Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Mandarin Orange Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2004

      Terrific way to get your beans! Made this in the morning for dinner and absolutely loved it fresh and at room temperature. I thought it was far superior to the refrigerated, marinated version I served at dinnertime. Wonderful salad that deserves far more attention.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This is a wonderful side dish for a summertime meal. The cumin and cilantro are terrific. Be sure to use fresh cilantro for the best flavor. I made the recipe early in the day, refrigerated a few hours, then let the salad sit at room temperature for about 15 minutes before serving (olive oil tends to solidify when refrigerated).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I am in heaven! I had mandarin oranges and cilantro to use up from a food co-op basket this week, and am so glad I came across this recipe! I can only imagine how fabulous it will taste tomorrow. I just finished making it and can't stop eating it. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I look forward to making it many more times in the future!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Unbelievably delicious salad, just couldn%u2019t get enough. It will be a staple in my home or for potlucks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Outstanding! We loved this salad, the only problem we had was that I didn't double it! Will be making this over and over again! It's gorgeous and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Easy but lacks a little something. I added one segmented fresh orange and juice of a lime, which helped a little. Maybe I should have segmented half the lime?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful! It's a great combination of ingredients with lots of texture and color. My coworkers and I share food daily at lunch and this was a big hit. I served it on top of some romaine lettuce. Definitely something I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      I made this as a side dish to Enchilada casserole. It was a nice light contract to the heavyness of the casserole. I highly recommend that you let it sit at LEAST an hour or so at room temp (stirring every now and again) before serving. The taste just after mixing it together is somewhat bland and just begs to be altered..but be patient,wait! The flavors meld together nicely and the recipe, as is, stands alone very well. Having said that, I can never leave a recipe alone. So I did however, add a little more of the mandarin juice, a few pinches of seasalt and a few good dashes of lime juice (my citantro was supposedly "fresh" (in the middle of February?)from the store, and totally lacked that unique pungency. Thus, the lime juice) I think next time I might add just a touch more mustard. Oh.. I did add about 3/4 cup of leftover jasmine rice, just because I needed to use it up. I liked that addition. I also think this might be good with Papaya (from a jar, so you can use the papaya juice too)in place of the mandarins. Just a thought...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Mandarin Orange Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.6
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    29%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 302.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes