Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2010

      This was quick, easy and a great change from just making fast tacos. I thought the flavor was great, but I used taco sauce that I had on hand instead of enchilada sauce and mexican blend cheese instead of sharp. I will definitely put this into my rotation of "regular" meals and make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This was pretty yummy, but could be EVEN yummier...... next time, I'd just use half of the beef suggested, seeing as I cooked the full pound of beef, filled up my tortillas, and had plenty left! I just put the rest of the meat into tacos for my picky DH.... OR it might be better to just put the black beans as the filling and omit the meat. I think adding black olives might make that yummy sauce even better next time also... and I'll put the cheese inside the tortillas with the meat or beans next time. All in all this is a great basic recipe that can go many different ways! Thanks for sharing it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was great. I only had mild cheddar cheese so I used that and didn't add any green onions. I didn't use sour cream (I wanted to cut back on some of the fat and calories) so I had to add about 2t of sugar to the bean mixture to take away some of the bitterness. Next time, I'll try the sour cream, it will only make the casserole even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Very good! Didn't have any garlic or onions - would have been even better with those added ingredients! A nice not-quite-so-ordinary enchilada dish. We enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      This is a great enchilada recipe. Next time I'll add more sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      I like this one and it is filling. This certainly has some taste and a zing to it, nothing extra needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Quite tasty, we made some personalized adjustments and are still working out our perfect variation. I added cheese to the beef mixture. Another time we used chicken instead of beef, still added the internal cheese. Next time I plan to do cheese and the chiles inside. If I do chicken again I'm going to use shredded chicken. I didn't like taco seasoning with the chicken. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      I tried this and found it was rather dull and bland. It needs some spicing up or the addition of other veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      My family enjoyed this recipe but I don't know if I would ever make it again. I thought the sauce was great but the inside of the tortilla was just filled with the meat and I thought it tasted kind of dry. Once the cheese was on, the sauce pretty much evaporated underneath it. I should have made it according to vholland's suggestion and mixed part of the cheese with the beef. Overall, I think it is a good enchilada but I will keep looking for a fantastic recipe for my file box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      I experimented with this recipe and then ended up serving it as a casual dinner to the owner of our company. Lucky for me he loves black beans. He was traveling through town and very grateful for the homemade meal. I was very grateful it turned out so well. Delicious and a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      A great twist on plain old enchiladas! Thanks so much for the recipe! :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      Great enchilada casserole and so simple to make. I used corn tortillas and it made 11 enchiladas. Loved the mixture of ingredients in the sauce. The only thing I might change is to mix part of the cheese in with the cooled beef filling so that it's dispersed more evenly throughout, rather than just melted on top. Will make this again. Thanks, Lizzybob!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      I made these for dinner night before last. I had 2 lbs of lean ground beef so I doubled the recipe. I used one package of regular taco seasoning and one "hot". I did not have canned enchilada sauce so I used 2 packages of powedered sauce mixed per the package instructions. I also used 1 can of rotel instead of the green chili's. Doubling the recipe made tons of food, it would be a great way to have something for the freezer or for a pot luck. My family loved them and I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      This was a great dinner! I loved the topping over the filled tortillas, very tasty. I used whole wheat tortillas and didn't use the salsa or green onions. It was just a little spicy and leftovers were just as good. I will be making this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      YUM! These were great! I didn't want to stop when I was full, they were that good! I'll be making these on a regular basis. Maybe I'll have more self control next time! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      This was a hit!!! I substituted beef with chicken and used chicken taco seasoning. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      This is great, and my husband is picky! I used the "hot" enchilada sauce because we like spicy food. This is very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.4
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    46%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 833.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites