10 Reviews

Very good!! I am so pleased with this recipe because I usually fail at making biscuits and this recipe sure turned out GREAT!! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used1 cup milk with 1 T. vinegar... thanks for posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Judith Irene January 22, 2009

I decided to sub 1/4 c of the flour with whole wheat flour. It worked just fine and next time I'll try 1/2c. I increased the baking powder to 1T and made the butter version which resulted in a rich, fluffy biscuit everybody enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea March 19, 2009

Made these tonight on a rainy, cold, blustery eve. I upped the baking powder to a tablespoon and used vinegared milk since I didn't have buttermilk. I added the milk bit by bit and ended up not using all of it, probably due to the moisture in the air. Got lazy and made drop biscuits instead of rolling them out and they turned out marvelously. Light and fluffy and just wonderful. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Sarah*~ November 20, 2011

I have never been able to make biscuits before! these turned out great the first time!... I added cheese and garlic to the left over dough and made extra biscuits... BIG hit with my daughter...I used self rising flour. Didnt have buttermilk so i added a tbls vinegar to my milk. Worked like a charm :) Just remember what ever thickness you cut them that will be the thickness of your biscuits. I made thin and thick and they were both awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfarmer1 April 27, 2011

Wonderful recipe! After reading the reviews, I followed the advice of 1 reviewer and increased the baking powder to 1 Tblsp. The dough was also pretty wet for me after adding the liquid so I sifted an additional 1/3 cup of flour in (I didn't have any self rising flour) and that did the trick. I used butter instead of crisco. They turned out light, fluffy and baked to a beautiful golden brown. This will definitely be my biscuit recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chongsah December 31, 2010

Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mumrenee December 29, 2010

great quick recipe, my wife barters and trades to get me to make them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tedeandrews September 14, 2008

These biscuits were so good. Very quick and easy to make, with delicious results. I used Crisco and buttermilk in these biscuits. They didn't raise very high...but...oh the flavor. They were light, fluffy and tender on the inside and crisp and crunchy on the outside, just the way I love em. Thanks so much for sharing. Into my keeper box this recipe goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 13, 2008

I made this recipe on 2/24/08 to go with our dinner. As I was combining the dry ingredients, I remembered what Derf had said about them not rising very high.So I double sifted the dry ingredients.After adding the milk,it looked way too wet.So I added about a 1/2 cup of self-rising flour,and that seemed to do the trick.This biscuit had a "good down home taste" ,this will be made again.Thank you for posting and, "Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 25, 2008

Lovely tender, flaky biscuits! I used the buttermilk powder and water, even happened to have some crisco in; they didn't rise as high as other biscuits I've made but they were so tender and light it didn't matter. Thanks for posting, I will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf January 06, 2008
Biscuits