38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe....added sour cream and sugar to the mix and used it for strawberry shortcake....so yum! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icrowe July 22, 2009

I gave this recipe 5 stars. I was out of Bisquick and I wasn't going back to the store for a third time in one day. So I started searching for recipes using powdered milk to bump up my protein. This was perfect. When I made this recipe I cut the recipe by 1/3 and this still turned out great. Overall I will make this recipe again! Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut June 02, 2009

This is exactly like bisquick! Anyone who rated this low, had to have done it wrong. Armymomx2 must have put something extra or add too much of something? I used organic unbleached flour, aluminum free baking powder, sea salt, organic milk powder, and organic shortening (pure palm oil, no transfat). I don't like using the boxed stuff because of all the nasties, like hydrogenated oils amoung the many bad ingredients. But I LOVE chicken and dumplings with bisquick dumplings and no other way. So I am so thankful for this recipe! And it does taste exactly like the real thing and it makes up the same. I quartered this recipe and was able to make a big pot of chicken and dumplings last night and 2 large waffles this morning. YUM! Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley November 26, 2008

Sorry to rate this so low, but this was awful. The mix was wet and held together when I squeezed it. I used my food processor then my Kitchen Aid mixer, to get it to combine thoroughly. It tasted nothing like Bisquick and when I made my dumplings, they fell apart. I really wanted this one to work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 September 17, 2008

Great replacement! Turned out wonderful and I have saved this recipe into my favorites! I did add a tad bit of sugar but that is to our tastes, and only half of the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redzilla September 09, 2008

Worked beautifully for Red Lobster - Cheddar Bay Biscuits. I used a pastry blender to cut in the shortening. Worked great! This will be a great thing to have on hand since DD loved the biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZaarAddict August 30, 2008

WOOOOOOOW! amazing That's one of the must have recipe everyone should have it in his saved recipes.... Thanks a lot Lali for sharing....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caramellita June 12, 2008

Very good, won't be buying bisquick at the store any more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds April 24, 2008

Very good...a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy October 28, 2007

Easy and very tasty. (: I used this recipe to make Red Lobster - Cheddar Bay Biscuits and couldn't have asked for a better outcome. I will show the photo of the recipe I used it in. Thanks for posting this one, Lali. It's a keeper for sure!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing October 09, 2007
Bisquick Clone