89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my gosh, LOVE these. I put all the ingredients in food processor until very smooth. Batter was kind of thin, but baked perfectly. Very moist. So easy to make. Will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy12376 April 07, 2013

These were really good, and I could not taste the beans at all. My only complaint, if it can even be called a complaint, is the serving size; it is supposed to make 16 brownies, but they are more like brownie bites than brownies, I'd say realistically it is closer to 9 servings. I added the baking soda and powder as suggested and they were very cake like indeed, I think next time I will leave them out just to see the difference in texture, I think I also want to try making them with egg replacer instead of eggs as I am a vegetarian who is trying to go vegan. I did make one more addition, a dark chocolate and peanut butter ganache made in the microwave with 2oz dark chocolate, 1 tbsp Adams peanut butter, a couple tbsp almond milk, a tsp Earth Balance spread and a couple packets of stevia; the ganache was fabulous on the brownies and divided into 9 servings only added 57 calories to each serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hawaii_dreamin' February 20, 2013

Gluten free and delicious! I cut the sugar down to 1/3c and subbed about 1/4tsp stevia for the rest. I made one batch and baked for 30min and I thought it was too long because they were kind of dry, tried them for 25min and they were still wet in the middle so ill keep playing with it until I get it perfect! So addictive. Thanks for making brownies not so terrible for me :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClairFBN September 28, 2012

These are really, really good. The whole family liked them. I think they were even better the next day after they had "rested" - the flavor was really smooth. I used special dark cocoa powder and added about 1/2 cup of chopped almond bark (it was the only chocolate I had). Awesome and a definite make again!

Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSingARMYmom January 16, 2012

Fabulous option even if you aren't gluten free. My food processor isn't the greatest, so I'll be adding chocolate chips in the future to mask the occasional bean chunk :) I'll probably add a little more cocoa powder next time too, not quite chocolatey enough for me. These will be a great substitute for the ridiculously expensive energy bars my husband likes to take to work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydietrichmark April 25, 2011

OMG! I love these and the fact that they are guilt free. I make them from home cooked beans, abt. 1 1/2 C to one batch, add 1 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and baking powder to make them more cake like. I substitute the sugar for erythriol and a tad of honey. When done I serve them with whipped creme and some berries. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liss E. June 19, 2015

Signed up just to write this review on these highly addictive, decadent brownies. I've made them for times and have modified them until they were the perfect moist brownie.. Every measurement is the same accept I used 1/2 cup cocoa and 1 cup of sugar. I added 1/2 tsp of both bakind soda and powder. Also added 1 scoop protein powder. I sprayed a muffin pan, poured the mix in, and sprinkled choc chips on top. They are like delicious hybrid brownie muffins! 6 grams of protein per muffin. They slipped right on out of the muffin pan and are portioned perfectly. Sooo moist and chocolatey, everyone loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous June 18, 2015

We love these brownies, they have a wonderful taste and texture without all the carbs. I actually cut the sugar back to 2/3 cup and was very pleased with the results. I do not feel you need the extra sugar. I have recommended them to friends and family. I use my Ninja to mix the ingredients and it works well. You would NEVER know there is black beans in these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly T. January 23, 2015

Love this recipe! my husband dug into them right in the pan and pronounced them delicious! BTW,using dry beans in this recipe is not a problem. I don't know why people think it would be. All you have to do is cook them till tender and drain. Another thing, using the baking powder and soda does not produce a brownie like desert. It is more like cake. Very tasty but not if you want a brownie.I am cooking the recipe again without the leavening. I also used butter instead of oil and ALL of the sugar the recipe calls for. I think it needs it to cut the taste of the beans and unsweetened coco. I sampled the raw batter as well and it was delish! Oh, I did add walnuts and chocolate chips. Mmmmmm,good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianna M. January 11, 2015
Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)