Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Couscous Salad

    Average Rating:

    166 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 166

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2008

      Very good. I didn't have cilantro or a red pepper, so I added flat leaf parsley and a green pepper. I used 1 can of beans and also added some diced Lebanese chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was terrific! I made this yesterday for our Parish Picnic. I was able to double the recipe easily to accomodate the large crowd. I saved some for myself for lunch today and I can't wait! Thanks, yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This was very good, I made it the night before a luncheon that I was attending. Like other reviewers, I also only used one can of black beans. I don't like my salads with alot of dressing, so I thought it was fine the way it was. I will definitely make this again, it's such a beautiful salad and tastes so refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This salad is so Beautiful with all the different colors and textures. It tastes amazing. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Quite tasty and very easy to make. We took this to a beach park potluck picnic today and received many compliments. I doubled the recipe and adjusted the spices to taste. I used the roasted garlic and olive oil flavored couscous and it added a nice hint of flavor. This could also be a quick vegetarian dinner, maybe with some avocado and diced fresh tomatoes mixed in, too. Lots of possibilities with this simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Extremely easy to make and very very tasty. Would definitely recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This was Terriffic! I've never eaten a coucous salad before, but I had some leftover for dinner and made up 2 small servings of this. I used canned corn, no peppers, apple cider vinegar, and dried cilantro, and it was still dynomite! I can only imagine it with fresh cilantro! I loved the cumin in it, Thanx so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This was so good! I used one can of black beans, and for us, it was enough. The vinegrette was very good. Very healthy and beautiful salad! Thanks Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Yooper this was a delicious and unique salad. I made it twice now and the reason I had made it was because I had a leftover vegetable platter. I added steamed broccoli instead of the corn and added the sweet red peppers. I did not have plain couscous, but used the Near East Couscous with toasted pine nuts. Everything came together perfectly. Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I found this to be flavourless.. probably won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I have made this several times and decided that it could do with less couscous. If you use the amount stated, it ends up too dry. You could either double the amount of dressing that is made, or just add enough couscous to your taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I took this to a potluck at DD's school and it didn't go over well. The flavor was good but I don't know if I'll make again. Not a bad recipe, just not our taste. Sorry. But am glad I tried it......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      To save time I made a few changes. I sautéd red/green peppers and onions with chicken and added broccoli and added all togther for a 1 dish meal! It was so good thank you for the idea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Very good! I was only moderately impressed with it when I first made it; the flavors were milder than I'd expected. Then I put the final dash of salt and pepper in, and it came alive for me. I think that next time I'll use a bit more vinegar and possibly a small dash of cayenne, just to give it a bit more kick ... loved the combination of couscous, black beans, corn, and scallions. I'll definitely make this regularly! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This tasted exactly as I had hoped! So fresh and healthy and wonderful the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      B"H Excellent salad. I accidentally opened a can of garbanzo beans instead of black beans, but they worked very well with it. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      My husband **LOVED** this recipe--I was just sorry I hadn't made more. I tend to make a lot of one-dish meals, so the amount was really 4-5 large servings for us. My husband liked it warm and wished I had used 2 cans of black beans instead of just 1. I preferred it cold the next day after the flavors had a chance to meld. I would probably double the dressing the next time I make it for a stronger flavor. I used whole wheat couscous and vegetable broth and am so impressed with how healthy this dish is, considering it can be made in such a short amount of time. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This was a fabulous salad. I served it at a ranch pot luck and had a lot of requests for the recipe. I did not use the bell pepper and I doubled the dressing (used ½ in the salad and refrigerated it overnight, then added the other ½ before serving) and used only 1 can of black beans and a full can of corn. THX Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Great salad--colorful and flavorful. I made per recipe except, like several other reviewers, I only used one can of black beans. I served this as a side to Mike Ditka's Tailgate Pork Sandwich and everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting, yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I really loved this salad. I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Couscous Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    19%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 99.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes