Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Couscous Salad

    Average Rating:

    166 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 166

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2002

      Truly original and truly delicious. This is one of the most colorful salads I have ever eaten. The glistening black beans looked great against the creamy white of the couscous, offset by the brilliant red of the pepper and the dark green of the cilantro. The yellow of the corn really stand out next to the beans. I only used one can of beans and this was a huge salad. It went quickly, it really complements the taste of grilled meat! Thanks Yooper, this is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      This salad is great- wonderful mix of colour and flavour. I used only one can of beans and it was plenty. I also added 1 heaping tablespoon of Tex-Mex seasoning to give it lots of zing. Will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      This was a delicious side dish for grilled chicken. Very tasty and colorful. Really a great summer salad to accompany any grilled meat. Thanks Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I could eat the whole bowl in one sitting! Love it! Good enough for a vegetarian meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Loved this dish! I've actually been eating it as a meal. I used wheat couscous and only about 6 green onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Whoever invented this is a culinary genius! I used veg. broth in place of chicken to make 100% vegetarian and added extra extra lime & cilantro! Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Yum! This is a refreshing salad - great for summer and buffets. I used Goya black beans and it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Simple yet full of flavor..surprised me I wasnt expecting too much with the simple ingredients! Made it to my salad cookbook. Trying it with Quinoa tonight to see what that tastes like!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Love this dish in the summer - so good! I make it exactly as described. Love it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      This was exellent! Even the kids loved it and went back for seconds. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      Delicious! What a blend of fabulous flavors and such beautiful colors! I made just exactly as stated and it came out wonderfully. Even better the next day! Thanks for such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      Quick, simple, healthy, and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      absolutely delicious! And it is very colorful. Great for cook out. I doubled the recipe but did not double the amount of cilantro, green onions and black beans. I di not want the cilantro or onion to be too over powering. Still had a good cilantro and onion flavor. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      This one's a keeper! So, I had to make some tweaks and substitutions (as you do); our frozen corn was sadly suffering from a bad case of freezer burn, so I used a can of canned white corn instead. No green onions, so I subbed about a 1/4 cup of chopped white onions. No red wine vinegar so I used white wine vinegar. No chicken broth, but beef broth also works in a pinch. Also, I LOVE spices, so I doubled the cumin (honestly 1/2 tsp isn't nearly enough for all of the flavors in this recipe, IMHO), and also added 1 tsp. of garam masala (essentially curry powder) as well. At the end, I added some cracked black pepper and saffron finishing salt (from Salts of the Earth: http://www.salts-of-the-earth.com/). DELICIOUS. <br/><br/>The amount of vinegar gives this dish just enough tang, along with the onions and the lime juice, and it's fantastic as an entree for a summer day with a nice glass of white or rose wine. Bon appetit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

    • on April 20, 2014

      I'm surprised by all the high reviews. I made it exactly as described and thought it was super-bland. My boyfriend agreed. I doubled the dressing, added a lot more cilantro, extra lime juice and and a few more spices and still bland. I let it sit overnight hoping the flavors would meld but STILL bland. Mixed up more dressing and additional spices and still not enough flavor. A pretty salad with great texture but bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      This salad is so simple to make, and tastes like you spent hours preparing it. It is SO, SO good! It is light and refreshing, and goes well as a side dish or even as a small snack/meal. I made it exactly as the recipe states, wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      i had left over plain couscous and corn on cobb so added other ingredients plus garden fresh radishes and voila a delicious healthy and diet conscious lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Subbed the couscous with quinoa and didn't have any cilantro, unfortunately. A delicious salad I will make again. Kept very well in the refrigerator for days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      This salad was about 1000% more awesome than I thought it would be. The colors are as beautiful as the taste, and it's so quick to prepare! I think the cumin really takes this dish to the next level. And it's super healthy! Will absolutely make this again. Thanks for posting this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Couscous Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    19%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 99.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites