Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Corn Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Corn Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      I thought this recipe was fabulous. I've made it twice now, each slightly different based on ingredients on hand. The first time I used 1 lb of lean ground beef, 1 can of niblets, 1 can of rotel tomatoes & green chilis (undrained) for spiciness, 1 can of diced tomatoes (undrained), 3 cans of black beans, 2 tbps of minced garlic, 3 tsp of cumin and 4 tsp of chili powder. I only added 8oz of beef broth because of the extra juice added by the can of Rotel tomatoes & green chilis. I also added kosher salt to taste. I also wanted to mention that I didn't drain the beef. Since I was using lean beef to start, I like to leave a little flavor in the small amount of beef fat simmered off. If I was using 80/20 I would have drained the beef for sure. I'm a seasoning buff, so I inevitably add garlic to almost any recipe, and up the seasoning amounts. It was AWESOME! I added a dash of sour cream to my finished soup to add a touch of coolness to the spice, made cornbread muffins on the side, and went to town. :P Thanks for such a wonderful, fast recipe that can be so easily manipulated to taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I used MSF veggie crumbles instead of ground beef, it was great! DH sprinkled some shredded cheddar on top too and loved it. Thanks for this quick, healthy dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I replaced the ground beef with cubed chicken, but otherwise made as directed. I was a little worried about the amount of chili powder, but the soup turned out perfect with the listed 3 teaspoons. Thanks for a new keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I liked this recipe and the family agreed it was good but it needed something. So when I made it again I browned the meat just enough so no pink was showing and added a medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic (chopped fine). I cooked the meat about five minutes longer. I also used a 32 ounce package of broth and Chipotle Chile Pepper instead of Chili Powder. Thanks for posting the recipe. We really enjoy a heartly soup like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Recently I made this soup and rated it, but after reheating the soup, I found I needed to edit my rating and post my review. After reheating the soup, I thought the soup had more flavor, as well as a bit more heat/spice to it, which I really liked. I did modify the recipe to my liking tho. I pretty much doubled the ingredients, but I found I needed to add 4 cans of the broth. I also added a bit of diced onion, 4 large cloves of garlic (minced), 1/4 of one red bell pepper (diced), and 1/2 of one green bell pepper (diced). I added 8 tsp of the chili powder, 2 tsp of beef boullion granules (as well as 2 tsp of the ground cumin). I simmered the soup for about 30 minutes (uncovered). The second day when I reheated the soup, I added some cooked spaghetti to it. If anyone decides to double this soup and wants to add cooked spaghetti, I found 6-8 ounces will do, but be sure to break the spaghetti into small pieces. Also, one more thing...I found when making this soup, and doubling the recipe, I think one could just add 3 cans of the broth, 3 cups of the corn, and 1 can of the black beans, and add the seasonings according to one's taste. Thank you Loves2Teach, for posting this recipe, as it was pretty good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Great! Used 1 can of black beans, an extra tsp of chili powder, a tsp of salt but I would recommend 1/2 tsp, an extra beef bouillon cube, and a little added sausage. Great quick, easy, filling soup. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      The beauty of this recipe is the "simplicity, easy to make, and the ingredients always at hand". It's another cold and overcast winter's day here in W N.C. and this was the on spot meal of the day! I made cornbread....http://www.recipezaar.com/84902 as an accompiniment, and the duo was awesome! A secondary benefit of this soup/stew is that it readily becomes a "dump" recipe for all those little things laying around in the fridge that you were just waiting for something to add them to. I ate it "as is" with cornbread, but then tossed in some "set-asides" green beans, green peas, and some carrots and onion......totally awesome! The cummin and chili powder are right on target! Healthy, sensible, ease....they don't often come in such a basic offering!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was VERY good. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      This was delicious! We put doritos, sour cream, and a little shredded cheese on top. It made it alot like chili and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Made this for dinner on a night I was running short on time - it was great! We topped it with cheese and corn chips. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      This was delicious! I made it with 'veggie ground round' and added extra veggie broth to make it more soupy. I made cornbread to go with it, but it didn't turn out so we crumbled doritos on top, that added a tad bit more flavor to it also. I will be putting this in my permanent file. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      I had a meeting last night, so this recipe (so quick and easy) was perfect! I prepared the recipe as is, and I too felt it lacked broth, but served with a ring of tortilla chips around the soup bowl, it made for an incredible "almost dip". It's how I got the kids to eat it. I'm still amazed that my son ate it. He doesn't like soup unless it's chicken noodle with no carrots, but that's another story. I did add a couple of teaspoons of salt to this, but the rest of the seasoning was just right for my taste. I thoroughly enjoyed this and as easy as it is to prepare, you can bet I'll be making it again. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      this was great! I did find that there was not enough broth in this soup and added three cups of beef bouillon. Next time i will add some onion and peas. thanks for the great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Corn Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (452 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    19%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 706.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
    55%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites