Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Tortilla Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2012

      Loved this! I've been trying to go primarily vegetarian and so I especially love this because it works as an entree for me and a side dish (with salsa chicken or something similar) for my family. Then the leftovers make for a tasty lunch the next day. We all really enjoy this one. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I was cooking for myself and feeling experimental, so I halved the amounts and used whatever I had in the kitchen. Luckily, almost all of the ingredients were around. I didn't have cilantro, but was fine with excluding it, as it can sometimes overpower some of the other flavors/spices. I used a chunky pasta sauce that was sort of like a combination of chopped tomatoes and pure tomato sauce. I also substituted onion powder for actual onions. This is a great recipe to experiment with. If you want to add salsa, go for it. If you want to double an ingredient, it won't ruin the overall flavor.

      If you're going for spicy, definitely add a lot more in. I wasn't going for spicy, so I enjoyed the taste per instructions. I'd also suggest baking then broiling for 5-10 minutes towards the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      This was easy and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Awesome recipe! The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I REALLY liked this recipe. So easy to fix and it tasted delicious. I did add corn to mine and added more cheese, but the rest of the recipe was exactly the same. I need to put it in a bigger dish for the extra accomodations. The family loved it, but requested the addition of beef or chicken the next time around. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Easy to assemble, and tasted great as written. I think the servings are a little off, we got more like 4 main dish servings. Great with sour cream and chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I thought this recipe was fine. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't really great, either. It could use a lot more in the way of flavor, perhaps additional spices. Mine also turned out too soggy, so it wasn't my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      This is good! I omitted the green onions because I didn't have any...shouldn't have! I thought it was way bland without them, and can just imagine them doing the trick. I added some ground beef to this also, which worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I made this recipe as it was written and I must say this was delish, thank you for giving me another meatless meal to add to my rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Awesome! I was actually (pleasantly) surprised at just how much flavor this simple dish has. I subbed a can of diced tomatoes for the fresh but otherwise kept the same. I will definitely make this dish again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      excellent. throw some corn and jalapenos into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      This is so good! I only used 6 tortillas, added about 3/4 cup of frozen corn and a little cayenne and jalapenos because I like things very spicy. I can't believe how low in calories it is compared to the rich taste of the meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Hubby thought this was decent. I did not like it. I thought the corn tortilla's overwhelmed the taste also. I think it would be fine with a little modification.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      My husband really liked this but I prefer less onion. Not a fan of the crunchy stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Will for sure make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This is a very filling dish! I used 1/2 tsp chili powder and 1 tsp cumin, which was just perfect for my kids' palate. I added a can of drained and rinsed corn to the filling, and used a mix of mozzarella and jack cheese (about 2 cups). The corn stretched the filling just enough so that the edges of the tortillas were covered and stayed moist. I only used about 6 small corn tortillas, tearing them to fit in the casserole dish. I added some Taco Bell sauce to my portion and my husband spiced his up with Tabasco, since I had to keep the spice level down for the kids' sake. My husband really enjoyed it, and didn't miss the meat (especially since I used so much cheese!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      This recipe was a good way to use up some red beans that I had made for dinner one night for red beans and rice. It turned out pretty good and I did add more beans than called for. Cant wait to try it with the black beans that it calls for. I pretty much went by the recipe and added a little salsa into the sauce mixture. It was great served with shredded lettuce, salsa, and sour cream. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I substituted corn tortilla for whole wheat tortilla and regretted it. The whole wheat was too hard and didn't soften at all while it was cooking. Corn tortilla or softer whole wheat would have worked a lot better. Otherwise I liked the recipe. I added mushrooms and habanero. Easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      This was a wonderful vegetarian option as we try to go lighter on our meat dishes. Didn't even miss the meat. I did make a few changes but I don't think it really altered the versatility of this dish. I used one can of rotel tomatoes with green chilies instead of fresh tomatoes and I left out the chili powder. I also used one can of black beans and one can of pinto beans because that's what I had on hand and it was a great bean combination for this recipe. I also used whole wheat tortillas instead of corn just because of personal preference. Other than the fact that next time I will need to double the recipe this was great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Great go to meal !! I topped it with fritos before I baked it to give it a crunch that some of the others said it needed, it was fantastic !! Daughter and hubby both want it once a week !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    15%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 461.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites