Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bisquick Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bisquick Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2009

      I made this recipe with a 21 ounce can of apple filling and I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. I cooked it for 25 minutes but it was not long enough for the addition of the filling but i did not discover it until I let it cool and ate three pieces! It was still awesome and not wanting to waste any, I reheated the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and cooked it for an additional 20 minutes in 10 minute increments. That did the trick. The next time I will add 5 minute increments to the original cooking and take note. And finally, the filling added flavor, texture, and the cake was definitely not dry. I couldn't imagine it without filling, but I just have to perfect the cooking time. I hope this helps. :oD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I made mine into a Lemon Coffee Cake! Followed recipe as written and for the Lemon, I took a box of Jello lemon pudding mix and added 1 cup of milk and brought to a boil whisking consistently until creamy, almost fluffy. Then let it cool completely and added to the cake mixture. It's so delicious! I think I'll make decaf tonight just to have some! Thanks for the easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I love this recipe! I always double the topping and score it really deep or it can be a bit dry and floury tasting. I also like to mix up a simple glaze just using leftover-from-the-pot or fresh coffee and powdered sugar and then drizzle it over the top, adds a ton of flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I have made this coffee cake for over 39 years......We love it. I make it just like the recipe stats except I always double the recipe for the topping......we love that topping, the more the merrier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I have made this recipe for years, a family favorite. I drain a can of peaches use half the liquid and half milk to mix, After poured in baking dish I push the peach slices down into the batter, then top with strussel topping and bake. Try Strawberries. Add whipped topping or ice cream to warm cake Yum! Call it what you like cobbler or coffee cake it is delicious. BISQUICK... Please put the recipe back on the box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      This is an awesome one! Add 1-3 cups of blueberries (Frozen are great if you can't get good fresh, but canned are not so good) as well as adding a little vanilla in both batter and topping

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Haven't made this in donkey's years! So disappointed when I went to the box & it wasn't there. Fortunately, I stumbled out here & THANK YOU for posting my bestest favorite recipe in all the world! Now that we're retired, I'm getting back into baking (I suppose I'm cheating a bit with the Bisquick, but you really can't beat it!) so I'll be checking out some of the wonderful suggestions I'm reading out here. Matter of fact, I've got a can of pineapple chunks in the cupboard so before I drool on the keyboard I think I'd best go make some Coffee Cake. Oh, and I too have ALWAYS doubled the topping. It's the best part. :D
      A PS in here: I always add half a teaspoon of vanilla & 2 tablespoon of melted butter to the batter. While I'll lose the nutty flavor of the melted butter, I'm gonna try adding 2 tablespoons of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter no calorie liquid instead. Try to make it "a little" more heart healthy for hubby. Will let you know if it flies or flops.
      And thanks again for publishing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      It's good! I was wary by some of the comments saying it was dry, so I added a tablespoon of oil for good measure, and it sure was moist! I also added about 2 tablespoons extra sugar to the cake, added a diced up apple, and doubled the topping. Probably 15 mins prep total, and delicious result!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I have been using Bisquick for 60 years. Coffee Cake, Drop Bisquits, Muffins, Pancakes etc.. When you have Bisquick in your kitchen you are never without when unexpected guests show up. My husband,children and grandchildren love the pancakes. I pray that the FDA doesn't change a wonderful product that even my Grandmother used.
      Lyn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      It is Christmas morning, 2012, my son, home from college, wants Busquick Coffee Cake for Christmas morning. I go to the box and imagine my surprise and horror to find no coffee cake recipe, What to do, Google it. I have to thank you a hundred times over for putting the recipe up and so easy to find. Now all is well. Happy Holidays. Cathy
      PS I have always added extra topping as well. I also give it as xmas gifts. I put the dry ingredients and a recipe in a zip lock bag and wrap or add to a basket with other goodies. My friend Becky thinks I am quite the chef. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      We made this in the UK when we were newly weds whenever we were hungry and there was nothing else in the house. I was so frustrated when bisquick took it off the box. I can cook but I like things simple and predictable. I am thinking about adding a can of sliced peaches to the bottom of this next time I bake it or pineapples wahla pineapple upside down cake how cool!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Whoa... this has to be a mistake. There is no oil in this recipe, therefore it came out EXTREMELY dry and crumbly and I did not overbake it. The crumb topping was good, but that was about it. It needs oil so that it can retain moistness. Otherwise you get what I got.... a dried up crumbly mess. Not light and fluffy like a coffee cake should be. Sorry, I may tweak the recipe and make it again, but not as is. It was a huge dud.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      My family has been making this recipe as far back as I can remember, so 30+ years and we still love it. We double the topping recipe so there's more for the middle layer and it helps make it more moist without adding oil. There's never any left over and it makes the house smell SO good. Best when served right away, but still good with a tall glass of milk later in the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      Oh my, this is good. I added some chopped pecans to the topping but otherwise followed your recipe as written. We loved it and it reminded me of my childhood when mom would make us coffeecakes for breakfast. Yummy. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Very easy and so yummy! So many adaptations/additions that can be made as well, such as fruits. nuts, flavorings and spices. Cooking time for an 8x8 pan in my oven is spot on at the 25 minutes - but we all know ovens vary :) Definitely a recipe I've used many times and will continue to use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Wish I could rate this higher but while it was edible it wasn't what I would call a success. First it was very dry, perhaps adding some sour cream would have made it more moist? Second while the cake was sweet, and the topping was a good streusel the cake body lacked any other flavor other then the sugar. Perhaps some almond extract in the dough (or some other additive) would improve the taste. I would label this one as a good starter recipe that needs some improvement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Great SIMPLE recipe - I live "out" and when I get a yearning for something like this, it is imperative that it not take a lot of ingredients. This one sure does NOT! <br/><br/>I just got a mandolin so I am going Slice Crazy with it, experimenting with apples right now. So this coffee cake gave me something to do with all the apples LOL! <br/><br/>I did it like coffee cake lasagna?a layer of very thin apples (red ones if you wondered) then some batter, then green apple slices, more batter, then a mixture of the crumb topping and the last layer of more green apple slices.<br/><br/>It looks like 400 is too hot for a toaster oven, so I backed it down and am cooking it for closer to 45 minutes instead of 25. The water in the apples is messing with the batter I am suspecting. Thanks for great recipe! And thanks for giving me something to do with all of these apple slices LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Thank you for posting this recipe! Like others (who enjoy this cake) I too was frustrated to see that Bisquick no longer had it on their box. I made it exactly as it was written and had no issues with dryness...as a matter of fact, it was fluffy & delicious! Especially served right out of the oven. The only thing I did that wasn't written was not "over mixing" the dough. I just mixed it enough to make sure the dough ingredients were well incorporated. Dear BF also enjoyed the cake & devoured a huge piece!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      We have had this for Christmas morning for as long as I can remember. We add about 1 cup of blueberries to it, and since I started making my own, I always double the topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I went to the box looking for just this. It's in the oven, but I am just glad it's there for now. I am reading reviews and wishing I added more crumb topping remembering how much I loved it as a kid. If I had an apple, I'd have used it! Thanks everyone.. who knew you could get inspired from bisquick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bisquick Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.7
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    34%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 42.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 553.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 21.8 g
    87%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites