38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I mixed up my first batch this past Friday morning, using non-dairy soy milk powder, and by Friday afternoon had already used up most of it for my weekend baking. It works beautifully!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj November 25, 2001

If you use Bisquick from the box just throw it out the window!! This is a wonderful recipe and easy to make. I'm so happy I don't have to buy a box of Bisquick any more, now that I found this! I made half of the recipe because I wanted to use it to make Sausage Cheese Muffins Sausage Cheese Muffins worked wonderfully.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 27, 2002

This is a great recipe .. used it when i had no bisquick on hand, worked great!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa January 13, 2002

Very Good! I halved the recipe and used 8 oz (by weight) of shortening. One reviewer said that it seemed too "wet". It seemed a little "wet" to me too when it was done but I made a batch of "Bisquick biscuits and they turned out good. The only thing I will change is to add more salt. The first batch of biscuits 2 1/4 cups of mix with 2/3 cups of buttermilk seemed a little flat. I made another batch and added 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the recipe and they were great! So, for half a recipe - I will add 1 teaspoon more of salt making it 2 1/2 teaspoons total per 1/2 Bisquick Clone Recipe. Even my friend who came over for dinner commented on them by saying, "I just LOVE Bisquick biscuits!" She didn't know it wasn't Bisquick. I can't wait to try some of my other Bisquick recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpixley April 18, 2009

We all loved this biscuit mix... I made 2 cups mix, 2/3 cup buttermilk. Perfect biscuits. I will definitely never buy Bisquick again (I'm pretty thrifty, and I didn't buy it very much anyway).

I mixed mine in the food processor. I did just 1/2 batch in case we didn't love it. I'll definitely do a full recipe next time... my hubby says he would love to eat more biscuits!

Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 09, 2011

Awesome! I don't like using anything from a box (unless it's powdered milk!) so this is awesome and cheap! I found this recipe because I needed Bisquick for Easy Chicken Pot Pie and it was so good! Easy and delicious thank you for sharing :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrsfizz December 21, 2010

Dont go anywhere else-don;t need to try anything else-this is it-i use this for my monthly supply= this is a genius recipe and you dont get no better-i am 66 yrs old -this is the bomb=@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARTERWIFE April 28, 2010

Wow, I am so impressed with this recipe! I made up a batch and have tested it with a chicken pot pie, biscuits, and pancakes and they all came out perfectly :) I will keep this on hand at all times from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn January 10, 2010

This is great! I never have bisquick on hand, so this is a really convenient recipe for me. I've used it several times now in several ways, storing the leftovers in the freezer for the next use, and it works perfectly every time. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht December 17, 2009
Bisquick Clone