90 Reviews

Love this recipe! my husband dug into them right in the pan and pronounced them delicious! BTW,using dry beans in this recipe is not a problem. I don't know why people think it would be. All you have to do is cook them till tender and drain. Another thing, using the baking powder and soda does not produce a brownie like desert. It is more like cake. Very tasty but not if you want a brownie.I am cooking the recipe again without the leavening. I also used butter instead of oil and ALL of the sugar the recipe calls for. I think it needs it to cut the taste of the beans and unsweetened coco. I sampled the raw batter as well and it was delish! Oh, I did add walnuts and chocolate chips. Mmmmmm,good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianna M. January 11, 2015

Found the recipe and made them all today! I have to say, they are not as good as Duncan Heinz or Ghiradelli! BUT they are better for you!!!!!! added extra Cocoa, Special Dark Cocoa, and the baking powder and baking soda as so many had suggested. I think next time, I will add even MORE of the cocoa, and leave out the powder and soda to see what the original texture would be like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freckles24 October 26, 2014

Made these today?.haven't told hubby yet they are black bean brownies, he can't tell!! Did follow other reviewers suggestions to add 1 1/2 tsp of baking soda and powder and one extra tbsp of cocoa. I put the beans thru a potato ricer 1st then used a mixer to mix all ingredients, worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anna.snyder20 October 23, 2014

I decided to try this recipe because of all the glowing reviews in my quest to find delicious but healthy desserts. This was horrible. If you like regular brownies you will NOT like these. While I like black beans and I like chocolate, I felt like I was eating them at the same time, which are two flavors that just don't go together. I will never make these again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gooz1231 February 25, 2014

I have made this numerous times...it is virtually fail proof. Sometimes I've added instant coffee, sometimes walnuts but always about 1/2 tsp baking powder. My guests love it and are amazed at the ingredients. Thank you for a great gluten free dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miadolcevita December 29, 2013

I admit, I was nervous about trying these, but they turned out awesome!! I added a bit of baking soda and baking powder, and made sure to taste the batter before cooking to ensure there was enough cocoa and sweetener(I used stevia). Even after I told the kids what they were made out of, they asked me to make more. We went from rarely eating brownies in this house, to making them weekly! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandamann79 September 28, 2013

I love these! Nobody in my family could guess what was in them, but they all liked them! Thank you for the post will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frogginhappy January 13, 2013

I am new to the gluten-free world, and I have been craving brownies! I found this recipe, and I have to admit I was skeptical. I just ate a brownie, and could not believe how good it was! It is just as good as regular brownies, if not better. My husband even ate one and loved it. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. These brownies are AMAZING! This recipe will be my new go-to brownie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin M Ryan January 10, 2013

I discovered gluten sensitivity recently. Being a chocoholic I had to try these. The first time I added the 1/2 t. baking powder and baking soda. No, it was cake. Just made again, added maybe 1/16 t. of each, still too cake, but better. Not sure what you all are doing to make them fudgy but that's what I want. I will say the flavor is really good, no bean taste at all. I added chocolate chips, coconut and pecans and they all work nicely. Just need a denser texture next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kylesgrammy January 10, 2013

I made these the other day for our granddaughter who we just found out has celiac. I am very new at gluten free cooking and have not heard good things about the way most it tastes. I have to say these are surprisingly good. Not as good as the real thing but good, somewhere between a brownie and fudge and very easy to make and you don't have to but a bunch of special things. Will make them again if she likes them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ourruffie November 04, 2012
Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)