Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Millet Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Millet Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      I too substituted olive oil for the water in the dressing. This was a great summer meal for hot days when you don't want to add heat to the house. I used my rice maker to cook the millet. DH commented that this was a substantial meal. He expected it not to be filling, but it was, all by itself.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I enjoyed this recipe for Memorial Day. I used the other reviewers' idea of adding corn and I was generous with the cilantro. I also added a small, finely chopped fresh jalapeno, used 6 green onions for the onion and olive oil instead of water in the dressing. My only complaint is that my millet came out mushy. Next time I will check it after 20 minutes of cooking. My mother-in-law said I should add some salt during cooking as well. Thanks for posting something fun and different! Made as a recipenap for Veg*an Swap, June 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Love this! Couldn't find millet so used couscous, which worked very well, though I do want to try again with millet. Also used extra tomato. Very flavorful (reminiscent of gazpacho) and satisfying. Perfect for my potluck and leftovers. Even as a beginner it was very easy to make! Next time I may use more garlic & cumin, just because I like spicy. But very good as is! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      I was all ready to cook this recipe...had the millet cooking and everything until I read the Nutrition Facts. 704 mg of sodium is awfully high for one meal and if you add salt to the water, it's probably even higher. In watching my blood pressure I will have to find recipes that are lower sodium content. I think this is high for anyone for one meal. I will probably try my own millet salad which would have less salt content. Thanks for the inspiration though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Unfortunately, this did not turn out for me. The millet came out mushy, similar to oatmeal. That might be my fault because I did not rinse it or use any salt when cooking but as a millet virgin I didn't realize I should do that until too late. I used dried black beans and left out the peppers because I didn't have any. I really hoped I would like this because it sounded so fresh and yummy but the texture was just not to my liking, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, just because I didn't have fresh on hand. I used one can of chili beans, because I didn't have black beans. I used corn instead of cucumber because I knew I wouldn't finish it in one sitting. I used a green pepper instead of a red pepper because that is what I had. Next time I will only use 2 cups of water to cook the millet with, which I hope will allow it to soak up the dressing a little better. It did have a little bit of water at the bottom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This was wonderful. I used roasted red pepper from a jar instead of a fresh red pepper. Like Bippie I don't care for cucumber but instead of using corn in its place (which I will probably try next time) I just left it out. Even my husband loved this salad... and that's the first time I think my husband has ever loved a salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      yum!! I used only 2 cups of water and it was firm but cooked. SO yummy. I added chives as well. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I love all the ingredients in the recipe so I thought it was a sure winner for me. Unfortunately, I didn't really care for it. My fault, I'm sure. I had never cooked millet before and it was very mushy. I like my grains a little firmer. I may try this recipe again using a different grain. Brown rice or barley, perhaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Wow! This is great! I only made half of a recipe, because I didn't think the kids would go for it. I was right about that, but I wish I had leftovers! I used the smaller amount of water in the recipe and only cooked the millet for 20 minutes and it was perfect. I mixed the hot millet with the beans and refrigerated before mixing in the vegetables, so they would stay nice and fresh. I used green bell pepper, and it made for a very colorful and tasty dish. I made this again today and was in a hurry, so I forgot to ONLY use 2.5 cups of water. Big mistake! The taste is still great, but the texture is too sticky. I'll pay closer attention next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This is a delicious, low fat salad. I thought it was even better the next day, so I'm glad I made the full recipe for the two of us. I used one can of black beans (which meant I only used 1 1/2 cups of beans), and I used shallots instead of onion (raw onion is usually too sharp of a taste for me). Thanks for sharing this recipe; it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Typically, I'm not a salad person. That being said, this was a darned good salad in my book. I didn't have any fresh peppers, so I threw some green onions in the mix. This is a 100% guilt free meal - feels very fresh and non-fussy. I may throw some feta cheese in the mix and have it on a bed of romaine. Endless possibilities here! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Great salad, and I appreciated Rita's comments on the benefits of Millet. I prepared just as the recipe read, except only had one can of beans. Since we may not finish it for a couple of days,next time I will add the cuke and tomatoes when I serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I thought this was a very good salad. Its hearty yet healthy. I think I would tend to agree with Tony. I would cut down the amount of water when cooking the millet. Definitely something I will be making again! Thank you Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      This is really a perfect lunch for me. Filling, nutritious and delicious. I used an English cucumber so that I could include the skin for some pretty color contrast. I was also short a tablespoon of lemon juice and replaced that with lime which worked quite well. My only criticism - a very minor one - is that the millet was a little softer than I would want. Thinking next time I'll scale back and use about 1/4 cup less water. Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      There are not enough stars for this one! I substituted corn for the cucumber because I don't like cucumbers and I added one can of organic kidney beans and one can of organic black beans,rinsed. (DH didn't look at the labels when he went shopping) I liked it immediately, but when I chilled it for about an hour I could hardly stop eating it! Thank you for a great salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      This is simply beautiful and delish! Very yummy healthy meal! I could not wait for it to get cold- so I ate some well it was room temp- man if this is better cold I am in for a real treat! Loved the smoky cumin in the dressing- what a neat twist! Thanks Rita for keeping me healthy and well fed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Millet Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.4
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    77%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes