Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Biscuits and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Biscuits and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2009

    • on May 19, 2009

      We enjoyed this for dinner. I had some defrosted sweet italian turkey sausage but I didn't want the recipe I had previously chosen for it, which had tomatoes (which I did not want tonight!). There was very little grease left in the pan but it seemed to work fine. I used half fat free half & half and half skim milk (because it's what I had in the house). I served this over canned biscuits with poached eggs and sliced pears. The kids and my husband sprinkled a little cheddar on top though I chose not to. A good easy weeknight dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Just like my grandpa made! perfect, no changes necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is delicious and comforting. I did not use the cheese or have eggs with it. The instructions were very easy to follow. I cheated a bit and used the biscuits in a tube, but it still tasted fabulous. Thanks for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Funny story for you, Jimmy Dean makes a mild pork sausage that's 50% less fat than regular pork sausage and it was on sale, and I just had to have biscuits and gravy today, really craving them. It didn't occur to me until I started browning the sausage that I would end up with wayyy less pan drippings (less fat, duh, lol) so I had to play around w/the flour and milk amounts. I like lots of pepper in my gravy and so does my bf. I had to sub unsweetened soy milk for the regular milk, although near the end I did add a little regular milk in. But basically I used less qty of all the ingredients due to the lack of yummy necessary pan drippings (I had less than a tsp worth!) Bf likes to tease me about replacing regular milk w/soy milk, but w/IBS there more often I can sub, the better; anyway he said this turned out really yummy. He's gobbling up 2 more biscuits after he finished his first. We had this w/prepackaged potatoes and onions on the side, and a can of southern-style biscuits. He said I should have made a lot more gravy. I said next time, we have to use full-fat sausage to get enough drippings so I can use the full 4 cups of milk. Anyway, I still can't believe less fat didn't occur to me as being a bad thing in this case. :) Thank you DiB's, very simple and good gravy to make, especially since this is my first gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Excellent!!! My hubby and kid loves it plus its easy to make and filling pure heaven!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      My mom has the ability to make biscuits and gravy without measuring anything. But for people like me who needs a recipe this was great. I, too, like a ton of pepper in the gravy. It was soo good. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      Thanks for sharing this.I always wanted to make it. It makes a lot,have lots of left overs for tomorrow. I had to add about 3 more TBS of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      This is a great recipe which I have made more times than I can count. I'm also guilty of just adding flour and milk until it looks right so I appreciate the exact measurements. One reviewer mentioned adding lots of pepper to this so I have a little tip that I find really works well. I add about 1 1/2 teaspoons of freshly ground black pepper to the roux and let it simmer and season while while the roux is cooking. I let my roux cook until it just begins to get a golden brown color and then slowly add the milk while whisking. Of course, use less pepper if you don't like alot of pepper. You will be surprised at the savory flavor the pepper releases when using this method. Thanks for posting this Di, we also have this occasionally for supper, especially during the wintertime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      I made this for my husband and son and they LOVED it! As the other reviewer mentioned, it's nice to have measurements. A friend of mine makes very good sausage gravy and she says the trick is to add lots of pepper, and she's right. I used the big, fluffy, fattening "Grands" biscuits. My son ate the last of it for breakfast today. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Great recipie! I make this often for hubby and it's nice to have real measurements other than our usual "a pinch of this..." Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Biscuits and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.0
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    66%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 77.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 561.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites