16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is like my grandmother's biscuit-topped chicken pie, right down to the peppery flavor. I added some finely-chopped flat leaf parsley to the biscuit dough. I cycled back on the black pepper quite a bit because my husband objects to too much; personally, I love it. This is the pot pie recipe I've been seeking for many a year. It is perfect to clear out little bits of everything from the fridge. My dairy was a whisked-together combination of 1/2 & 1/2, rice milk, plain yogurt and buttermilk. I made buttermilk biscuits for the top. This will definitely be in the supper recipe rotation for the new year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tikaware January 01, 2015

I've never even made a regular chicken pot pie before and I was craving something like this so much since I'm pregnant and not currently dieting. I followed this recipe, but not exactly to the T - I don't like celery, so I added more of the other veggies plus some additional frozen mixed veggies. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I just used the 2% milk I had and also just eyeballed the amounts of each ingredient rather than measuring everything. It turned out fantastic!!!! My husband and 3 yr old son loved it as much as I did and we will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Given2Fly November 17, 2012

This was very good.. the only thing I would do is cut back on the pepper at the end because it was a little too peppery for our tastes, and I did not make the biscuits but used the premade canned biscuits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee September 19, 2012

***Rating is for biscuit topping only**** I used chicken from Crock Pot Whole Chicken http://www.food.com/recipe/whole-chicken-crock-pot-recipe-33671 and added a bunch of veggies to the stock in the crock pot after removing the cooked chicken, cooked a while longer until veggies were tender & then thickened with milk & flour. Turned everything (including chicken) into a casserole dish & topped with the biscuit recipe here; baked for 20-25 minutes on 400 degrees. Biscuits rose up nice and fluffy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau February 06, 2012

Really nice comfort food. Just loved this home-y dish. Brought me back to my Grandma's kitchen and my childhood. Made for Football Pool, 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy January 30, 2012

What a wonderful recipe...my house smells fantastic!!! The only change I made was to roll out the biscuit dough and just place it over the top.....it worked great. Thanks for a new family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBossy0425 October 16, 2010

I made this for my husbands family last week (including his six nieces and nephews) and they absolutely loved it. Everyone had seconds, even the most picky eaters. My father in law was even tempted to try it, and he's a life-long vegetarian. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwirlyGirl August 24, 2010

My family loved this. I will be using this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donair July 21, 2010

Bayhill...this was warm and wonderfull. The only thing I changed were the biscuts, I used the kind in a can. But I won't do that again, they seemed uncooked on the bottom. I also had to use canned peas, I didn't add them until the last minute. This made enough for a 9x12 AND a deep dish pie plate. We will definatly make this one over and over. Thanks again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen uh Cuisine February 15, 2009

I attempted to cut this down to 2 servings and ended up getting 3 generous servings or 4 average servings. The recipe is very easy to follow, great list of ingredients resulting in pure comfort food. Made for Photo Forums *Comfort Food* event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 29, 2008
Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie