88 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent - I use as a salad or main course :) I double dressing and add a large can of rinsed black beans and 8oz cooked pasta (mini farfalle) - might also be good with rice. Yummy! Served at a potluck and none left; also serving for Thanksgiving.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan November 30, 2010

Absolutely loved it! Pre-made it for a camping trip, I had to heat it a little because the oil hardened but it was no problem.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoJo423 May 05, 2013

This is fantastic. I've made it many times. The only reason I have given 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think the amount of salt called for is excessive, even after the flavors are allowed to meld. Every time I've made it, I've always halved the amount of salt, but even with only half the amount, I've still found it to be too salty. From now on, I will reduce the amount of salt even further, and just add more later if needed. This is a great salad, though, and I plan to continue to make it often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen June 29, 2010

I made this to go with salmon patties tonight and it was very good! My husband really liked it and I will be making this again. Tomorrow I will take the remaining salad to a potluck for a lady who is moving in our art class. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 13, 2003

Love this recipe! I could eat it everyday. I do change a few things, due to personal taste. I use a whole cup of tomatoes and omit the red bell pepper and jalapenos. I also use less oil and more sugar in the dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaFoodFan July 27, 2013

This was exellent! Only chages I made were omit the oregano and sugar and used balsamic vinegar. We ate it with tortilla chips like a salsa. My sister made a salad with the left overs (chicken, lettuce, ranch and salsa) and said it made a tasty salad. Will definitely make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faerychic November 16, 2010

We loved this! Used Trader Joe's frozen roasted corn (I do apologize if you don't have one in your area). Also added 1 can of drained diced fire-roasted tomatoes. I also put it all together several hours early and let the flavours meld all afternoon. This will definitely become a summer favourite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southshore cook June 15, 2010

Fabulous! I used green onions instead of red, 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 vegetable oil, and a little extra sugar and lime juice b/c my red wine vinegar was quite sour. I subbed 1 small can of Ro-tel for the tomato and jalapeno, added a couple of dashes of hot sauce, and used the combination of cilantro, parsley and basil for the herbs. I also "grilled" a can of corn under the broiler until charred, as was suggested by another reviewer (thank you!). I've made many black bean and corn salads and this one is the best yet! Thank you Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyN April 18, 2009

Absolutely love this recipe! We enjoy it with tortilla chips. It is a great way to get your family to eat some healthy vegetables and legumes. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gardengirl April 06, 2004

Very tasty, We had a Mexican/Spanish dinner party and this was one of the dishes I served. Everyone liked this dish, not to say, it looked beautiful. Very appetizing. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane from Ohio May 18, 2014
Black Bean and Corn Salad ( Dip )