Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Tortilla Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Average Rating:

    210 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 210

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2011

      A vegetarian winner and already on request for repeats! I did modify it quite a bit after reading some reviews, as follows:

      -Can of tomatoes w/ juices substituted for the tomato sauce and chopped tomato (it's winter, tomatoes are nasty in the supermarket right now)
      -2 cans of black beans used instead of one
      -Splash of salsa added in the bean mixture, and another in the bottom of the pan before layering
      -Onions and spices doubled to keep the proportions right b/c of the extra beans
      -My 9x9 pan needed 3 tortillas per layer, not 4; so we only used 9.
      -I baked uncovered for first 20 minutes, then stirred the top layer a bit with a spoon before adding the last bit of cheese and putting it back in the oven for the last 10 minutes. (Kept it from drying out on top without me having to fashion a foil cover.)

      Doubling the beans filled the pan nicely and kept this from being skimpy. There's four of us, and we have leftovers for tomorrow despite everyone eating their fill.

      We're serving a toddler, so we kept the spices as described, but heat lovers might think about adding a can of green chilis or some serious salsa/pepper sauce to up the ante a bit. It's good as is, though! Thanks for sharing, spatchcock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Very good! I added 1 cup of salsa to the mix and 1/2 tsp more chili powder, 1 tsp more cumin. I also used fat free cheddar cheese to lower the calorie and fat count. Before I started layering in the baking dish I spread a little salsa to moisten it up. It turned out great...serve with a salad and a little fat free sour cream. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      this recipe is pretty amazing. it's become a staple in my household. i use cuban black beans (which have spices added) and that really made this flavorful. it's quite filling and yummy, and probably does serve closer to 4 people. awesome recipe all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This was a great meal! My whole family loved it! I made one batch with corn tortillas, and one batch with low-carb wheat tortillas. Both were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. It definetly wasn't enough to fill a whole casserole dish. If you do make it, double everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This was an easy recipe to put together and it has a delicious blend of flavors! I used regular cheese as that is what I had on hand. I served it with condiments of picante sauce and sour cream. (I will probably add a bit more tomato suce next time, but that is just a personal preference.) If my family is any indication I would plan on this serving 4-5 people, not the 6 indicated in the recipe. I guess that's a statement about the recipe in itself! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Really awesome; I used 2 more garlic cloves, twice the cumin & chili powder, about half a bunch of cilantro, and a can of fire-roasted tomato chunks instead of fresh. (We like things spicy!) I also layered in some ground turkey simmered in taco spices. Kept together nicely, will be even better tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Ahhh I love this! Very easy, and very flavourful. I would recommend doubling the filling. Served with sour-cream, so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet! My roommate and I love this meal. We add corn and some crushed tortilla chips to help up the crunch factor. Also we add way more cheese than the recipe asks for. I think that sometime in the future I will try to double the bean part because I want it to be bean-ier and to have thicker layers of it since sometimes it just feels like tortillas stacked on top of each other.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      YUM! This is delicious. Tastes like an enchilada with black beans inside. It served 4 for our family, not 6. It is too yummy to serve 6, you'll run out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Delish! I made a few small changes - canned diced tomatoes (drained), switched the amounts of cumin & chili (I find cumin can be overpowering), parsley not cilantro, and whole wheat flour instead of corn tortillas. I do not have a 9x9 baking dish so used an 11x7; my layers were a bit thin as a result, so next time I'd probably use an 8x8 instead. Rather than spray the dish, I spread a bit of tomato juice from the canned tomatoes over the bottom. As I mixed this up yesterday, I got a phone call with an invite for dinner out, so I finished assembling the dish then stuck in the fridge overnight. Pulled out today 45 min. before baking, then added an extra 10 min to the covered bake time - worked great! This was tasty with a little sour cream on top. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      This recipe was really easy to make and was very delicious!!! The only thing I can say is that next time I will double the ingredients; I had to spread the vegetable & bean mixture quite thin and only used 8 tortillas. All around it was a great recipe and I will be making this again for my boyfriend and myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      It was very good but I had to modify the amounts considerably. I think 4 corn tortillas is too much for each layer so I only used 3. The other thing you want to watch out for is not having enough black bean filling. I was only able to do two layers because I did not want the tortillas to dry out due to lack of filling. Have you ever had dry torn tortillas? They are crunchy, dry, and tough. Take my word for it. If I make it again, I would double the filling and cut the tortillas to fit exactly the shape of the dish. And you will use more cheese than the recipe calls for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Build this because I had the ingredients on hand. I added a chopped jalapeno and some rough cut mushrooms because I needed to use them up. Topped it off on serving with some sour cream and Tabasco sauce. It was very good.
      I see this as a very versatile recipe where the ingredients can be adjusted a bit (different beans, spice changes, a bit of meat added) to make a slightly different result without messing up the result.
      I see this being made often at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      This is so good and such an easy make ahead meal. I can make it while my boys are napping and pop it in the oven 30 minutes before for dinner. I double the filling when I make it and use a can of chopped tomatoes and some hot salsa instead of fresh tomato and tomato sauce. I also use a mix of whatever cheeses and beans I have on hand. It turns out delicious every time and gets eaten too quickly for me to take a photo! It makes great leftovers too! Thank you Spatchcock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This was a great recipe to start from. I used a can of fire roasted spicy tomatoes instead of the fresh and tomato sauce which gave it extra flavor. Also added cayenne and some cooked chicken. Topped it with avocado and sour cream. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Wonderful, easy and my two young kids ate every last bite. My five year old was actually excited that we were having it for leftovers the following evening! The only thing I changed was I used a can of diced tomatoes (juice and all) instead of the chopped fresh tomato since I didn't have it on hand. Turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This dish was amazing, I did and a little ground beef from left over tacos. Will make this alot.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Excellent but needed a little more flavor... SO, I added 1 package fake veggie grounds (Quorn brand is the best!), 1 small can green chiles and I used canned diced tomatoes. I used uncooked corn tortillas, cooked them right before I started layering. I added a little medium red enchilada sauce underneath the bottom layer of tortillas and mixed more in with the bean mix. I will definitely make this again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I love this recipe! Made it two nights in a row, the second night I added a finely chopped chicken breast to the pan with the onions/garlic. I also substituted one can of Rotel with chiles (drained) for the chopped tomato, and stirred in a couple of tablespoons of sour cream. My husband even ate it and he is not a big bean eater. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Tortilla Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    15%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 461.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites