168 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! What a blend of fabulous flavors and such beautiful colors! I made just exactly as stated and it came out wonderfully. Even better the next day! Thanks for such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady July 07, 2003

To make this vegan I used vegetable broth. I only used 1 tablespoon olive oil, no cilantro and only 1 can black beans. I added some kalamata olives and dried tomatoes that I happened to have in the fridge. Not sure why I never chose to make this before, but it was quite good. I'd definitely make this again. The dressing was just about perfect for this salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 13, 2015

I've always loved this salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArleneWhit December 23, 2014

Quick, simple, healthy, and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arhogs1898 August 23, 2014

absolutely delicious! And it is very colorful. Great for cook out. I doubled the recipe but did not double the amount of cilantro, green onions and black beans. I di not want the cilantro or onion to be too over powering. Still had a good cilantro and onion flavor. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wvlunchlady May 24, 2014

This one's a keeper! So, I had to make some tweaks and substitutions (as you do); our frozen corn was sadly suffering from a bad case of freezer burn, so I used a can of canned white corn instead. No green onions, so I subbed about a 1/4 cup of chopped white onions. No red wine vinegar so I used white wine vinegar. No chicken broth, but beef broth also works in a pinch. Also, I LOVE spices, so I doubled the cumin (honestly 1/2 tsp isn't nearly enough for all of the flavors in this recipe, IMHO), and also added 1 tsp. of garam masala (essentially curry powder) as well. At the end, I added some cracked black pepper and saffron finishing salt (from Salts of the Earth: http://www.salts-of-the-earth.com/). DELICIOUS. <br/><br/>The amount of vinegar gives this dish just enough tang, along with the onions and the lime juice, and it's fantastic as an entree for a summer day with a nice glass of white or rose wine. Bon appetit! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cvggrrl May 18, 2014

I'm surprised by all the high reviews. I made it exactly as described and thought it was super-bland. My boyfriend agreed. I doubled the dressing, added a lot more cilantro, extra lime juice and and a few more spices and still bland. I let it sit overnight hoping the flavors would meld but STILL bland. Mixed up more dressing and additional spices and still not enough flavor. A pretty salad with great texture but bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wadelle2 April 20, 2014

This salad is so simple to make, and tastes like you spent hours preparing it. It is SO, SO good! It is light and refreshing, and goes well as a side dish or even as a small snack/meal. I made it exactly as the recipe states, wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mononica620 September 03, 2013

i had left over plain couscous and corn on cobb so added other ingredients plus garden fresh radishes and voila a delicious healthy and diet conscious lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hpberna June 30, 2013
Black Bean and Couscous Salad