11 Reviews

I love a really flavorful meatloaf - generally I make mine with ground turkey. Sprouts had some ground bison on sale, so I figured why not. I found your recipe and was very pleasantly surprised that the meatloaf was not dry when it was done, as has been my experience with bison in the past. It was very tasty served with some brown mustard. Thank you for something new to add to my recipe box!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 November 07, 2009

We really enjoyed this excellent meatloaf. We used more onion-- about 1 small one. DH didn't have his meatloaf with sauce growing up, but I think some spaghetti sauce on top would be nice. I would definitely make this again when I have buffalo meat in the house. It is very easy for a weeknight meal. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny November 05, 2009

Very good. DH requested more onion so will do that next time. Topped with spaghetti sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear July 10, 2009

This was absolutely delicious! We use buffalo a lot in place of beef, and this meatloaf was very flavorful with all the herbs and the Parmesan. A new keeper recipe ~ made for PAC Spring 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative April 03, 2009

Tried this recipe last night and it was fantastic! The only change I made was using old cheddar cheese instead of parmesan but that was just because that was all I had. I did individual servings in muffin tins for 25 min. Rave reviews from the fam and my picky 2 year old demolished it :) thank you for a great quick meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaveMom July 05, 2015

I made this exactly as instructed and it was perfect. The only change I made was making it in muffin tins as another reviewer suggested. 25 minutes and they were cooked perfectly. They were a little juicy, but I just drained off the excess before I served them. I'm freezing the rest. I had never tried bison, and now I'm a convert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachellehto November 03, 2014

I've made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I divide the mixture into a 12 hole muffin tin and bake for about 45 minutes. Comes out great! And if you are doing the Zone Diet, one meatloaf muffin + 4 TBS ketchup = 2.5 block serving. (based on nutritional information provided)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindy_john_clark February 09, 2014

I made this for dinner yesterday and it came out perfect and was absolutely delicious. I get a little nervous about new recipes but my wife and son absolutely loved it as we'll.<br/>The packages of bison meat were 1.25 pounds so I used heaping teaspoons or tablespoons and two extra cloves of garlic and a medium onion which I peeled down a bit. I was also out of sage so I substituted equal amounts of rosemary and celery leaves.<br/>Absolutely a terrific meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KevinMorgano January 30, 2014

I can't stop eating it. I did add a little extra onion and topped it with ketchup before baking it. I also only cooked it for a hour and 5 minutes and it was PERFECT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaimie S. December 05, 2013

This was excellent! Very flavorful! I was pleasantly surprised :) I topped the meatloaf with marinara sauce after baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JelliCelli October 03, 2011
Bison Meat Loaf #1 (Buffalo)