Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Chocolate Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Chocolate Chili

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2006

      Best. Chili. Ever. My S.O. and I simply adore this recipe, it has definitely become a staple in our house! We add corn to it as well (about 1 cup), eliminate the celery, and when we are feeling really decadent we use Green and Black's Organic Dark Chocolate (70% Cacao). We also use only one can of black beans and experiment with different beans for the second can (so far we have used spicy pinto beans and chili beans, which are both wonderful). We also use diced tomatoes with chiles, which is easier than cutting up fresh jalapenos. Thanks so much for this one Kozmmic Blues!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This was really good, but the suggested serving size is really small. Should be more like 400 cal/serving. Tasted good, but probably won't make again until I'm off my diet, especially because I'd like to add meat the next time go round. I just have to have meat in my chili!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Have had this recipe on the To Do List since Jan/08 ! Tonight seemed right -- but while the veggies were simmering, discovered I had NO CUMIN !! Bless DH' heart -- he immediately hit the road to the grocer, so I had cumin before everything simmered. Added everything except the chile, but had a heavy hand on the chili powder. Added semi-sweet chocolate bits, about 1 TBSP of BLACK cocoa, and 2 tsp of instant espresso powder. Have enough for another meal. This was entirely different and a most tasty and FILLING meal. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2014

      Would recommend less cinnamon. It was overpowering at first. After it has several hours for the flavors to blend, it is much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      This is exactly the kind of recipe that I love. It had so much spice and kick to it that you didn't need much of it to be completely satisfied, I used reduced fat sour cream on top to cut the hot spice (got carried away with the jalopeno pepper) My husband immediately said it was 5-star after the first bite. The chocolate is subtle but is definitely there so it has quite an exotic taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

    • on September 04, 2013

    • on November 06, 2011

      Followed it exactly and it turned out great! I served it in a bowl over Fritos with a dollop of sour cream on top. The sour cream helped bring out the flavors even more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Really, really, good! Definitely will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This was really good! I omitted the jalapeno so my toddler would eat it and doubled the recipe - I used Nestle's SemiSweet Morsels. I used 3 can of black beans and 1 can of pinto beans (all I had), sauteed the onions, garlic and green pepper together, added spices and sauteed for a minute then transferred to crock pot where I added all other ingredients. Cooked on low for 6 hours and served with corn bread. YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I was looking for a way to use up the extra black beans in my fridge and this was an awesome one! We loved it, and I will make it again! The only bit I didn't care for was the cinnamon (and I l o v e cinnamon). It seemed to stick out rather than blending nicely with the rest of the spices. The first thing my husband said when he tasted it was, "Did you put cinnamon in this?" Thank you for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

    • on March 07, 2010

      Best Vegan recipe I have ever made. I omitted the jalapeno and celery simply because I didn't have any. Instead of a can of diced tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chili. I also used three different beans- pinto, red and black. VERY flavorful without being overwhelming. I love when the sweet and spicy flavors impress all sides of your tongue and then meld together harmoniously. Awesome recipe - even my carnivores loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Totally yum! I used a can of pinto beans and a can of kidney beans, because that was what I had. I omitted the jalapeno, also, since I didn't have one. Really outstanding. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      We really enjoyed this unique recipe, and we plan to make it again -- but -- 1 tablespoon of chili powder plus a jalapeno?...not for the faint of heart! I don't consider myself a lightweight, but next time we'll be backing off on the heat. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

    • on June 13, 2009

      Wow, this was a great chili! I was afraid to try it because my bf is so used to his Mom's chili (hard to measure up against that!) but he really enjoyed this. I left out the peppers and celery because I'm fussy, but next time I will add corn as Lando did, that sounds great. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I've been making this recipe for quite a while now. I usually double it (which is very easy) and add a cup of fresh corn kernels. Every time I serve this to someone new, their first reaction is "What?!? Chocolate in chili?", then I just wait until they take their first bite, watch their eyes grow big with wonder and delight. Thank you for this wonderful gift!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Great tasting chili. I don't eat vegetarian usually, but this recipe piqued my interest with the strange combo of ingredients. I made a few changes to kick up the spicy factor, since that's how I like it. I used a 5oz can of diced jalapenos, skipped the bell peppers since I'm not a fan, and used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes with chipotle. I subbed lemon juice for the lime since that's what I had. Very filling and I imagine it will taste even better tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Absolutely the *best* vegetarian chili I have yet tried! Even my carnivore fiance -- who normally only tolerates any chili made without meat -- *loved* this! It was so good, we only got 4 servings out of the batch. ;) Perfect as written; I would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing a truly wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Chocolate Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    33%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 299.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites