Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Chili With Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Chili With Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2009

      Made this the other night and loved it. Husband was set to order pizza after dinner....till he ATE dinner. I roasted the butternut squash before adding it to onions and farlic which added flavor and cut down on cooking time. I added a full bunch of swiss chard which was almost double the recipe, but it was great.Also, used chicken broth. But really, this was hearty and deliciously flavorful!!! A keeper for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, also using double the amount of chard. I served it over rice. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks, Marissa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      Excellent! I loved the cinnamon with the squash...gave it a mildly sweet flavor and that mixed with the spice of the chili powder...YUM! I accidentally only bought 2 cans of black beans so I improvised and threw in a can of white chili beans that I had on hand. I also threw in twice as much chard and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. So glad to find this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This smelled delicious and tasted even better. The only change I made was to add some chicken sausage since my DH won't eat veggie chili. But the beans and squash went so well with the spices, that I don't think the meat was necessary. Soooo good (and it freezes well, too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      This was delicious! We're not normally "vegetarian" eaters, but this was great. Added shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream in the bowl. I didn't add the cinnamon, but may try that next time. (Second time, we added avocado and some goat cheese on top!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Delicious! Did half black beans, half lentils and substituted a package of frozen spinach for the swiss chard. This is a perfect combination of spices, makes the entire house smell amazing. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      YUM! Delicious recipe. We loved the flavour - even lacking the cinnamon (by mistake). I also used crushed tomatoes by mistake, so put in less than called for. But it was very very good anyhow! This is a delicious dish we will eat again on another cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      This was awesome! And flexible. I had a large winter squash of unknown variety (something crossed with a pumpkin?) which I used in place of butternut, and the geese ate the rest of my Swiss chard so we substituted spinach. Also love mixing up the beans: black beans and red and white kidney beans. So pretty. The spice combo is fantastic, even the hint of cinnamon. I did add a tsp of chipotle season and splashed in some red wine when I mixed in the greens. Added two tbs of brown sugar and it was perfect. My family loved it served with shredded cheddar, light sour cream and fresh cilantro. No one missed the meat. Thanks for a delicious and nutritious new chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      This was super delicious. Perfect for our bumper crop of Chard. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Very yummy. I only added 1 can of beans and extra broth for more of a soup and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I used a mix of black beans, adzuki beans, and garbanzo beans. It took a little longer for my sqash to cook (I proabably didn't cut it small enough).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Delicious is right! I loved this, it was so good. The spices were right on. I served with cilantro and eat as is. This is a keeper, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Chili With Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    17%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 280.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 26.1 g
    104%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes