10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love these cookies. I have made them probably 15 times in the last year because they are so easy. I like the vanilla the best. I always use the heart smart bisquick which I think it lighter and I still use the 1/4 of a cup of oil. I don't think they turn out too oily. I have never made them with the chocolate chips. It gives me about 12 medium sized cookies. The only thing is that I have had to bake them for longer. 10-11 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babb2 February 21, 2013

My mom made these fresh in the morning for our school lunches over 45 years ago. We make chocolate, butterscotch, lemon and pistachio (when you can find it). Lemon is my favorite especially when made with lemon zest. I try to use the low fat mix and halve the oil, substituting skim milk for the rest of the liquid. Today I found Gingerbread and Candy Cane puddings. I made the Candy Cane and used crushed peppermint sticks, very tasty. My mom would have loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie5b December 16, 2011

I found that the yield on this recipe was WAY OFF. The first batch (lemon cookies w/out chips) yielded eight cookies. The next batch (chocolate w/white choco chips) yielded nine. Other than the obvious error in the yield, it probably would be a fun project with kids, and very adaptable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs #5 November 02, 2008

I read other reviews that the cookies were oily, and I know Bisquick mix contains shortening already, so I cut most of the additional oil. I put one tbsp of vegetable oil in my 1/4 cup measure and filled the rest with light vanilla soymilk. I also used fat free/sugar free pudding as this is what I had. I followed the rest of the directions and baked for about 13 minutes. The cookies are a pretty golden yellow and pretty tasty, though next time I think I will use whole milk instead of soy; overall pretty good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunaorion May 28, 2007

Like a previous reviewer, I found these cookies too oily for my liking. Also, the cookies really didn't spread out much and seemed more like a sweet English biscuit than an American cookie (and not a good one, at that). Also, I added the additional chips (only half a cup)to my mixture and it was way to crumbly (yet greasy) to form balls so I ended up doubling the mixture but keeping only 1/2 cup chips in the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyc4me03 March 19, 2007

These were pretty good. I used butterscotch pudding mix and next time I think it would be ideal to add some butterscotch chocolate chips to the recipe!(also chocolate pudding with chocolate chips and vanilla pudding with white chocolate chips would probly be great too!) Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef June 21, 2006

I added quick oats instead of chocolate chips yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robynlee February 07, 2006

For the first batch I made, I followed the recipe as is and used vanilla pudding mix. I wasn't even able to get two dozen cookies, they took more than ten minutes to cook - I stopped counting - and the end result was way too oily for me. The flavor was merely alright - nothing special. For my second batch, using white chocolate mix, I reduced the oil slightly and stirred in a cup of chocolate chips. That helped me stretch the recipe to about two dozen cookies, but there were actually too many chips and I had problems holding some of them together into cookie forms. These took a little longer to cook, but had a better flavor and were less oily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream October 16, 2005

I made this with sugar-free pudding and homemade baking mix, and they were very good. A nice morsel to satisfy a brownie craving in a diabetes safe way. I would suggest using butter instead of the oil, for flavor, if you have it. The cookie will be flakier, but will have a nicer taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy - Ellie's Mommie March 15, 2005

ver easy-my 6 yr old LOVED these-we decorate with assorted sprinkles before baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shalondera January 31, 2005
Bisquick Pudding Cookies