13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty! I love these with chai tea.

A few changes I made:
-At sarikat's suggestion, I put in 7T of butter instead of 6T and added vanilla.
-Along with the powdered sugar, I also sprinkled on cinnamon before baking. I'm a big fan of cinnamon and chocolate together, so that extra bit of flavor really made these pop for me.

-One major tip: DO NOT only let these cool for 5 minutes before slicing and returning to the oven. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for such a short amount of time. After only 5 minutes of cooling, when I went to slice my first biscotti loaf, it simply crumbled. For my second loaf, I waited a good 15-20 minutes until they were almost entirely cool and then sliced -- they turned out beautifully.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annissa October 19, 2010

These are insanely delicious! I made a few changes as per other reviewers' suggestions: used pecans instead of walnuts, added a tsp of vanilla, and used mini chocolate chips. The dough was seriously crumbly and I had about 25% breakage, but it's totally worth saving the crumbs! Thanks so much, Maureenie! ETA: The second time, I used 7 T. butter and had way less breakage.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat December 23, 2009

Quick and easy prep. I like the idea of using the chocolate chips instead of crushing blocks of semi sweet in the food processor. I used pecans instead of the walnuts since we grow them in this part of the country.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbowelp December 13, 2009

The Best!!! I have recently gone back to work and this made me the hit of the office. The only change I made was to use 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Thanks again for the great recipe, every one wants a copy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria September 01, 2009

I skipped the confectioners sugar and my friends still loved them so much that they all asked me for the recipe. Keeping this one handy for future use!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squirrelette August 04, 2009

This is one of the best biscotti recipes I have ever tried. They have great flavor and don't fall apart. They are not crispy and hard and great for dessert with an Italian meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 12, 2009

soo good! just add a lil vanilla to make perfect! will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChezA March 05, 2009

Funny because I think this practically identical to Martha Stewart's chocolate pistachio biscotti recipe. Nonetheless, these are great! I like it better with the walnuts, anyway :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BKBaker February 23, 2009

Oh WOW, These were amazing. I say were because my husband just about finished all of them. I hid a few for the gift bags. I used almonds, dark and white chocochips. The cooling time was perfect and the powderd sugar looks like snow ;-) Not a single crumbler. Thank you this will be a regular cookie for around here Zinfull

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zinfull December 14, 2008
Biscotti Al Cioccolato E Noce (Double Chocolate Walnut Biscotti)