17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I too substituted olive oil for the water in the dressing. This was a great summer meal for hot days when you don't want to add heat to the house. I used my rice maker to cook the millet. DH commented that this was a substantial meal. He expected it not to be filling, but it was, all by itself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miracle Miriam August 07, 2012

I enjoyed this recipe for Memorial Day. I used the other reviewers' idea of adding corn and I was generous with the cilantro. I also added a small, finely chopped fresh jalapeno, used 6 green onions for the onion and olive oil instead of water in the dressing. My only complaint is that my millet came out mushy. Next time I will check it after 20 minutes of cooking. My mother-in-law said I should add some salt during cooking as well. Thanks for posting something fun and different! Made as a recipenap for Veg*an Swap, June 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose June 01, 2010

Love this! Couldn't find millet so used couscous, which worked very well, though I do want to try again with millet. Also used extra tomato. Very flavorful (reminiscent of gazpacho) and satisfying. Perfect for my potluck and leftovers. Even as a beginner it was very easy to make! Next time I may use more garlic & cumin, just because I like spicy. But very good as is! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harperd February 04, 2006

I was all ready to cook this recipe...had the millet cooking and everything until I read the Nutrition Facts. 704 mg of sodium is awfully high for one meal and if you add salt to the water, it's probably even higher. In watching my blood pressure I will have to find recipes that are lower sodium content. I think this is high for anyone for one meal. I will probably try my own millet salad which would have less salt content. Thanks for the inspiration though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
egfhp July 01, 2011

Unfortunately, this did not turn out for me. The millet came out mushy, similar to oatmeal. That might be my fault because I did not rinse it or use any salt when cooking but as a millet virgin I didn't realize I should do that until too late. I used dried black beans and left out the peppers because I didn't have any. I really hoped I would like this because it sounded so fresh and yummy but the texture was just not to my liking, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn May 27, 2010

I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, just because I didn't have fresh on hand. I used one can of chili beans, because I didn't have black beans. I used corn instead of cucumber because I knew I wouldn't finish it in one sitting. I used a green pepper instead of a red pepper because that is what I had. Next time I will only use 2 cups of water to cook the millet with, which I hope will allow it to soak up the dressing a little better. It did have a little bit of water at the bottom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AEHbamafan July 29, 2009

This was wonderful. I used roasted red pepper from a jar instead of a fresh red pepper. Like Bippie I don't care for cucumber but instead of using corn in its place (which I will probably try next time) I just left it out. Even my husband loved this salad... and that's the first time I think my husband has ever loved a salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana March 27, 2009

yum!! I used only 2 cups of water and it was firm but cooked. SO yummy. I added chives as well. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
watson September 15, 2008

I love all the ingredients in the recipe so I thought it was a sure winner for me. Unfortunately, I didn't really care for it. My fault, I'm sure. I had never cooked millet before and it was very mushy. I like my grains a little firmer. I may try this recipe again using a different grain. Brown rice or barley, perhaps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle July 22, 2008

Wow! This is great! I only made half of a recipe, because I didn't think the kids would go for it. I was right about that, but I wish I had leftovers! I used the smaller amount of water in the recipe and only cooked the millet for 20 minutes and it was perfect. I mixed the hot millet with the beans and refrigerated before mixing in the vegetables, so they would stay nice and fresh. I used green bell pepper, and it made for a very colorful and tasty dish. I made this again today and was in a hurry, so I forgot to ONLY use 2.5 cups of water. Big mistake! The taste is still great, but the texture is too sticky. I'll pay closer attention next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blessed*One July 12, 2008
Black Bean and Millet Salad