13 Reviews

Mine turned out excellent! The only thing I changed was adding 1/2 cup egg substitute for 2 of the eggs. Used the applesauce option too! Yummy!! My 16 year old even likes them! They are very moist and a bit more like cake than brownies, but what's wrong with that? I used a Vitamix to blend everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianaWu July 30, 2013

Honestly, this wasn't that great. The batter tasted delicious, but the finished product? Not so good. It was too crumbly, too dry, not dense or fudgy enough, and it wasn't very sweet! I used xylitol and stevia, and in the batter it taste like it was going to turn out wonderful, but alas, it did not. If I made these again I would probably use more chocolate, more vegetable oil, more vanilla, more sweetener, and add a handful of semi or bittersweet baking chocolate. I also thought swirling some peanut butter in would taste good. I could definitely taste the beans after it'd been baked, not very strong, but it was there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnysweet February 09, 2011

Unfortunately I have to say my husband and I didn't love these. I used a mixer but a food processor would have broken up the beans much more. Sometimes you'll bite into a bean and as much as I love beans they aren't pleasant in a brownie. I felt the recipe was lacking in chocolate flavor, perhaps carob chips would help. I used cream cheese instead of ricotta, not sure of the difference that made. I hoped it would give it a richer flavor as sometimes fat free ricotta can be granular, but there was no richness. My batter was very thin but it did bake up with plenty of height.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy July 26, 2008

These are AWESOME!!!!! I'm starting on SBD tomorrow (after grocery shopping) but made these for our bbq tonight - made them exactly as posted with the exception of adding 1 extra tbsp of apple sauce (so 3 instead of 2). Otherwise exact. and WOW!!!!! these are absolutely fantabulous! I may even put a bit of sugar free strawberry jam on them (once i'm on phase 2)... but DEFINITELY a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LowCarb_in_Indy June 21, 2008

Excellent for kids (and adults). These really tasty brownies are easy to make and were devoured by several children of our acquaintance. Just to be on the safe side, I increased the cocoa powder to 1/3 cup (approx 5 TBSP) but I doubt that was necessary. I also used real sugar instead of Splenda since I am not on the South Beach Diet and am suspicious of Splenda for the kids. Finally, based on other reviews, I added a little yogurt (again to be on the safe side). I did these a second time as cupcakes. They puffed in the oven but fell flat when removed. They were still quite tasty. For, The texture reminds me of plum pudding, especially when warm. I've seen other similar recipes that skip the powdered milk and ricotta cheese so if you don't happen to have those on hand, you should still give these a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okinok February 10, 2008

These are a great sweet for those on the SBD. I wouldn't mistake them for real brownies, but I am happy to eat them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzybee November 03, 2007

This is a great recipe. My husband likes these even more than the real brownies. When I first made them I found them to be a bit dry but then I thought to modify the recipe just a little and they turned out even better and very moist. I only put in 3 eggs, left out the ricotta cheese and oil and added 3 tablespoons of lowfat plain yogurt instead. After they cool I have them with a no sugar pudding frosting that is also very yummy. This is the best recipe I have found since I've been on SBD. It sure has saved me! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gusanita77 July 18, 2007

What a great idea...I had been wanting to try a black bean brownie recipe but this was the first I encountered with the South Beach approach ("Splenda" and low-fat ricotta). This was my first experience using all "Splenda" without blending it with a "natural sweetener" - I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was no "chemical" aftertaste!! I'm sure this was due to *Pamela*s' excellent instructions. The only change I made was to add 2 tspn. cinnamon and 1/4 tspn. of chipotle to the unsweetened applesauce - I felt this enhances cocoa (and something about black beans makes me reach for my chili spice!!) Like another reviewer I began to closely watch my pan at 20 minutes and took it out well before 30 was up. I used about 1/2 tspn. of a diet no sug./no fat hot chocolate mix as a dusting over the top of the finished product - and felt the color contrast was a bit nicer than more dark colored cocoa would have been. I made two batches adding chopped walnuts to one...it worked well both ways. I loved them...a keeper in my book for sure!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free May 20, 2007

I just made these yesterday, and used the applesauce. My brownies ended up tasting alot like black beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
running rachel August 02, 2006
Black Bean Brownies (Sbd)