87 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my gosh, LOVE these. I put all the ingredients in food processor until very smooth. Batter was kind of thin, but baked perfectly. Very moist. So easy to make. Will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy12376 April 07, 2013

These were really good, and I could not taste the beans at all. My only complaint, if it can even be called a complaint, is the serving size; it is supposed to make 16 brownies, but they are more like brownie bites than brownies, I'd say realistically it is closer to 9 servings. I added the baking soda and powder as suggested and they were very cake like indeed, I think next time I will leave them out just to see the difference in texture, I think I also want to try making them with egg replacer instead of eggs as I am a vegetarian who is trying to go vegan. I did make one more addition, a dark chocolate and peanut butter ganache made in the microwave with 2oz dark chocolate, 1 tbsp Adams peanut butter, a couple tbsp almond milk, a tsp Earth Balance spread and a couple packets of stevia; the ganache was fabulous on the brownies and divided into 9 servings only added 57 calories to each serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hawaii_dreamin' February 20, 2013

Gluten free and delicious! I cut the sugar down to 1/3c and subbed about 1/4tsp stevia for the rest. I made one batch and baked for 30min and I thought it was too long because they were kind of dry, tried them for 25min and they were still wet in the middle so ill keep playing with it until I get it perfect! So addictive. Thanks for making brownies not so terrible for me :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClairFBN September 28, 2012

These are really, really good. The whole family liked them. I think they were even better the next day after they had "rested" - the flavor was really smooth. I used special dark cocoa powder and added about 1/2 cup of chopped almond bark (it was the only chocolate I had). Awesome and a definite make again!

Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSingARMYmom January 16, 2012

Fabulous option even if you aren't gluten free. My food processor isn't the greatest, so I'll be adding chocolate chips in the future to mask the occasional bean chunk :) I'll probably add a little more cocoa powder next time too, not quite chocolatey enough for me. These will be a great substitute for the ridiculously expensive energy bars my husband likes to take to work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydietrichmark April 25, 2011

We love these brownies, they have a wonderful taste and texture without all the carbs. I actually cut the sugar back to 2/3 cup and was very pleased with the results. I do not feel you need the extra sugar. I have recommended them to friends and family. I use my Ninja to mix the ingredients and it works well. You would NEVER know there is black beans in these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly T. January 23, 2015

Love this recipe! my husband dug into them right in the pan and pronounced them delicious! BTW,using dry beans in this recipe is not a problem. I don't know why people think it would be. All you have to do is cook them till tender and drain. Another thing, using the baking powder and soda does not produce a brownie like desert. It is more like cake. Very tasty but not if you want a brownie.I am cooking the recipe again without the leavening. I also used butter instead of oil and ALL of the sugar the recipe calls for. I think it needs it to cut the taste of the beans and unsweetened coco. I sampled the raw batter as well and it was delish! Oh, I did add walnuts and chocolate chips. Mmmmmm,good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianna M. January 11, 2015

Found the recipe and made them all today! I have to say, they are not as good as Duncan Heinz or Ghiradelli! BUT they are better for you!!!!!! added extra Cocoa, Special Dark Cocoa, and the baking powder and baking soda as so many had suggested. I think next time, I will add even MORE of the cocoa, and leave out the powder and soda to see what the original texture would be like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freckles24 October 26, 2014

Made these today?.haven't told hubby yet they are black bean brownies, he can't tell!! Did follow other reviewers suggestions to add 1 1/2 tsp of baking soda and powder and one extra tbsp of cocoa. I put the beans thru a potato ricer 1st then used a mixer to mix all ingredients, worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anna.snyder20 October 23, 2014
Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)