10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is the most precise recipe-- the cake was done in the exact time, came out of the pan perfectly, looks and tastes great! i used the glaze and confectioners sugar, garnished with raspberries and strawberries- very impressive presentation

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia August 16, 2003

I was disappointed; cake came out pretty dry and tasted like ordinary chocolate cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 01, 2010

I was originally going to give this recipe three stars. Part of the cake stuck to the pan when I unmolded it, so of course I ate it :) and by itself, I found the cake to be relatively bland and not big on chocolate flavor. However, with the glaze on it, I thought the cake improved, and it was nicely moist. It also got a lot of positive feedback at the party I took it to, so I guess my initial reaction was a little harsh. However: I wouldn't call this cake a "pound cake" at all. That led me to expect a dense, rich, fudgy cake, which this is not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM April 10, 2010

I made a cake and had no frosting, looking for a chocolate glaze, I decided to use this one. Amazing! It was simple and so perfect. I will have to try the complete recipe sometime! Thanks for sharing, will be my "go-to" glaze from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 January 25, 2010

Absolutely delicious.. I made this as a thank you for some co-workers. I had people moaning with pleasure at the taste (can I say that?). One word, I used a decorative Nordic bundt pan, and it barely contained the cake, I'll probably use the standard bundt pan the next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeluna28 September 02, 2008

By far the BEST chocolate cake I have EVER had!!! I did a create a new recipe using this cake and will post if I have permission. Awsome cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybugs May 18, 2006

This is a very good cake and not hard to make. My daughter made it for a bake sale at church and she doesn't cook. Will make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathrine_Lemaster January 08, 2006

This was a wonderfully rich and tasty recipe. Satisfied the PMS cravings in THIS household LOL. We all loved it. My bundt pan bit the dust so I made it in 2 loaf pans. Your Recipe says loaf pan and It didn't sound right and within 7 minutes of cooking it started overflowing so i re-stirred the batter and put it into 2 loaf pans. Turned out wonderful. Thanks for posting Karen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen August 08, 2005

this pound cake is very delicious, decadent and definitely hit the spot when you're having a bad chocolate craving! I halved the recipe and baked this in a 8x8 square pan for approx 35-40 minutes. I served it with the glaze and it's TDF! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterMelon October 05, 2004
Bittersweet Chocolate Pound Cake with Decadent Glaze