Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Chicken Stew OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Chicken Stew OAMC

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2009

      I thought this was pretty bland, next time i might add around a tablespoon of chili powder and probably some fresh cilantro, I did freeze it and it was nice to have something easy to heat up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This was good, I added an extra can of diced tomatoes because it seemed too dry. I would definetly increase the spices next time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Very tasty. The kids liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I made this using fresh farmers market red, yellow, and green bell peppers. It looked very pretty, but tasted no different than a similar recipe that I have in my crock pot's cook book. In the crock pot I dump 2 cans corn, 2 cans black beans, 2 cans diced tomatos, 2 cans chicken breast, 1 bag frozen diced green peppers, some frozen diced onions, cumin, and chili powder. In todays preparation I sliced my fresh peppers "julienne", but would have prefer diced for consistency. I also like diced tomato better than crushed. I like the chunks of tomato when using diced tomato rather than crushed. This recipe was still tasty, but just easier in the crock pot. This needed to go in a stock pot. It grew to large for my skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I loved this. LOTS. But it's not really a stew....let's rename it. Delicious chicken and veggie bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      So simple and very good! I, too, wanted to bump things up a little so I added a chopped, seeded jalapeno and for the chili powder I used Penzeys ground chipotle since I love that smoky flavour. I have a cumin addiction, LOL, so I added a wee bit more. Everything else, I made as written. I thought it was a gorgeous dish with all the different colours, so I took a pic before I dug in. The majority of the recipe will be going straight to the freezer in individual serving sizes, ready for me to grab for brown bag lunch anytime. Perfect! Thanks bmcnichol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Very good! I used red, yellow and orange peppers and cut them in thick chunks, and I used diced tomatoes. I served it over some left over couscous and topped it with some cheddar cheese. I enjoyed it very much. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      One of my fave new OAMC recipes! So easy to throw together and yummy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I modified this dish to make it spicy by adding a can of Rotel tomatoes and increasing the cumin and chili powder. Once I did that, however, it became a quick family favorite. Great with crackers, although I think cornbread or tortilla chips would be tasty as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Very healthy, just not very attractive. Great with cornbread. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Chicken Stew OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.8
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    16%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 30.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 190.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites