16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ohhh this hit the spot tonight!!! Very easy to make. I could only get 3/4lb sweet sausage so I supplemented with a package of spicy sausage. A huge hit! I used Pillsbury Grands...*hint* I split my biscuit into thirds for more surface area!!! schlurrrrp!!<br/><br/>Made for Culinary Quest 2014/Cruisin' Culinary Queens. xoxo Bethie/elmotoo

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gerrish.elizabeth August 14, 2014

Yum! I really enjoyed this. Simple and good. Thanks Dibs for sharing this nice winner. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 06, 2014

We had breakfast for supper one night and biscuits and gravy was on the menu. This was very easy to make and the flavor is great. I used mild sausage and the flavor was spot on for us. Thank you Dib's for posting! Made and reviewed for the 2014 Culinary Quest - Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 26, 2014

good basic recipe cakepops on parade we have alot of recipes including mine lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 17, 2014

Biscuits and gravy are one of my son's favorite breakfasts! We really enjoyed this version as part of our Sunday morning breakfast. Thanks for sharing! Made for Culinary Quest, Summer 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 14, 2014

We enjoyed this for dinner. I had some defrosted sweet italian turkey sausage but I didn't want the recipe I had previously chosen for it, which had tomatoes (which I did not want tonight!). There was very little grease left in the pan but it seemed to work fine. I used half fat free half & half and half skim milk (because it's what I had in the house). I served this over canned biscuits with poached eggs and sliced pears. The kids and my husband sprinkled a little cheddar on top though I chose not to. A good easy weeknight dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit May 19, 2009

Just like my grandpa made! perfect, no changes necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama July 07, 2008

This is delicious and comforting. I did not use the cheese or have eggs with it. The instructions were very easy to follow. I cheated a bit and used the biscuits in a tube, but it still tasted fabulous. Thanks for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ March 30, 2008

Funny story for you, Jimmy Dean makes a mild pork sausage that's 50% less fat than regular pork sausage and it was on sale, and I just had to have biscuits and gravy today, really craving them. It didn't occur to me until I started browning the sausage that I would end up with wayyy less pan drippings (less fat, duh, lol) so I had to play around w/the flour and milk amounts. I like lots of pepper in my gravy and so does my bf. I had to sub unsweetened soy milk for the regular milk, although near the end I did add a little regular milk in. But basically I used less qty of all the ingredients due to the lack of yummy necessary pan drippings (I had less than a tsp worth!) Bf likes to tease me about replacing regular milk w/soy milk, but w/IBS there more often I can sub, the better; anyway he said this turned out really yummy. He's gobbling up 2 more biscuits after he finished his first. We had this w/prepackaged potatoes and onions on the side, and a can of southern-style biscuits. He said I should have made a lot more gravy. I said next time, we have to use full-fat sausage to get enough drippings so I can use the full 4 cups of milk. Anyway, I still can't believe less fat didn't occur to me as being a bad thing in this case. :) Thank you DiB's, very simple and good gravy to make, especially since this is my first gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage May 27, 2007
Biscuits and Gravy