39 Reviews

Great recipe, my kids devoured these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Zimmerman December 08, 2011

I'm giving this recipe 3 stars. The taste was a 4 star, but the process needs some tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 February 26, 2011

Delicious!!!! I definitely eye-balled the recipe. I put my beans, onion, and cumin seeds in a food processor. Followed Steve's advice and added extra garlic and seasonings. I also used oatmeal and kept adding it into the mixture until it was sticky and not too wet. Lastly, I added in fresh parsley and a mediterranean seasoning instead of salt. I ate the burger on a sprouted whole-wheat burger with tomatoes and spicy mustard. Wished I had avocado to add!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrina January 28, 2011

Great flavor but they sure fell apart I did some additions of my own and used the advice from Steve G!!! Easy to make and they sure are yummy!!! my kids love them and they asked me if I could make that for dinner every day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz The Chef April 27, 2010

My husband and I both enjoyed these pretty well. My only complaint is that they fell apart sometimes and could have used a little more flavor, but otherwise they were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Delishis April 20, 2010

Delicious! I halved the recipe and used a potato masher for the beans. I also cooked them in a pan in a tiny bit of oil rather than on a a grill since it's still pretty wintery here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wrench March 05, 2010

What a great bean burger recipe! I followed the basic recipe, but swapped a whole onion for 1/2 of one and then 1/2 a sweet red bell pepper. I left out the cumin. My breadcrumbs were leftover from dinner the night before - rosemary and potato garlic bread. These burgers were perfect consistency and delicious when topped with gouda cheese, spinach and tomato! Yum :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likethebird August 13, 2009

We enjoyed this healthy and delicious recipe. We tried the following spice combination: 2 tbsp sesame seeds, 1 tsp each coriander and cumin, 1 tsp Mrs. Dash, 1/4 tsp each Accent seasoning and seasoning salt. We increased the garlic to two cloves and are considering reducing the egg down to 1. We blended the ingredients in a food processor, which gave it a smoother texture. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K June 09, 2009

Amazing! There's only 2 of us so I halved the recipe. I ended up using more breadcrumbs to firm them up and a little more spice than suggested. Served them on buns with salsa and a side of sweet potato fries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allison.e.rose April 03, 2009
Black Bean Burgers