Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Tortilla Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2007

      I loved this recipe. I recomend using the corn tortillas (my flour ones got a little soggy). I didn't have any fresh cilantro so I used about 1 tsp dried. I was didn't have enough tomatoes so I probably only used 1/2 c. chopped and about 14 oz. tomato sauce. I had some corn so I added a 14 oz. can of that too for a little more bulk. Great dinner! Thanks spatchcock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      IT was a great dish. I added a few things to it though. I added some cream cheese and left over roast. It was very good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      Better than our local Mexican restaurant! That's Dh's verdict and mine as well. Just terrific made with whole wheat tortillas. I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes and it's juice rather than the tomato sauce. This is too good to serve 6 people. Four diners will gobble it up in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      Great Recipe! I used flour tortillas due to personal preference and fresh black beans. I had no problem serving six with this recipe. These will become a regular item at my house. They are Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      We loved this. I was going to add corn, but once I got the black bean mixture together, it just tasted too good to mess with. Very easy, cheap, yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This is SO SO tasty!! Here is the deal it is great just as it is written but it is even better if you just let loose. Follow the recipe roughly but also cater it to your likes. When I make it I always make more of the filling. I also use more cheese and spices. We like things gooey with flavor!! But seriously there is no need to alter the recipe in a complicated way. Just cook and let go. Use your intuition and it will be so good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      My husband loved it but I didn't care for it. The corn tortillas overwhelmed the flavor of everything else. Sorry, I really wanted to add a new recipe to my cookbook, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Just starting my trek towards vegetarianism and this was my first cooking effort. I used wheat tortilla as well as a 4 cheese mix & smoked cheddar. I didn't miss the meat. I think I should have made enough for 2 instead of 4. I also used Morning Star Griller Crumbles as a meat substitute to keep it vegetarian. This was pretty good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      We made this a few weeks ago, but I am just getting around to reviewing it. It was really amazing! I have been using a lot of legumes lately, just for the health benefits. My husband is really getting sick of beans, but when he had this, he had seconds and thirds! I did use a small can of tomatoes, and a can of tomato puree. I also used dried black beluga beans, mixed with some brown beans. I cooked them first with some spice like cayenne pepper and cumin. We also used full fat Mexican blend cheese.I usually don't like corn tortillas but they are perfect for this. All in all an amazing recipe. I cannot wait to try it with fresh tomatoes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      We liked this one very much. I only made a few changes...used 1 can med. can diced tomatos rather than the fresh...added 1 lb. ground chicken...did'nt have chili powder so I used some taco seasoning. For condiments I chopped some cilantro, green onion, avacado and put out some sour cream ,verde salsa and Texas Pete.....it was a great supper. Everyone voted yes on this one...Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      It is inconcievable to me that I have not rated this recipe yet! This is easily my favorite dish on food.com and has become a monthly staple and a signature dish! Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I was surprised at how tasty this came out. I made it vegan by using vegan cheese sauce (recipe ID 145464) instead of regular cheese. It came out so good I am taking it to a potluck tomorrow. My only suggestion would be to cut the tortillas so they make an even layer. In a 9x9 my tortillas overlapped a lot and it was a little too tortilla-y for my taste. Topped with homemade tomatillo salsa and it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This is fantastic. I used 1 tsp chili and 1/2 tsp of cumin and tostitos in place of the tortillas. We loved it. This is easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Excellent! I used 2 cloves of garlic and reduced the chili powder by half as we are wimps when it comes to heat. Served with a big dollop of sour cream, and I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a new addition to my repetoire!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was AMAZING! Great as is but here is some possible changes: I ran out of bean mix pretty quickly. I think next time I will use more onion, beans, and tomatoes, and tomato sauce. I think I might also add rice next time just to give it more filling. I also added Frank's Buffalo Sauce to give it some extra kick

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      My husband is fond of spicy Mexican food. This recipe has great "bones," uses readily available ingredients, is a good vegetarian one-dish supper, and is quick to prepare. Given my spouse's taste, though, I plan to spice up more next time - I did add the can of green chiles, but next time I'm planning to add 2 chopped jalapenos, one more garlic clove and a tablespoon of chili powder. I will serve with guacamole and light sour cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This was very flavorful and one of those recipes that the fixins are already in the pantry. I did not have a tomato though so I subbed with a can of Rotel. Will definitely make again. This was great for our Lenten Friday. My husband said with food like this, he could be a vegetarian!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was great! The only change I made was, I used about half of the cheese that the recipe called for. I also put about a teaspoon of salsa on top of my serving (would be good with sour cream, too). Thanks for a low calorie, low fat recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I made this dish last night and it was delicious! I added extra cheese and garlic, but otherwise your ingredients were on point! This is very filling... I didn't even go for dessert or snacks after dinner (which I usually do).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is the most delicious meal I have had since I turned veggie! Followed it exactly and was so tasty! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    15%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 461.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites