47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The olive oil over powered it. I ended up rinsing the salad and putting a tablespoon of sour cream. Ended up ok but I probably will not make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydnoland March 29, 2011

Good salad. But you have to let it sit overnight so all the flavors can meld. Everyone at the party liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ambrosia March 14, 2010

This is delicious and so easy to make. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes with jalapeno, and it was really good. I served it with carne asada, tortillas and guacamole. It's a great salad to whip up quickly. Thanks, Kathy. I know I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader December 31, 2008

I loved this recipe! It was so easy to make and made a nice addition to our meal. It tasted fresh and healthy and the whole family loved it! I especially love the cilantro addition, it reminds me of Chipotle burritos!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunburst308 January 12, 2008

I made this along with some Chicken Mole, tortillas, and tortilla chips. I think next time I'll add waaaay more cilantro, lemon juice, and some lime juice. I didn't think there was enough flavor, but I didn't really get a chance to let it sit before I served it, so the next day I tried it again. However, the flavor still wasn't what I wanted it to be. I'll have to give it another try next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmJoMay October 31, 2007

I made this for Sushiman's Mexican Standoff last night, and it was a lovely addition to the menu. When I first tasted it before serving I thought it didn't have enough bite to it so I added quite a bit more lemon juice, didn't measure, just kept squeezing away until it tasted just right. I think it also needed more onion, for this amount a whole small red onion should suffice. After making these changes it was a lovely salad, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj October 09, 2007

This is excellent, I served it as a side dish and will be serving this as a salsa as well. With corn salad being a favorite at our house this flavorful combination of black beans, corn, and chopped tomatoes was an instant hit. I did use more snipped fresh parsley instead of all cilantro, but did add extra cilantro to my serving. I found this to be a great make ahead to have on hand for those week end get togethers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry November 08, 2004

My, this is GOOD eating! I had a couple of nice, ripe tomatoes sitting on the kitchen counter, so I diced them for the veggie mix, then squeezed in the juice of 1 lime...instead of lemon, which only provided 2 Tbsp., and probably used only half of the called-for cilantro, though it did seem to be enough. My dinner guests and I loved this... served it with two kinds of enchiladas and Mexican rice (see my review on what I think is a way- neglected recipe, # 11057). The guests walked away with the BB & C salad leftovers, AND the recipe...lucky folks!...Grammy Bunny

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Bunny October 15, 2004

To make this easier, instead of chopping a tomato, I added one can of drained stewed tomatoes and one can (not drained) of Rotel with lime and cilantro. I also top with a little shredded cheddar cheese. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jensfaboo June 21, 2004

This is a great recipe. Very healthy, with great flavors from the fresh corn that I used. Thanks Kathy :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 12, 2013
Black Bean and Corn Salad