74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe, i have made them 3 times in the last week fir different functions I have attended. They have all been eaten and everyone asks for the recipe. I added milk chocolate chips and Kraft carmel bits to the first batch and mixed them in. I used white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts in an other, then reese pieces and mini chocolate chips to the last one. They were all delicious and turned out perfect. I did change the rwcipe slightly. I added just a couple of extra tablespoons of oil, and instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar i use 1/2 cup of white sugar and a half of a cup of brown sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flash7257 December 04, 2012

SOOOOOOOOO stinkin easy and yummy! i didn't even measure the chips, just dumped a bunch in the batter and then some on top. They were awesome fresh, but then i left then out overnight and they were a little hard. I then placed them in a ziplock bag, planning on micowaving them for 10 sec. later...they actually were the perfect consistency when I took them out of the bag. I also doubled the recipe, and for some reason, the middle wasn't really getting cooked...fine with me tho! the middle was so doughy and chewy...heaven!
***UPDATE*** I had fresh cranberries that I needed to use, so I chopped them and tossed into the batter. I added a teensy splash of grape juice to the batter for extra wetness and OMG. So yummy. You have to try it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman January 27, 2012

These are great! I used the mixed bag of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips and mixed them into the cookie dough instead of just putting them on top. They turned out fantastic! They are just like cookie bars but softer in the middle like brownies. I will definitely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shauna120_3532646 May 12, 2011

With all the rave reviews, I was expecting more. These bars are just dry, crumbly, over-sweet biscuits with chocolate chips on top. Would not make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 February 12, 2011

I should have reviewed a long time ago as this is one of our family favorites. My children and their friends affectionately refer to these as "blonde brownies". We mix the 1 cup choc chips into the batter and bake until the edges look more done than I am usually comfortable with. The outside edges are great for those who like crispy and the inside perfectly gooey. This works as a super quick, easy base recipe as those with more discriminating tastes much prefer this exact recipe with craisins minus the choc chips. Can't go wrong and nothing out there is quicker for home baked.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandea June 15, 2010

What a great recipe! I was shocked how this did not taste at all "Bisquicky" ! I did use the Heart Healthy Bisquick and used canola oil in place of the vegetable oil. These worked out so perfectly!! We loved the flavor and they keep very well in an air tight container!! I'm so glad I tagged this in the I Recommend tag game! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom March 24, 2010

Great recipe. Easy and fun for kids to help with. I get many compliments on this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariet1081 July 05, 2012

I didn't have any flour and wanted cookies. I also didn't have enough white sugar so used 1 cup white and 1/2 brown. I mixed the chocolate chips in. These were pretty good. The top was kind of sugary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc March 01, 2012

I'm so confused about all the great reviews of this recipe. I made them exactly as written (wondering where the milk or other liquid was in this cookie bar recipe), and the dough just formed into a big heavy blob of dough that I struggled to spread into the pan. They baked up pretty much as written. But really, this recipe is just sweetened baking mix with chocolate chips. Mine looked nothing like the picture (i.e. cake-like). They're certainly not horrible, but they're not great by any means. I ate 2 servings over the weekend and threw the rest away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbyalex9 January 23, 2012
Bisquick Chocolate Chip Bars