91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were definitely an easy breakfast treat. I did have a little problem in getting the inside of the rolls to bake up. I put foil over them and continued to bake a little longer than suggested. It may just have been my oven. We moved recently and I couldn't find my confectioner's sugar, so I used a canned coconut-pecan frosting in its place. I spread it on while warm and they were very enjoyable.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipewrestler October 14, 2002

Karen, these were delicious! My family gobbled them up in no time. I used brown sugar as a few of the other reviewers suggested, and it was a little sweet for my taste. I think next time I will try using 1/2 granulated sugar, and 1/2 brown sugar in the filling! I would also double the glaze, just because my kids love a lot of icing. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. January 27, 2003

My family went nuts over these! They were all gone in one sitting! I prefer a softer roll, but these were delicious! A very great Saturday morning breakfast! Thank you!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 October 19, 2002

This is a really easy recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the frosting, I used milk, butter and cream cheese instead of water. Thanks for a good one!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa October 08, 2002

I have been making these for years - after growing up on them. They are delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Gronsbell October 04, 2002

My family loves cinnamon rolls, but I don't like dealing with yeast, so this recipe was fantastic! I did make a couple changes. I substituted 1/2 c whole wheat flour, and increased the milk to 1/2 cup. I also used brown sugar in the filling. For the icing, I mixed it in the same bowl I used to mix the filling to pick up some of the cinnamon flavor. I also used milk instead of water, and added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla. We will definitely make this again and again! Thanks for sharing!! ;-) 3/23/10: I just made these again and added 1 tsp baking powder, 1 T sugar, and 1 T lemon juice...much more tender than before! :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RichFoods March 23, 2010

The flavor of these rolls is excellent! I made them as a mid-morning treat and they were quick and easy to prepare. After reading some of the reviews, I made the following modifications: used 4 T instead of 2 T of butter and used brown sugar with the cinnamon instead of regular sugar. I also increased the cinnamon to approximately 4 teaspoons. In the dough itself, I added an additional 2 T of milk to get it to the smooth dough consistency. For the glaze, I used milk instead of water and doubled the recipe because there is no way the original quantities would have been enough. With those changes, these really turned out great. I can see how they would have been quite dry had I not added milk and more butter though. Also, I am curious as to why you have to bake it in a roll form. Next time I will bake them as individual rolls laying flat next to one another. Enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama_lisa December 31, 2009

These were super easy to make and looked very nice when finsished. However, I prefer a more moist cinnamon roll. These had a definite biscuit texture. When in a hurry, though, it's an easy treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookbook Barbie January 19, 2004

Absolutely loved them. What a treat to sit down to after a long, hard day. Will definitely be making these on a regular basis.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get Smart July 22, 2003

About 11 oclock at night I had the biggest craving for cinnamon rolls, and these hit the spot! I also used milk instead of water, not even realizing other people had done the same. I was in such a craving-hurry I didn't even read beyond the first reveiw! These are delicious and definately a permanent addition to my recipe collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Renee June 26, 2003
BisQuickie Cinnamon Rolls