10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy deliciousness! I used as a spread on a sandwich with avocado and tomatoes, and of course for dipping breads and veggies.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabelicious October 10, 2010

I am a huge hummus fan and never thought I'd like black bean hummus better than regular...but I so do! This is awesome! Made it with 1/3 c. peanut butter only because I was out of tahini, added 1/2 t. of cayenne pepper and a dash of hot sauce. This is awesome...and you can never go wrong adapting a Silver Palate recipe, right? :-) Thanks so much for posting!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious June 28, 2008

Enjoyed this so much! I had large garlic cloves & still used 4 of them & made a great-tasting hummus that was devoured by a small group I host each month! I'd set out wedges of pita bread, but most were satisfied to use it as a dip for chips & veggies! Certainly want to keep this recipe around! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup cooking game]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 23, 2008

Excellent!!!Made this for my sons birthday party and everyone enjoyed it. I probably used about 5 cloves of garlic 1/3c. of peanut butter instead of tahini (you can't tell and tahini is so expensive)I did not add the water but about 1 heaping tablespoon of plain yogurt 1/2t. of cayenne pepper and 1/2t. of paprika. Thank you for the delicious recipe, this is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria August 14, 2007

i halved the recipe but found the quantity of tahini to be too excessive, and it was rather overpowering in the dip. i looked at similar recipes, and it seems that for an equivalent amount of dip, 2tbsp of tahini seems to be par for the course. maybe this is just a matter of personal taste, but i would advise folks to start frugally on the tahini and keep tasting as they add (which is what i should have done in the first place myself).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood June 23, 2005

This is delicious! It had never crossed my mind to make hummus with something other than chickpeas! I also halved the recipe, which made plenty for my family. I did use peanut butter instead of tahini, as that is what we prefer in homemade hummus. I also omitted the oil. We use hummus as a sandwhich spread, often topped with tomato slices. This hummus is a good consistancy, without the oil, for a sandwhich spread. Thanks a lot for the recipe, I will be making this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE May 16, 2005

If you like hummus and black beans you will love this! Excellent flavor (don't be shy with the lemon juice, I actually kept tasting and adding more and it just got better and better). I made half the recipe and it was plenty, and served it with authentic-style tortilla chips. Very simple and so fast to make. Great appetizer for a get together. Thanks flower!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. May 03, 2005

I served this hummus with both a veggie tray and tortilla chips at a party and it was a huge hit! I followed the directions as written except I added a few dashes of cayenne and a few pickled jalapeno slices to make it a bit spicier. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia December 31, 2013

This hummus has great flavor, I love the characteristic flavor the tahini gives it. I cut back on the salt and doubled the lemon (and think lime would be a great sub for the lemon as well). Next time I will leave the water out to make it thicker. Thanks, flower!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 22, 2011

This is a change from the usual hummus. I'm not sure I like it as well, but it is still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 June 03, 2006
Black Bean Hummus