Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Burgers

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      I agree with Steve Grinavic: EXCEPTIONAL!! I made these tonight and even my picky BF loved them. I toasted some whole-wheat pitas and spread FF mayo and some avocado on them. I took Steve's healthy advice and usd ground whole oats (1 cup) instead of the bread crumbs. I also added two extra cloves of garlic, and I used dried basil since I didn't have any fresh around. They were really, really awesome. Thanks so much for posting this, I will make them all the time!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      Exeptional. I used 2x fresh basil and oregano and doubled the garlic. I did substitute ground oats for the bread crumbs to make it even more healthy! Coarsly cut the onion then threw everything in a deep sided bowl and used an immersion blender to finish chopping/mixing. I think it took longer to open the cans than anything else. Thanks Mini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      I hate to say this, b/c of all the great reviews, but my husband and I didn't care too much for these burgers. I thought they tasted alright. I think that for me though they needed more of a spicy flavor. I may use this basic recipe agian but instead make the burgers spicy. My husband just plain out didn't like the burgers. But then again, he is quite the meat eater! I also didn't care for the cinnamin flavor. It didn't go well w/ the ketchup and mustard that I put on my burger. Maybe it's just my tastes, so please don't take this to offense or let my review hinder you from making this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      this is a delicious and easy recipe! we halved it and added diced green pepper and chili powder and were very liberal with the spices. was very pleased with consistancy of patties - pan fried in olive oil for a couple minutes on each side then baked for an additional 10 mins. next time we will add even more spices, and believe me, we will definitely be making this again! served with barbeque sauce on top - yummmy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      So good. This was my first attempt at making black bean burgers and I will definitely revisit this recipe again! I used about 1 1/4 cups of panko flakes and added a packet of taco seasoning instead of the individual spices. Pan fried with olive oil spray and they came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Not bad but not what I was expecting. I used a tsp. of chili powder in place of the cumin (don't like the flavor of cumin) other wise followed recipe exactly. I will make these again but will experiment with spices. thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      We really loved this recipe. I read one review that said it has a cinnamon flavor, which it does not. Not sure how they came up with that. <br/><br/>I used Bush's brand black beans. I put my beans in the food processor. Also, chopped my onion in the food processor. I had to use 1 tsp of dried basil place of fresh. I was out of oregano, so I replaced it with Italian seasoning. I did use bread crumbs, but after eating them thought about using oats next time mostly because that is what we use in regular hamburgers. I cooked them indoors on a cast iron skillet with grill grates. I coated my pans lightly with olive oil. They smelled so wonderfully. The smell actually reminded me of food you would smell at the fair. <br/><br/>These were very good. My brother said they were much better than the vegetarian burger he had at a nice restaurant on the coast. The next day we reheated them in the microwave covered with a wet napkin. They reheated very well this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Great recipe, my kids devoured these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I'm giving this recipe 3 stars. The taste was a 4 star, but the process needs some tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Delicious!!!! I definitely eye-balled the recipe. I put my beans, onion, and cumin seeds in a food processor. Followed Steve's advice and added extra garlic and seasonings. I also used oatmeal and kept adding it into the mixture until it was sticky and not too wet. Lastly, I added in fresh parsley and a mediterranean seasoning instead of salt. I ate the burger on a sprouted whole-wheat burger with tomatoes and spicy mustard. Wished I had avocado to add!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      These taste amazing! A couple of modifications: I ground up oatmeal and used that in place of bread crumbs, and I added some dried cilantro. I also cooked mine in a frying pan because I don't have a grill. The only thing is how easily they fall apart; you really have to take care to form them tightly when you're shaping the patties. This was my first attempt at black bean burgers of any kind, and I'm glad that they were such a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Great flavor but they sure fell apart I did some additions of my own and used the advice from Steve G!!! Easy to make and they sure are yummy!!! my kids love them and they asked me if I could make that for dinner every day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      My husband and I both enjoyed these pretty well. My only complaint is that they fell apart sometimes and could have used a little more flavor, but otherwise they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Delicious! I halved the recipe and used a potato masher for the beans. I also cooked them in a pan in a tiny bit of oil rather than on a a grill since it's still pretty wintery here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      These are a great base "burger". I halved the recipe because I wasn't sure how the DH would react to anything other than manly beef, but I'm wishing I hadn't. The first two burgers I made as written, the second two I made with a bit of chili powder, paprika, and celery salt sprinkled on. Next time I think I'll try chipotle, and possibly even cayenne. Served on 40 Minute Hamburger Buns. Thanks so much Mini R, will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

    • on August 13, 2009

      What a great bean burger recipe! I followed the basic recipe, but swapped a whole onion for 1/2 of one and then 1/2 a sweet red bell pepper. I left out the cumin. My breadcrumbs were leftover from dinner the night before - rosemary and potato garlic bread. These burgers were perfect consistency and delicious when topped with gouda cheese, spinach and tomato! Yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      We enjoyed this healthy and delicious recipe. We tried the following spice combination: 2 tbsp sesame seeds, 1 tsp each coriander and cumin, 1 tsp Mrs. Dash, 1/4 tsp each Accent seasoning and seasoning salt. We increased the garlic to two cloves and are considering reducing the egg down to 1. We blended the ingredients in a food processor, which gave it a smoother texture. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Amazing! There's only 2 of us so I halved the recipe. I ended up using more breadcrumbs to firm them up and a little more spice than suggested. Served them on buns with salsa and a side of sweet potato fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Delicious! I spiced the patties with cumin, chilli powder, cajun seasoning, and garlic salt instead of the spices listed. I also used oat flour instead of bread crumbs and added a bit of matzah meal. I fried them in olive oil in a nonstick pan. I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.3
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    11%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 114.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites