference of one of the vegetarians, used 2 red peppers, and doubled the beans and spices as recommended for a thicker pie. I prepared it ahead and froze until Christmas Eve morning. The pie was delicious and the vegetarians said this could become the vegetarian meal for Christmas Eve every year!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol B. January 02, 2007

This was fantastic. I doubled the amount of beans and spices to make a more substantial pie. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin to make it taste more "authentic." Truly a great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C in PA March 11, 2005

Good recipe! A wonderful vegeterian dish and for meat eaters try throwing in some ground beef or sliced carne asada, just downsize the other ingredients to make room. Sour cream is a must and even a spoonful of salsa doesn't hurt. Make sure when you put the pie crust on top that you join the two crusts together by molding the sides.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Film Chick February 17, 2005
Black Bean Pie