10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Almost doubled the sausage, and omitted the celery. This did make for an after school warmer upper in the winter. Spices were excellent, and was great, as I simmered it while I was out, and ready when we got home. Very flavorful indeed. Made for the Best of 2013 Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 17, 2014

Excellent soup, used half kielbasa and half smoked Italian sausage. We had a sample of the soup the first night, and enjoyed more depth two nights later. This was so easy that I will look for heartier sausages (maybe make and smoke my own Chaurice or Andouille sausage) to further enhance the flavor). By the way, I pureed a third can of black beans in the chicken broth in my Vitamix to thicken the soup. Made for Best of 2012 tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 15, 2013

~TigerJo~ this was very good. I hate bell peppers, so I threw in a can of green chiles as a substitution. I used the 2 cans of black beans, Progresso Brand that a 19 ounce can. I also used the fire roasted tomatoes. Great and easy, what more could anyone ask for. Great supper with crusty bread and a green salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears October 14, 2012

Excellent soup. I doubled all the veggies and halved the sausage (and used Mexican chorizo). Between that and fire roasted tomatoes, this was deliciously smoky. A definite new favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 13, 2012

Very easy to throw together after work - everyone liked it. The pepper flakes were not spicy at all, so if you want more kick, add a little extra. Not a big fan of celery, but put it in anyway - it was very subtle and gave a nice bit of texture. I'll keep it in next time. Warm and comforting and hearty - just what a soup should be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kls7414 December 02, 2014

We loved this soup! I used smoked turkey sausage, homemade chicken stock, and even stopped at the liquor store on the way home from work for dry sherry. I used 3 cans of beans and pureed one of them per KateL's suggestion. Four of us ate half of the soup and the rest went in the freezer for another dinner. I'm looking forward to having it again based on the reviews which say it gets even better with time. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2013 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou February 12, 2014

Definitely a repeater! I reduced the garlic to 2 teaspoons but other than that made as posted. We loved this! But knew we would. Simple and I always have these ingredients on hand. Made for Favorites of 2012 game. Thanks TJ for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal February 22, 2013

a great meal,even better the next day. I used th sudbury black bean mix (now made by Maine Bean Company) but followed the recipe(of course omitting the canned beans) and used hot kielbasa and beef stock(3 cans) and 5 cups water. It was a hit, a meal in its self. just add a loaf of crusty bread and you're done Thank You LSL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindasue40 February 25, 2008

We really enjoyed this soup...particularly because it was so thick that we could eat it with a fork! I don't usually have canned beans around, but we buy dried black beans in bulk so I had plenty. I soaked overnight a pound of black beans and then pre-cooked them for an hour, rinsed and followed the recipe as written. I thought it was fine the first night, but the second night...WOW! On the second night, to stretch it just a bit, I also added a bit of corn. I completely forgot the crushed red pepper, but we didn't miss it a bit. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay March 25, 2005

This soup had the most wonderful flavor and just enough spices to give it a little kick. This was my first time trying black beans, but it won’t be the last! I’ve got to admit, my husband didn’t want to try the recipe. He asked me to bring a steak home for him instead. I talked him into trying just a tiny bit of the soup and he ended up eating three bowls of it! He declared this the best soup he’s had in a long time. Needless to say, the steak went in the freezer for another night. There are five of us at home now, and it’s very rare to find a new recipe that everyone likes. Not so with this one though. We all loved it! I did make one change to the recipe by adding a can of kernal corn. I served this with cornbread and it made a very nice easy weeknight meal. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess November 10, 2004
Black Bean and Smoked Sausage Soup