Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Brownies (Sbd) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Brownies (Sbd)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2013

      Mine turned out excellent! The only thing I changed was adding 1/2 cup egg substitute for 2 of the eggs. Used the applesauce option too! Yummy!! My 16 year old even likes them! They are very moist and a bit more like cake than brownies, but what's wrong with that? I used a Vitamix to blend everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Honestly, this wasn't that great. The batter tasted delicious, but the finished product? Not so good. It was too crumbly, too dry, not dense or fudgy enough, and it wasn't very sweet! I used xylitol and stevia, and in the batter it taste like it was going to turn out wonderful, but alas, it did not. If I made these again I would probably use more chocolate, more vegetable oil, more vanilla, more sweetener, and add a handful of semi or bittersweet baking chocolate. I also thought swirling some peanut butter in would taste good. I could definitely taste the beans after it'd been baked, not very strong, but it was there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Unfortunately I have to say my husband and I didn't love these. I used a mixer but a food processor would have broken up the beans much more. Sometimes you'll bite into a bean and as much as I love beans they aren't pleasant in a brownie. I felt the recipe was lacking in chocolate flavor, perhaps carob chips would help. I used cream cheese instead of ricotta, not sure of the difference that made. I hoped it would give it a richer flavor as sometimes fat free ricotta can be granular, but there was no richness. My batter was very thin but it did bake up with plenty of height.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      These are AWESOME!!!!! I'm starting on SBD tomorrow (after grocery shopping) but made these for our bbq tonight - made them exactly as posted with the exception of adding 1 extra tbsp of apple sauce (so 3 instead of 2). Otherwise exact. and WOW!!!!! these are absolutely fantabulous! I may even put a bit of sugar free strawberry jam on them (once i'm on phase 2)... but DEFINITELY a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Excellent for kids (and adults). These really tasty brownies are easy to make and were devoured by several children of our acquaintance. Just to be on the safe side, I increased the cocoa powder to 1/3 cup (approx 5 TBSP) but I doubt that was necessary. I also used real sugar instead of Splenda since I am not on the South Beach Diet and am suspicious of Splenda for the kids. Finally, based on other reviews, I added a little yogurt (again to be on the safe side). I did these a second time as cupcakes. They puffed in the oven but fell flat when removed. They were still quite tasty. For, The texture reminds me of plum pudding, especially when warm. I've seen other similar recipes that skip the powdered milk and ricotta cheese so if you don't happen to have those on hand, you should still give these a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

    • on November 03, 2007

      These are a great sweet for those on the SBD. I wouldn't mistake them for real brownies, but I am happy to eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      This is a great recipe. My husband likes these even more than the real brownies. When I first made them I found them to be a bit dry but then I thought to modify the recipe just a little and they turned out even better and very moist. I only put in 3 eggs, left out the ricotta cheese and oil and added 3 tablespoons of lowfat plain yogurt instead. After they cool I have them with a no sugar pudding frosting that is also very yummy. This is the best recipe I have found since I've been on SBD. It sure has saved me! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      What a great idea...I had been wanting to try a black bean brownie recipe but this was the first I encountered with the South Beach approach ("Splenda" and low-fat ricotta). This was my first experience using all "Splenda" without blending it with a "natural sweetener" - I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was no "chemical" aftertaste!! I'm sure this was due to *Pamela*s' excellent instructions. The only change I made was to add 2 tspn. cinnamon and 1/4 tspn. of chipotle to the unsweetened applesauce - I felt this enhances cocoa (and something about black beans makes me reach for my chili spice!!) Like another reviewer I began to closely watch my pan at 20 minutes and took it out well before 30 was up. I used about 1/2 tspn. of a diet no sug./no fat hot chocolate mix as a dusting over the top of the finished product - and felt the color contrast was a bit nicer than more dark colored cocoa would have been. I made two batches adding chopped walnuts to one...it worked well both ways. I loved them...a keeper in my book for sure!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I just made these yesterday, and used the applesauce. My brownies ended up tasting alot like black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      I love this recipe. A super-quick shortcut is to buy the store-bought brownie mix (the plain brownie one, nothing "special" in it) and puree the beans, mix them in, and bake acc to directions. Doing it yourself is better of course, but sometimes you just want it quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      For low carb, quite good. The Splenda causes a little mbit of an aftertaste. If it's too much for you, you could probably replace part of the Splenda with sugar to make the taste more natural.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      What a surprise! These are fabulous! Much more like a chocolate cake than brownies, but still great. My husband (who would have gagged if he knew there were beans in this) thought it was so good. I added a few extra teaspoons of plain yogurt to lessen the dryness. I halved the recipe and baked for 25 minutes (1 minute longer would have been overdone). I may bake a shorter amount of time on my next try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Brownies (Sbd)

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.6
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    37%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 47.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 100.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites