Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Tortilla Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2011

      This is awesome. I've made it twice since I found the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Made this the other night. Added some ground sirloin. Loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I just made this tonight for the first time. I loved it. The black beans were perfect and the flavors, delish! I have a feeling I'll be making this regularlly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Thanks for showing up such fabulous information. I like this post, keep writing and give informative post...!


      Port Canaveral shuttle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This is definitely one I'll be making again. I did double the beans as some others said because it just didn't seem like enough. With that change it was enough for four with some leftovers. I really liked the flavor and didn't think it lacked anything - the only other change I made was to add some red bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

    • on January 26, 2011

      easy to make and quite yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I tried this recipe last night. Overall it is a good basic recipe but I will need to tweak the spices to suit my taste next time (something seemed to be missing to me). The method itself worked well as the casserole held together nicely and was even better the next day (just had some leftovers for lunch). It is like a Southwestern lasagna. I am gluten-free and could only find small soft taco size corn tortillas so I used a 11" x 7" glass dish and only needed two tortillas per layer. It still made plenty - would feed at least 4 people for dinner. The pan was the perfect size - I had just the right amount of bean mixture. I subbed another 8 oz can of tomato sauce and a little water for the diced tomatoes (total of two cans and about 1/4 cup water) because I am not a fan of tomato chunks. Next time I may try adding some salsa for more flavor. I had leftover black beans from another recipe already in the fridge so I used about 1 1/2 cans in total. I think adding some meat substitute crumbles or if you eat meat, ground turkey, would also make the filling more substantial. I garnished mine with a dollup of sour cream and some cubed avocado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Delicious! We added some chopped roasted chicken & a bit more cheese. It was a snap to make & it's a beautiful & tasty dish. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Thank you, we loved it. Family didn't miss the meat at all (yeah).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Really great. Easy and satisfying. Will be in our regular repertoire. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      This is really tasty! I did modify it a bit; I added a can of mexicorn to the mix, and used six whole wheat tortillas in a 9 x 13 pan because I didn't have enough to do the recipe as written. It turned out perfect, and had a good proportion of tortilla, so I don't know that I'd actually use as many tortillas as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This recipe was fantastic! The first time I made it pretty much exact, only subbing flour tortillas in place of the corn and lowering the chili powder, and my family (husband, two 6 year old daughters and not quite two year old son) devoured it. The only complaint was that there wasn't enough. Since then we've experimented a couple of times with doubling (and since we loved the crunch of the bottom tortilla, I toasted all of the tortillas in the oven before assembling the next time around) but it just hasn't turned out the same. I think this week I'm going to try just making two 8x10's and hope that solves the problem, because we love the meal and my daughters have been requesting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      Quite good and really easy. I added some salsa to the top to give it a bit more kick and really we should have doubled the recipe. I would agree with others that there isn't really enough filling - so if I double the recipe I might triple or quadruple the bean mixture. Still, a nice, easy, somewhat healthy dish that we all enjoyed. My 1yr old ate 1/4 of it all by himself!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Pretty yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Easy, tasty weeknight dinner. Thanks! oh yeah...3 hungry people killed this...otherwise...it could probably serve 6 normal people, but I wouldn't know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This was really good, but it made all 3 of us sick! Too much cumin, I suspect, in conjunction with the beans and dairy... Definitely not a dish for sensitive stomachs. I might try making something similar with different spices, less beans and dairy, and more veggies, because we did like this....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This was very tasty, but I have to admit that it was rather difficult to serve in an attractive way. I tried getting it out using a spatula, but ended up just having to glop it down with a spoon. The flavors were wonderful, I was just hoping for a little more presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Yum! I used whole wheat tortillas and didn't find them too soggy. I made 4 servings, using just 3 tortillas. They were large and one filled the bottom of the dish I used. I doubled the beans and used about twice as many tomatos as called for (canned form instead of fresh for added moisture). I also used parsley instead of cilantro, only because I didn't have cilantro and it worked great. The boyfriend LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Great recipe! My husband does most of the cooking now, and he had no difficulties making this dish. You don't even miss the meat! This is a great vegetarian dish for those of use who are meat eaters and want a break from meat. :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    15%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 461.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes