Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2012

      Well, the black beans are really a different for a desert, and since there are no exotic ingredients I made this recipe for my grandkids. The brownies were very crumbly and I wished
      I would have had the kids eat them outdoors. They ate every crumb except for the crumbs that fell on the chairs and floor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      Love this recipe! Made it today and my kids loved it even after they found out what was in it! My husband says it's not quite sweet enough but he still liked it so it's definitely going to be on our preferred recipes. So easy and the fact that it is healthy is a major bonus :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Fabulous. Make sure you blend very well and you won't have any chunks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      The family really loved them. I loved the texture but the flavor was not as good as a regular brownie in my opinion. I did use dried beans and made sure to cook them to very tender like a canned bean would be. Next time I will add a bit more cocoa powder to achieve that rich chocolate flavor I'm looking for. (I love dark chocolate!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I made these for a friend who is gluten free. I did add 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp baking soda like another reviewer said and they turned out great. I topped with walnuts and still thought maybe they could use something so I added chocolate frosting recipe 268243, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I really like these! Do not expect them to have the texture or even the taste of traditional brownies, because they don't. We aren't gluten free around here, but I really appreciate a healthier treat that is tasty yet doesn't contain white flour. These brownies are dense, yet light, and not too sweet. They were really good chilled. I added 2 oz melted unsweetened chocolate and 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter, just to make sure they were chocolatey enough (YES). Baked in 8 X 8" pan for 38 minutes (toothpick inserted in center comes out mostly clean). Very very satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This is my new go to whenever I am having a chocolate craving- Awesome and I add a pinch of Cinnamon and a little extra cocoa and wow- Delish~ will not go back to boxed brownies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Okay, I'm convinced. These will be my go-to brownies for forever. Maybe they're not low-low carb, but they're probably a bit healthier than regular brownies. These would be killer with any addition - nuts, chocolate chunks, white chocolate.... Wow!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Black beans?? Seriously?? Yes Seriously, these were amazing, and I was not sold until I tasted them. I did add the baking powder and soda, plus a bit extra cocoa. Since I didn't have vanilla in the house I used cinnamon as the flavouring, which I've done before in brownies and I like. I fed these to my renovation contractors and they didn't even realize they were any different....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I did not really "feel the love" with these. Maybe I baked them too long, I don't know.....but they tasted very dry to me. Not wanting to waste the ingredients, I slapped some Nutella on top and improved the taste somewhat. I didn't see anything on the Nutella ingredients that would contain gluten. Will MAYBE try them again, only bake for the minimum amount of time and add the baking powder and baking soda like other people suggested. Live and learn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I agree that the texture is not quite right, but it's a wonderful way to healthy-up your brownies, and even those of us not GF could use the fiber and vit's in black beans rather than AP flour. Next time I will mix in the choc chips (instead of using just on top) and see if that helps. All in all, a definite keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was good! But I like brownies with a rich chocolate flavour so next time I will increase the cocoa to 5 or 6 tablespoons and will substitute the oil for melted butter and add a 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt to bring out the chocolate flavour. I added the chocolate chips and it was a nice touch! Definitely worth making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Not what I expected at all!! Brownies smell and taste like black beans. Yuck! Will not be trying this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      These were awesome! I made a several changes, no oil, egg whites instead of the eggs, carob instead of cocoa, and 3/4 tsp stevia instead of sugar. They turned out wonderful! Next time I think I'll add 1/2 tsp of baking powder and see if the texture becomes a little more cake like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      that is too cool I would never think thatr my chocoholic craving could be squashed with beans. These are great I am going to make them for fri night poker and see if they will belive these are beans I am having a hard time and I made them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      These aren't bad for an emergency chocolate fix, but don't expect gooey, fudgey brownies. Since I knew the primary ingredient, I could taste the black beans. The texture was adequate, but softer than usual. I imagine adding nuts or chocolate chips would improve them by adding textural contrast. Overall, passable for a healthier dessert. But this isn't my new go-to brownie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      These really surprised me- but they were really good! The kids didn't even notice the difference. I cooked it for 30 mins @ 350 and then 8 mins @ 250 in an 8 X 8 glass pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      I added 1 tsp of instant coffee granules and made everything as directed. Everyone here loved these brownies and nobody guessed that the secret ingredient is black beans. This is definitely a keeper. Healthy chocolate craving satisfying :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      We are gluten/dairy/chocolate free here. I made this with carob powder and Sucanat. 4 stars for taste, 3 stars for cooking time. They were finally done after about 50 minutes. My husband pulled them out (I wasn't home) at 30 min. and didn't check, so I had to re-cook them for 20 more in. later. At 30 minutes, the edges were solid, but the middle was almost raw. I also added some psyllium husks for fibre. And I used some maple flavor, as I was out of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Excellent!!! I made these last night, used Splenda instead of sugar, added a mashed super-ripe banana and sprinkled chocolate chips on top before baking. I also made them in mini-muffins instead of one sheet and baked for 15 minutes. Phenomenal! Nice to have a GF brownie option that tastes good and is good for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    32%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 23.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes