17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

UPDATED REVIEW: This has been a favorite recipe in my family since at least 2006. We've revised it a bit over the years--adding cheese and green chiles to the internal filling, substituting shredded chicken for seasoned ground beef, etc. The last three years we've had to get creative due to a dairy allergy in our family. What we do now is shredded chicken, rinsed black beans, chopped green chiles, and enough green enchilada sauce to hold it together a bit for the internals. We top with green enchilada sauce and sliced black olives. I miss cheese and sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama August 01, 2014

This was quick, easy and a great change from just making fast tacos. I thought the flavor was great, but I used taco sauce that I had on hand instead of enchilada sauce and mexican blend cheese instead of sharp. I will definitely put this into my rotation of "regular" meals and make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindynicole7 September 19, 2010

This was pretty yummy, but could be EVEN yummier...... next time, I'd just use half of the beef suggested, seeing as I cooked the full pound of beef, filled up my tortillas, and had plenty left! I just put the rest of the meat into tacos for my picky DH.... OR it might be better to just put the black beans as the filling and omit the meat. I think adding black olives might make that yummy sauce even better next time also... and I'll put the cheese inside the tortillas with the meat or beans next time. All in all this is a great basic recipe that can go many different ways! Thanks for sharing it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ October 06, 2008

This was great. I only had mild cheddar cheese so I used that and didn't add any green onions. I didn't use sour cream (I wanted to cut back on some of the fat and calories) so I had to add about 2t of sugar to the bean mixture to take away some of the bitterness. Next time, I'll try the sour cream, it will only make the casserole even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 January 25, 2008

Very good! Didn't have any garlic or onions - would have been even better with those added ingredients! A nice not-quite-so-ordinary enchilada dish. We enjoyed this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers June 19, 2007

This is a great enchilada recipe. Next time I'll add more sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tbean1 January 03, 2007

I like this one and it is filling. This certainly has some taste and a zing to it, nothing extra needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EssenceA March 31, 2006

I tried this and found it was rather dull and bland. It needs some spicing up or the addition of other veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Maven February 12, 2006

My family enjoyed this recipe but I don't know if I would ever make it again. I thought the sauce was great but the inside of the tortilla was just filled with the meat and I thought it tasted kind of dry. Once the cheese was on, the sauce pretty much evaporated underneath it. I should have made it according to vholland's suggestion and mixed part of the cheese with the beef. Overall, I think it is a good enchilada but I will keep looking for a fantastic recipe for my file box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani October 17, 2005

I experimented with this recipe and then ended up serving it as a casual dinner to the owner of our company. Lucky for me he loves black beans. He was traveling through town and very grateful for the homemade meal. I was very grateful it turned out so well. Delicious and a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine September 16, 2005
Black Bean Enchilada Casserole