171 Reviews

Thanks for rounding out our Labor Day party's assortment of salads. This one sure added some pretty color to the table and tasted great. Before making I read several helpful reviews and decreased beans to one can and added a tad more spices (a little chili and garlic powder, smoked ground red pepper). Such a nice complement of colors and flavors--wish I had discovered this recipe years ago. Better late than never....thanks, yooper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers September 02, 2012

I've recently discovered couscous and I'm now on the lookout for new recipes. I figured I would make this to serve with Baked Salsa Chicken Breast and I am so glad that I did! The lime and cumin flavor came through, but it was not overpowering. The colors of the added veggies and beans made for a beautiful presentation; even my daughter commented that it was a "pretty food." Everyone ate their veggies without complaining! Thank you for posting. I am going to print this one and add it to our "Family Favorites" cookbook so I can make it more often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness August 13, 2012

Delicious, light, healthy and fresh! Even my kids (5 yrs and 1 yr) love it! I like to add a little more vinegar than it calls for. Tastes even better the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachael.walters May 29, 2012

I have made this couscous salad twice before, and both times my husband and our dinner guests were blown away by how fresh and delicious it was. I love that you can add slight variations to the types of veggies based on what you have on hand, i.e. red onion instead of green, or adding jalapenos. One change I made that I thought added great flavor was to put about 1/4 cup of chopped veggies (onion, pepper, jalapeno) into the broth while it was boiling. Added a great flavor to the couscous itself!

Last night I made this salad with Cilantro Chicken by Denise! (Cilantro Chicken), and my husband said, "You know I love your cooking, so you've got to know what it means when I say this is one the best meals you've ever made." Can you ask for a better compliment, especially on a meal that was fairly simple?? :D :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mees Mees April 19, 2012

I loved this. It's so pretty to serve. I added extra seasonings and some spice to kick it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa2222 March 08, 2012

Simple and easy with nice melding of flavors. I served alongside a recipe for creamy spinach enchiladas. I also halved the recipe with great results. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 18, 2012

I made this for a barbecue and received mixed reviews from the folks there. However, I loved it so I'm giving it five stars. It's fresh and light. I'm going to have the leftovers with some grilled chicken breasts tomorrow. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyMommy1422 January 07, 2012

I substituted quinoa (steamed) for the couscous, for a protein boost. Hubby and I were VERY pleased with the recipe. A must do! Hugs, L

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura A. August 26, 2011
Black Bean and Couscous Salad