Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bisquick Beer-Batter Fish Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bisquick Beer-Batter Fish Fry

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2009

      The batter had a good flavor, but found it difficult to work with due to the thickness. I added about an extra 2 oz. of beer to thin it out a little. I added a couple of dashes of cayenne for some heat. I used tilapia filets for the fish, which were thin but worked out fine. I loved the texture that the cornmeal lent... filets were nice & crispy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2014

      I didn't have any beer on hand, so I used milk and it was still great tasting. I sprinkle the fried fish with malt vinegar to get the malt flavor. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This was really good and a bit better than the Arthur Treacher's recipe I have used before. I used Grolsch beer and had to add a bit more to thin it out. I also added some more water to thin it out. Next time I think I will omit the corn meal because I didn't like the graininess of it. Over all a delicious batter and a definite keeper! My family really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Nice batter! Don't deep fry often, but I'll keep this one in mind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      kitten -how many of your recipes do i have/=cant count=this recipe belongs in a cookbook -you are incredible-i fried cod and halibut-and even at end toseed in green and red peppers for left over dough-had to give out recipe to a 100 people =you are amazing-!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Great recipe. I am from Wisconsin, land of the Friday Fish Fry, so I know how good fried fish tastes. But I am also a true beginner when it comes to cooking fish, so learn from my mistakes! I don't have a deep fryer or a non-meat thermometer, so I just put about 2" of canola oil in a soup pot and cranked the heat to med high and waited, stuck a meat thermometer in - it read over 180...so I plopped my fish in. BURN. Plopped another batch in. BURN. Called my DH who promptly told me to turn the heat down. I did and the next batches got progressively better. I think the best was at Medium low. I used 2 lbs of ocean perch and we have a ton left over. Will definitely make again, thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wow! So easy and so delicious! My 9 year old son and I caught a stringer full of crappie yesterday and I needed a recipe that was quick, easy and delicious for a boy who will not eat fish except in previously frozen "stick" form. Once he tried the fish prepared using this recipe I wished we had caught a couple more stringers full because he could not get enough before we ran out of fish to fry. The recipe calls for a "thicker" cut of fish, but the thin fillets of crappie were spectacular (so were the yellow perch and the smallmouth bass that were in the mix). It's a foolproof recipe, you just need to be sure the oil stays as close to 375 degrees as possible. I was curious to try the batter on some shrimp...oooohhhh, mmmmyyyyyyy... even better than the fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      This was a wonderful fish batter. So light and crispy. Thanks fr posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Well this is the very first batter for fish I ever made and except for the part about it needing to be sticky, I wasn't really sure if the batter was too thick. It was so sticky that it stuck to my fingers, but I got most of the two Tilapia fillets covered, sort of, lol! I halved this recipe and used Amber Bock because that's what we had. I used a bit more pepper than called for and used the low fat Bisquick. Very good flavor, and bf enjoyed it also. :) Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Great fish fry! I used 1 lb tilapia fillets and made the full amount of batter (I like a lot of batter on my fish). I added a Mexican beer, Dos Equis, and the flavor was noticeable but slight in the final product. We ate this with cole slaw and onion rings; it was a very satisfying dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Used flying fish. Loved the crust on the fish after frying. Didn't much notice the beer flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Another winner from Kittencal! I made it as directed using lake perch. This is going into my keeper file. Thanks, Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      I have always loved beer-batter and this was fantastic. I did make a few changes...I used 1 and 1/3 cups of Bisquick since I didn't have corn meal. I also added some Tastefully Simple Diced Tomato Garlic Pesto to the batter. It add a nice little taste. We used Miller High Life for the beer. Everyone loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      Quite possibly the best dinner I've ever made (according to my husband) and certainly the best fish fry ever. If I could give ten stars I would. The only change I made was to add more pepper to the batter; personal preference. I used Michelob lager, which is flavorful but not too heavy, and flounder filets. The batter fried up light and crispy and stuck nicely to the fish. Great with Mean Chef's French Fries (#60119).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bisquick Beer-Batter Fish Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 431.2
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    15%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 125.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1087.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes