90 Reviews

A-MA-ZING! Just found out I was gluten intolerant recently, and have really been craving some chocolately pastry treat. These are without a doubt the best brownies I have ever made. Way better than anything boxed. They are not your traditional brownie consistency, more like fudge, but that's the way I like them! Make sure you use CANNED black beans. Organic with low sodium is the best way to go. Make sure to really blend the ingredients well to get the beans into really fine particles. I used a blender and it worked great. I added an extra tbs of chocolate to make them super tasty. My boyfriend was dubious and even he liked them! For the reviewers who said they tasted like beans: you must have done it wrong, because I have no idea what you are talking about. These taste great!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhanderson86 August 03, 2011

Ok shocking but true we all loved these. I have made these several times and have been adding 1 1/2 teaspoons of both baking powder and baking soda to the recipe. It makes them more cake-like which I like a little better.also like other comments said. i actually push the kids to eat them now for a snack . BUT NO one knows the secret of the beans inside.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faz240 December 13, 2010

I made these last night. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and added 1 more TBSP of cocoa powder and 1 1/2 tsp of both baking soda and baking powder. They turned out great, very moist.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunty Lynn February 24, 2012

These are good but not as great as I had hoped. I could defiantly taste the bean texture and favor but I made them with dried beans and they might not be good for this recipe. Overall fine for a snack and I will probably try again with canned beans instead. Thanks for the recipe.

Update: I have been make these for 2 years since my first review. They are without doubt my FAVORITE BROWNIES EVER!!! Defianlty use cannned beans and up cocoa powder to 1/3 cup. I usually use only 1/2 cup of sugar and they are perfect that way. I have also tried to replace the oil with 2 mashed up banana and they still turned out great. Also, dried cranberries and almonds are awesome in these.

Thanks Again for the Amazing Recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia_w March 08, 2013

We are now a largely gluten free household. I had tried one other black bean brownie recipe and it was supposed to be fudgy but was dry. This recipe is SUPER FUDGY. I poured my brownies as cupcakes. They rose a bit in cooking, but then sunk and became dark and fudgy as they cooled. YUM! The batter is thin and pourable. So one warning: the chocolate chips SINK in the batter. If doing cupcakes like we did...then you may want to add the chocolate chips AFTER you pour them and then kind of sink them a bit with a toothpick. This ensures more even distribution of the chips. Second little warning: DO NOT LICK THE BATTER! These are not good until baked as most bean goods are not. I promise the finished product is worth the wait anyway :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslie.loberger October 30, 2013

Simply delicious. I made a few changes - substituted agave nectar for the sugar, added 4 ounces chopped 80% chocolate and some ground nuts to have a firmer texture. My really very picky and sweet addicted mother in law raved about them, and a friend, who runs Germany's largest praliné club and is most critical concerning chocolate items, was positively astonished. He was the only one to discover that they have to be made from something other than flour, but he didn't mind because he liked both texture and flavour. Great way to feed some proteins to chocoholics, they will be a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany October 24, 2008

Best brownies EVER! I subbed agave for sugar, coconut oil for oil, egg whites for eggs

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My kids mom January 06, 2014

Dang. These are bomb diggity. I added 7 Tbs. of protein powder and I used honey instead of sugar. I added the baking powder and the soda. I put them in a larger pan and and I cut them to look like protein bars. Yum Yum Yum.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Girl November 07, 2013

These are great! Very easy to make, and I love that I had something to make for both of my sisters. One eats gluten-free, the other eats dairy free and both had a yummy treat. I used 5 tablespoons of cocoa, and I pureed the beans well before adding in the other ingredients. I used the food processor. They come out of the oven nice and tall, but beware, they shrink. My dad liked them, my sisters liked them, and one of my kids preferred them to regular brownies. BTW, 16 brownies from an 8x8 pan is not a reasonable portion size. :) We cut them into 16, but then each ate two. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth April 20, 2013

I used stevia and was sadly disappointed.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom728 April 16, 2013
Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)