Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Chocolate Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Chocolate Chili

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2009

      Made this for "Chocoalate Fest" and served with brown rice. Was a hit even for the non-vegetarians!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      MOST EXCELLENT!!! We adored this , really what more can I say...I followed this pretty much exact because I could tell while making it that it was perfection as written and (a first) did not want to mess with it ...the spice and seasonings are just wonderful...I grated my chocolate in with my micro planer thing that I got for Christmas and that was a kick for me too :)...tagged for the Comfort cafe event and the last of my 3 recipes made while playing ...I guess I must have saved the best for last 'cause this was THE BEST & was also perfect for that particular event because this is the most ideal "comfort food" recipe in my opinion...Thanks so much Kosmic Blues...DELISH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Mmmm, this was great! I followed the recipe almost exactly with fantastic results! Thank you for your special and unique chili recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

    • on November 16, 2008

      TERRIFIC! Loved the chili and will make again and again. I didn't use celery and didn't miss it. Also, being a spice wimp, I used a can of diced green chiles in place of the jalapenos. The recipe is made in one large skillet so cleanup is easy too. It's not as soup-like as most chilis. That's ok, just know that as you make it there isn't a lot of liquid. It would be a great topping for polenta or rice, or as a filling in a burrito/enchilada. Like the other reviewers mentioned, the recipe serves 4 big bowls or 6 medium bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      We made the chili as directed, and loved it! (Though we left out the cheese on top.) It is a nice change from the traditional kidney bean-based chilis that are out there... We'll definitely double the recipe next time, as it made 3-4 servings. Might try it with savoury cornbread as one reviewer suggested. Thanks for a great recipe! Update: Made this again substituting two small zucchini for the celery, and 1/4 c. plus 2 tbsp cocoa powder mixed with 2 tbsp melted butter and sugar to taste for the chocolate chips. Also omitted pepper and salt. It was every bit as rich and delicious as the last time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This is a very colorful, flavor-packed chili. I added some corn and some shredded zucchini to the veggies and I made it a three-bean chili (black, pinto and kidney). The spice combination is great and I love the addition of lime juice and soy sauce. I threw in a handful of mini-chocolate chips for the chocolate portion. Lovely - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

    • on April 27, 2008

      Oh WOW was this good! I made a few changes, I did not have fresh jalapeno's so I used pickled and I didn't have semisweet chocolate so I used 2 oz of baking chocolate with 1/4 cup sugar. My husband said it was "Divine" and ate so much he made himself uncomfortable lol. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Another rave review. I left out the celery & bell peppers (which I hate), cloves & coriander (which I didn't have), and added corn & cilantro (hey, it's coriander all grown up). I almost won a chili cook-off with a vegan chili (unheard-of)...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This was fantasctic - will definitely make it again. I crushed some whole coriander seeds for a more authentic flavour. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. I have actually made this several times and only just remembered to review it-- I will never make black bean chili another way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This was probably the best chili I've had since... I don't know when. I didn't quite have enough chocolate, so I just crumbled what I did have. Also, I added one package of Yves Veggie Ground Round, one potato and two carrots for extra chunk - yummy! Even my ultra-picky-when-it-comes-to-chili hubby loved it. Thanks so much for this! I'll make it again, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Loved it. It was relatively easy to make, and made me feel like I was in the movie Chocolat (you know, that one scene at the party where EVERY dish has chocolate incorporated somehow). Makes me feel very gourmet. Also, you've got a new best friend in my mother, who falls instantly in love with anything even having to do with chocolate. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I was looking for a low cal soup recipe that both my husband and I would enjoy and this was definitely it! We were surprised there wasn't more liquid, so next time we are going to add another can of diced tomatoes, (this time we used some V8 juice). We think that putting corn and cilantro in it would be great too. We look forward to making the changes and having it with cornbread (like another review had suggested). We didn't add the green peppers and celery (since we don't care for them). We agreed with the other reviews that it did not make 8 servings but more like 4-6. This is certainly a great recipe to add and subtract ingredients according to taste. We highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Loved it ! just used a red bell pepper (no green) and it was delicious. very addicting! i am going to make my second batch today! :) yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      I was excited to try this recipe after reading all of the great reviews, but ended up very disappointed. The flavor of this chili was not as expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Holy moly, this chili is great! The only thing I did differently was leave out the cloves. I generally tend not to like chili but this is something special! Since I'm dieting, I used light sour cream which is a brilliant topping for this dish. It's great with a chocolate mint patty afterward to cool off the tongue. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This chili was amazing. I kept waiting to find out when I'd be putting it into a large pot, and it wasn't until I had followed all the steps when I realized that it was entirely made in a single skillet! I was actively involved in the cooking the entire time, but it really was ready to eat in just 35 minutes. The tastes in this chili are exceptional, and as you eat it, the originally obvious flavors (chocolate, chili powder, and cumin) give way to some of the more subtle flavors. It was quite filling, and everyone enjoyed it. I'll definitely make it again. The only modifications I made to the recipe were that I added about a quarter cup of water at the end, as it seemed a bit dry, and I also left out the cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Loved this! Didn't miss the meat at all. It simmered for about an hour+ because DH had to work later than expected and it was wonderful. I served it over fritos (DH's addition) and topped with shredded cheddar, diced fresh tomato (a great additon BTW), diced onion, and sour cream. The only things I did different was use a small can of diced chilies rather than the jalapeno and used dried beans that I cooked up last night rather than the canned. I actually used about 4-ish cups of beans. Its more than was called for but it handled it well. Oh, and I used a can of tomatoes with sweet onions in it. This was a great mild chili with almost a smoky flavor. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and did add the lime juice. I have to say, I was a bit worried as I added the soy sauce but all was well. Next time I may kick up the heat a bit as I like a little kick to my chili. Best thing about this is that you can make it in a hurry (as far as chili is concerned) and these are ingredients I usually have on hand anyway. This would be great as an addition to a taco salad or wraped in a tortilla. The ingredients also remind me of some of the Cuban food I have been experimenting with and I found myself wishing I had cooked up some plantains. Also goes surprisingly well with a glass of Tang (don't ask lol). Thanks for a great meal that I will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Chocolate Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    33%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 299.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites