Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2011

      A-MA-ZING! Just found out I was gluten intolerant recently, and have really been craving some chocolately pastry treat. These are without a doubt the best brownies I have ever made. Way better than anything boxed. They are not your traditional brownie consistency, more like fudge, but that's the way I like them! Make sure you use CANNED black beans. Organic with low sodium is the best way to go. Make sure to really blend the ingredients well to get the beans into really fine particles. I used a blender and it worked great. I added an extra tbs of chocolate to make them super tasty. My boyfriend was dubious and even he liked them! For the reviewers who said they tasted like beans: you must have done it wrong, because I have no idea what you are talking about. These taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Ok shocking but true we all loved these. I have made these several times and have been adding 1 1/2 teaspoons of both baking powder and baking soda to the recipe. It makes them more cake-like which I like a little better.also like other comments said. i actually push the kids to eat them now for a snack . BUT NO one knows the secret of the beans inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I made these last night. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and added 1 more TBSP of cocoa powder and 1 1/2 tsp of both baking soda and baking powder. They turned out great, very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      These are good but not as great as I had hoped. I could defiantly taste the bean texture and favor but I made them with dried beans and they might not be good for this recipe. Overall fine for a snack and I will probably try again with canned beans instead. Thanks for the recipe.

      Update: I have been make these for 2 years since my first review. They are without doubt my FAVORITE BROWNIES EVER!!! Defianlty use cannned beans and up cocoa powder to 1/3 cup. I usually use only 1/2 cup of sugar and they are perfect that way. I have also tried to replace the oil with 2 mashed up banana and they still turned out great. Also, dried cranberries and almonds are awesome in these.

      Thanks Again for the Amazing Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Simply delicious. I made a few changes - substituted agave nectar for the sugar, added 4 ounces chopped 80% chocolate and some ground nuts to have a firmer texture. My really very picky and sweet addicted mother in law raved about them, and a friend, who runs Germany's largest praliné club and is most critical concerning chocolate items, was positively astonished. He was the only one to discover that they have to be made from something other than flour, but he didn't mind because he liked both texture and flavour. Great way to feed some proteins to chocoholics, they will be a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      These are great! Very easy to make, and I love that I had something to make for both of my sisters. One eats gluten-free, the other eats dairy free and both had a yummy treat. I used 5 tablespoons of cocoa, and I pureed the beans well before adding in the other ingredients. I used the food processor. They come out of the oven nice and tall, but beware, they shrink. My dad liked them, my sisters liked them, and one of my kids preferred them to regular brownies. BTW, 16 brownies from an 8x8 pan is not a reasonable portion size. :) We cut them into 16, but then each ate two. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Love these brownies! I have gotten so many people to try them and no one believes that there's beans instead of flour. They are very moist and perfect amount of chocolate and throwing everything in the blender...what could be easier? I added 1/2 tsp each of baking powder and baking soda to make them a little more cake-like. Our new favourite brownie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      My kids and I loved, loved these and Hubby really liked them as well. They were very dense and fudge-like and not too sweet. We will definitely be making them again as well as playing with the recipe some (doing things like trying with nuts, trying to make more cake-like etc).

      Edited to add: I have made these several times and have been adding 1 1/2 teaspoons of both baking powder and baking soda to the recipe. It makes them more cake-like which I like a little better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Loved them! My husband added mint extract to them. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I made these to take to a gathering and they were very well received. Like others, I added 1/2 t. baking powder and baking soda which gives them a little rise. I just went with 1/4 cup of cocoa and did add nuts and chocolate chips. People really enjoyed the flavor. Preparation doesn't get any easier than this. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      So not terrible, but I can definitely detect that it's not the usual brownie recipe. I sparingly sprinkled in some chocolate chips and pecan pieces to maintain a healthy version of this treat. I wish that I had put in some more chocolate chips, though, to make them more chocolately. I also put in baking soda and baking powder, as well as additional cocoa. In sum, I would make them again because they can fill the chocolate void in a much less caloric way. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Wow! These were amazing and so moist and fudgy! My family loved them and both my teenagers say this is their new favorite brownies. They don't have a clue about the beans and I don't plan to tell them! After reading other reviews I decided to up the cocoa powder to 5 tablespoons and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Since the type of oil was not specified, I used melted coconut oil. I also used egg replacer instead of the eggs due to dietary need.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Oh my goodness, these are delicious! I didn't tell my husband about the black beans until he tried a brownie. He noticed that the texture was different but LOVED how it tasted. I did add 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder but that's the only thing I did differently. Brownies are a tad, and I mean just a tad, crumbly so I'll try adding the baking powder and baking soda in the next batch to see if that makes any difference. <br/><br/>I understand the reason for not using dried beans, even if you soak them, is that canned black beans are cooked before canning. I am going to try cooking dried black beans first and see if I can get away with not using store bought canned beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Best brownies EVER! I subbed agave for sugar, coconut oil for oil, egg whites for eggs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Dang. These are bomb diggity. I added 7 Tbs. of protein powder and I used honey instead of sugar. I added the baking powder and the soda. I put them in a larger pan and and I cut them to look like protein bars. Yum Yum Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      I used stevia and was sadly disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      This brownie is awesome! My daughter is gluten sensitive and I'm with Celiac so this is right up our alley! I added a teaspoon of instant espresso and a half teaspoon of baking soda & powder. I only used a half cup of sugar.I also put some peanut butter & chocolate chips with walnuts on the top and baked as directed.For those that are stating that's its dry and crumbly,I used large eggs,and the amount of oil called for. And put it all in a food processor and let it mix for at least 5 minutes until very smooth. You would never know that the base of this recipe was beans....I plan on keeping it that way! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      These were really good, and I could not taste the beans at all. My only complaint, if it can even be called a complaint, is the serving size; it is supposed to make 16 brownies, but they are more like brownie bites than brownies, I'd say realistically it is closer to 9 servings. I added the baking soda and powder as suggested and they were very cake like indeed, I think next time I will leave them out just to see the difference in texture, I think I also want to try making them with egg replacer instead of eggs as I am a vegetarian who is trying to go vegan. I did make one more addition, a dark chocolate and peanut butter ganache made in the microwave with 2oz dark chocolate, 1 tbsp Adams peanut butter, a couple tbsp almond milk, a tsp Earth Balance spread and a couple packets of stevia; the ganache was fabulous on the brownies and divided into 9 servings only added 57 calories to each serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Fabulous option even if you aren't gluten free. My food processor isn't the greatest, so I'll be adding chocolate chips in the future to mask the occasional bean chunk :) I'll probably add a little more cocoa powder next time too, not quite chocolatey enough for me. These will be a great substitute for the ridiculously expensive energy bars my husband likes to take to work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      I decided to try this recipe because of all the glowing reviews in my quest to find delicious but healthy desserts. This was horrible. If you like regular brownies you will NOT like these. While I like black beans and I like chocolate, I felt like I was eating them at the same time, which are two flavors that just don't go together. I will never make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    32%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 23.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites