Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean and Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      We didn't love this recipe. Even though it calls for 2 large onions, I only used 2 small ones and it was way too much onion and cumin. I might try it again making some adjustments.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Excellent - a very tasty, well rouned soup. Didn't change anything except added a Tbls of SMOKED Paprika (yummo!) with the cumin and season salt at the end. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I thought this was THE BEST soup I've had in a long time. I too thought the cumin would be too much; however it was really what made the soup taste so good! I am taking leftovers to work tomorrow to share with a couple of co-workers who smelled it while I was eating and lunch. I made a large pot and will have some to put in the freezer for another rainy day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This was very good and everyone loved it. I would definitely make this again with a couple changes: saute the onions first (they were a little too cruncy for my liking). I would also not drain the beans to give it a darker color. That's all! It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This is perfect, just the right amount of spice, very flavorful! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Made this on the stove top and added the garli-sauteed chicken bites just before serving. Nicely flavored beans, Amanda Beth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was a pretty good dish. I did add corn and I also used chicken from a whole fryer instead of chicken breasts. I would definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Great soup. Don't be afraid of the spices. I used half the spices to begin with and ended up adding more toward the end of cooking time. I used canned beans rinsed and drained and frozen corn. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This is one of my favorites. I make it stoptop since I live with a nervous nelly who won't let me leave a crockpot on with no one home. I use two cans of black beans instead of dried and simmer for 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      This was a nice flavorful soup that was very filling. I more or less prepared a half recipe of this, using a 15 ounce can of black beans, 2 cups of cooked chopped chicken, and half of all the remaining ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Oh my what a yummy dish. If I could give it 10 stars I would. I made it as stated with one exception. I used chicken base instead of broth purely personal choice. My neighbor above me followed the aroma down to me and begged for a bowl and left with the recipe after having had two bowls :) Thank you so much for a great soup recipe. It will be made many more times in this house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      We had an unseasonably cool day today, and it put me in the mood for some soup. I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand, and I am so glad I did. It was very easy to throw together, but so good--perfect with a pan of cornbread. I made it on the stovetop this time, but I'll be trying it in the crockpot, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This was good. I used canned beans (should have used 2 cans!) I didn't want it to make TOO much so, I only used one onion, 1 can of diced tomatoes. I added a diced carrot and tossed everything into the crockpot to cook on low for 6 hours. The only thing I'd do different next time is to add more beans and some thyme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      I too used canned black beans, it make the recipe sooo easy, also just used one huge onion and added a good shake of red pepper flakes to add a little heat. Turned out great, very tasty, healthy soup that I will make again. Froze it and it will make great lunches, thanks for sharing a good one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      I think the 2 large onions was a bit much for me - I now know that my body can't handle that. So for those who may have a hard time digesting onions, I would suggest using only one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This was simply delicious!I used canned beans, drained and only one can of tomatoes. And that can of tomatoes had green chilis in it! Turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      My first crockpot recipe! What a great choice! I used dried beans because they had more structure in the end product. The addition of a bit of salt and cheese with a dollop of sour cream when I served finished it perfectly. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Delicious! Added some salt and pepper, and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Because I made this soup for the “Freeze It!” Tag Game, I made a HUGE quantity. I at least doubled the recipe: I ended up with 2 crockpots full, so I kind of lost sight of the ratio of the ingredients. Both portion one and portion two – the frozen then thawed portion – were equally delicious. Absolutely NO difference. Very simply: the frozen portion I put into Tupperware Rock ‘N Serve containers, then when I wanted to use it, I allowed it to thaw at room temperature, and heated it in the microwave. I must confess to having made a few changes to the recipe, a combination of what I had on hand, what needed to be used and personal preferences. The end result was fabulous. I used 6 cloves of garlic (instead of garlic powder), included all the juice from four cans of tomatoes, substituted 2 large eggplants (skin on) for the corn (I’m not too keen on corn and I had some beautiful eggplants just past their peak that needed to be used immediately) and I added parsley, 2 cups of wine and a couple of drops of liquid smoke. I’d only just tracked down the elusive liquid smoke and was keen to use it! Just as well I wasn’t making cakes! The soup was absolutely delicious: very rich and everyone loved the combination of flavours. The cumin was a great ingredient! I love cumin in Middle Eastern dishes, but I’ve never thought to use it in soups before. As for the black beans: loved them, and I will be experimenting with using them in other dishes too. I used dried beans and Amanda Beth’s instructions gave me the confidence to cook them before putting them into the crockpot. The ones I’d bought had NO instructions as to how to use them. Thank you Amanda Beth for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      This soup was very good. I was a little afraid of the amount of cumin, it sounded like a lot, so I halved it. Truthfully, it would have been better with the listed amount. I also used two cans of black beans. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    13%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 24.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 269.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes