14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was HORRIBLE. Unless you majorly doctor it up you will be majorly disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hallleanne08 July 10, 2014

I thought this recipe was fabulous. I've made it twice now, each slightly different based on ingredients on hand. The first time I used 1 lb of lean ground beef, 1 can of niblets, 1 can of rotel tomatoes & green chilis (undrained) for spiciness, 1 can of diced tomatoes (undrained), 3 cans of black beans, 2 tbps of minced garlic, 3 tsp of cumin and 4 tsp of chili powder. I only added 8oz of beef broth because of the extra juice added by the can of Rotel tomatoes & green chilis. I also added kosher salt to taste. I also wanted to mention that I didn't drain the beef. Since I was using lean beef to start, I like to leave a little flavor in the small amount of beef fat simmered off. If I was using 80/20 I would have drained the beef for sure. I'm a seasoning buff, so I inevitably add garlic to almost any recipe, and up the seasoning amounts. It was AWESOME! I added a dash of sour cream to my finished soup to add a touch of coolness to the spice, made cornbread muffins on the side, and went to town. :P Thanks for such a wonderful, fast recipe that can be so easily manipulated to taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucentrip May 06, 2010

I used MSF veggie crumbles instead of ground beef, it was great! DH sprinkled some shredded cheddar on top too and loved it. Thanks for this quick, healthy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina December 22, 2009

I replaced the ground beef with cubed chicken, but otherwise made as directed. I was a little worried about the amount of chili powder, but the soup turned out perfect with the listed 3 teaspoons. Thanks for a new keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney November 17, 2009

I liked this recipe and the family agreed it was good but it needed something. So when I made it again I browned the meat just enough so no pink was showing and added a medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic (chopped fine). I cooked the meat about five minutes longer. I also used a 32 ounce package of broth and Chipotle Chile Pepper instead of Chili Powder. Thanks for posting the recipe. We really enjoy a heartly soup like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smcdee1 March 15, 2009

Recently I made this soup and rated it, but after reheating the soup, I found I needed to edit my rating and post my review. After reheating the soup, I thought the soup had more flavor, as well as a bit more heat/spice to it, which I really liked. I did modify the recipe to my liking tho. I pretty much doubled the ingredients, but I found I needed to add 4 cans of the broth. I also added a bit of diced onion, 4 large cloves of garlic (minced), 1/4 of one red bell pepper (diced), and 1/2 of one green bell pepper (diced). I added 8 tsp of the chili powder, 2 tsp of beef boullion granules (as well as 2 tsp of the ground cumin). I simmered the soup for about 30 minutes (uncovered). The second day when I reheated the soup, I added some cooked spaghetti to it. If anyone decides to double this soup and wants to add cooked spaghetti, I found 6-8 ounces will do, but be sure to break the spaghetti into small pieces. Also, one more thing...I found when making this soup, and doubling the recipe, I think one could just add 3 cans of the broth, 3 cups of the corn, and 1 can of the black beans, and add the seasonings according to one's taste. Thank you Loves2Teach, for posting this recipe, as it was pretty good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess March 08, 2009

Great! Used 1 can of black beans, an extra tsp of chili powder, a tsp of salt but I would recommend 1/2 tsp, an extra beef bouillon cube, and a little added sausage. Great quick, easy, filling soup. Highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christineyy! April 28, 2008

The beauty of this recipe is the "simplicity, easy to make, and the ingredients always at hand". It's another cold and overcast winter's day here in W N.C. and this was the on spot meal of the day! I made cornbread....http://www.recipezaar.com/84902 as an accompiniment, and the duo was awesome! A secondary benefit of this soup/stew is that it readily becomes a "dump" recipe for all those little things laying around in the fridge that you were just waiting for something to add them to. I ate it "as is" with cornbread, but then tossed in some "set-asides" green beans, green peas, and some carrots and onion......totally awesome! The cummin and chili powder are right on target! Healthy, sensible, ease....they don't often come in such a basic offering!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP December 21, 2007

This was VERY good. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLicious Treats December 17, 2007

This was delicious! We put doritos, sour cream, and a little shredded cheese on top. It made it alot like chili and it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelseajoy September 29, 2006
Black Bean and Corn Soup