Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Sweet Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2010

      Fabulous soup! I don't understand why others thought it was boring because we thought the flavors were wonderful! But to each their own, right? I low-boil simmered it on the stovetop (med heat for my stove) for 30 minutes and it was perfectly done. I also toasted the spices with the onions and garlic in the last minute or so of sauteeing. It didn't even need the sour cream, but that added a nice rich dimension (I didn't add any but DH did and I tried his). Even the baby loved it - and there is definitely a nice layering of spice. A+ thanks, Lysa! We will be making this often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      We made a bunch of changes, most of which were suggested here. I sauteed two small onions with the spices (eyeballed) in a skillet, and then added a carton of chicken broth, the tomatoes, three sweet potatoes (unpeeled), and some hot sauce. We forgot the corn, but added some leftover ham, which I would highly recommend. You could also use sausage. I simmered it for about an hour, and then saved the soup for the next day. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I came back to give this an additional star - it reheats so well and makes a lovely lunch. I made a half recipe on the stovetop and found this recipe to be both simple and tasty. I added a liberal amount of hot sauce and enjoyed it very much. I've tried it with and without sour cream and enjoyed it both ways...would have added lime if I had it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I made 1/2 recipe as written with the addition of 1/2 teaspoon of chipolte spice. It does take a while for the sweet potatoes to cook - allow at least 7 hours on low in the crock pot. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Fantastic receipe! I used low-sodium veggie broth in place of the chicken broth and it was a great vegetarian recipe. In place of the corriander I used a little smoked paprika. I made it on the stove top and simmered it for 30 minutes, then used an immersion blender for a great consistency. I added crushed tortilla chips for some salt. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was our first venture into sweet potatoes, and was tasty and filling. Like many soups, it made a LOT for just the two of us. We did it on the stovetop (not good about planning ahead) and it simmered up just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Great recipe. I used beer instead of chicken broth, added about a 1/4 of chopped jalapenos, and some chicken breast. Great stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Great soup, and easy to make. I microwaved the sweet potato for a few minutes and then put everything together in a pot, simmered for a hour. I also added cooked chicken. Everyone liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      I made this exactly as stated in the recipe. I didn't care for this soup. I was hoping for more of a smooth soup like a squash soup. The flavor was okay, but nothing exciting that would make me want this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      LOVE this soup!!! Kid friendly. Not too spicy but just enough. I only peeled my potatoes where the skin was rough and the soup was still awesome! I will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Made a few changes based on pantry contents: Substituted a pound can of tomato sauce for the tomatoes, used one can of drained black beans and one can of drained pinto beans, left out the corn and the sour cream and lime. Added a teaspoon of dried diced jalapeno peppers and a bit of water. We loved it. It's easy, healthy, and we'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was good as written and I like anything that can be cooked in a crock pot. I made it exactly as written, except I forgot to rinse the black beans, but it still turned out well. I was worried that it'd taste salty since I didn't rinse the beans, but it was still good.
      I will probably substitute rotel for the diced tomatoes the next time I make it, since I like spicy dishes. I'll probably try substituting a can of beer for some of the chicken broth as some others have suggested. I'll repost and rate again when I make those changes, but it is good as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Yum! I actually just used the general idea though, so I'm writing this for my own future reference. Cooked my sweet potatoes in only 4 1/2 cups water, 3 boullion cubes, and the tomatoes, and some cumin (didn't measure). When they were almost done I added leftover feijoada for the black beans. Pureed part of it. DH thought it would be even better with some OJ concentrate added to give it a citrusy kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I thought this soup was good but a little bit boring. Some of the problem was probably my fault though; I was lazy and dumped the onion and garlic in without sauteing it, I added too much diced tomatoes, and cut back on the cumin (because I don't like it). I also have no idea if the potatoes were supposed to be the orange kind or the yellow kind. Also wasn't sure if the tomatoes were supposed to be drained or not?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This is fantastic! I admit, it looks a little odd, and I think I would use my immersion blender to mix it up a little bit for my picky SO, but the flavor is super (make sure you chunk the sweet potato small enough). I liked the sour cream, but the lime didn't do much for me. It freezes great, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      We thought this was very good when we first had it, but it was even better a couple of days later! Instead of canned, I used some black beans I had cooked with a little bacon, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Forgot to try the sour cream and lime options though. Maybe next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      So Good!!!! I only had one can of black beans on hand, and simmered it on the stovetop for a few hours, otherwise made this as stated, and I love this soup! Perfect for fall/winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      A great and simple recipe. I used a stovepot and only had one can of black beans so I topped it of with kidney beans. I would say that the sour cream on top is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Yummy! I made this in the crockpot. I used dried black beans and I didn't have coriander so I used a little chili powder in addition the cumin. I might have added extra cumin, too, I didn't really measure. (I love cumin!) The corn added really good texture and the sour cream is a good suggestion, too. (Didn't have limes.) This is one of those meals that I think is perfect for the crockpot and I probably wouldn't like it *as* well on the stovetop as I think the long cooking time is really essential for optimum flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was great. I threw it in the crockpot and took it to a football party and had NONE left for my lunch today! Even the kids hoovered multiple bowls which surprised me. I used a combo of beer and chicken broth. I used a Leiny’s Sunset Wheat beer, and thought the coriander and fruit notes in the beer were a perfect compliment to the flavors. While it was good just as it was, I think next time, I will use a can of tomatoes with mild chilies to add a touch of heat as some suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.4
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    13%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1166.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites