20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good stuff!! But I added a scant tsp of ground summer savory and 2-3 Tsp chopped onions to the pan 2-3 minutes before adding the flour to the pan. Also, I taste the gravy and if it lacks flavor, I add a cube of chicken or beef boullion. Really love GOOD gravy. Warren Holmgreen

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
W E Holmgreen, Jr December 14, 2001

Wow!! I have tried to make white gravy a few times, but could never get it right. Now, I finally did!! Thankyou so much! :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica1 October 03, 2001

Wow, such a Great and Easy recipe. Thanks for sharing. I also added pepper The family loves it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti7 November 14, 2002

This is great gravey. The only thing I did different was added alot of pepper, my husband loves pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Bailey April 05, 2002

Such a simple recipe I used half and half since I was out of milk and glad I did . I didn't have much excess grease so I added some bacon grease the taste was delicious my husband loved it. Thanks will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abanuche_12738808 March 01, 2014

I had never made biscuits and gravy so I used this recipe to try it out. It worked perfectly. I used cornstarch and I didn't have any excess grease to pour off and I also left the sausage in it as I added the ingredients. Worked for me. No fail recipe. Thanks for sharing Toncats2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel June 03, 2010

Made this for a covered-dish party at work and the doubled recipe was gone in less than three hours. I added some salt, pepper, and a little onion salt, but the recipe was super easy and got rave reviews from my co-workers. Now they won't stop asking me to bring it for every party we have!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewok_626 December 24, 2009

Absolutely wonderful. I do spice things up by adding black pepper and just a bit of salt. The gravy comes together easily. I agree with the other reviewer...take the sausage out before doing your cornstarch & milk. The recipe doesn't state that and I messed up the first time I made it. Even still, it turned out great. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Wiehl November 23, 2009

This came out great! My hubby did add some diced onions and we we very happy with the result. Beginning gravy makers note: the directions do not specify to remove the sausage before adding the flour/cornstarch etc, but does refer to returning it to the pan. So, remove the sausage at the beginning of step 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shancy March 02, 2009
Biscuits and Sausage Gravy II