48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely the *best* vegetarian chili I have yet tried! Even my carnivore fiance -- who normally only tolerates any chili made without meat -- *loved* this! It was so good, we only got 4 servings out of the batch. ;) Perfect as written; I would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing a truly wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen February 23, 2009

Unique and delicious flavors! Very easy to prepare and enjoyable. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 10, 2009

Made this for "Chocoalate Fest" and served with brown rice. Was a hit even for the non-vegetarians!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janine Marie W February 07, 2009

MOST EXCELLENT!!! We adored this , really what more can I say...I followed this pretty much exact because I could tell while making it that it was perfection as written and (a first) did not want to mess with it ...the spice and seasonings are just wonderful...I grated my chocolate in with my micro planer thing that I got for Christmas and that was a kick for me too :)...tagged for the Comfort cafe event and the last of my 3 recipes made while playing ...I guess I must have saved the best for last 'cause this was THE BEST & was also perfect for that particular event because this is the most ideal "comfort food" recipe in my opinion...Thanks so much Kosmic Blues...DELISH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free January 29, 2009

Mmmm, this was great! I followed the recipe almost exactly with fantastic results! Thank you for your special and unique chili recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karin Bee January 25, 2009

TERRIFIC! Loved the chili and will make again and again. I didn't use celery and didn't miss it. Also, being a spice wimp, I used a can of diced green chiles in place of the jalapenos. The recipe is made in one large skillet so cleanup is easy too. It's not as soup-like as most chilis. That's ok, just know that as you make it there isn't a lot of liquid. It would be a great topping for polenta or rice, or as a filling in a burrito/enchilada. Like the other reviewers mentioned, the recipe serves 4 big bowls or 6 medium bowls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook November 16, 2008

We made the chili as directed, and loved it! (Though we left out the cheese on top.) It is a nice change from the traditional kidney bean-based chilis that are out there... We'll definitely double the recipe next time, as it made 3-4 servings. Might try it with savoury cornbread as one reviewer suggested. Thanks for a great recipe! Update: Made this again substituting two small zucchini for the celery, and 1/4 c. plus 2 tbsp cocoa powder mixed with 2 tbsp melted butter and sugar to taste for the chocolate chips. Also omitted pepper and salt. It was every bit as rich and delicious as the last time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K November 09, 2008

This is a very colorful, flavor-packed chili. I added some corn and some shredded zucchini to the veggies and I made it a three-bean chili (black, pinto and kidney). The spice combination is great and I love the addition of lime juice and soy sauce. I threw in a handful of mini-chocolate chips for the chocolate portion. Lovely - thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 13, 2008
Black Bean and Chocolate Chili