11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful. The dough is sticky so try this: Take a piece of Saran Wraap lenghtwise, spray with a bit of butter spray. Put half the dough into the middle of the sran wrap, then start rolling it to make a log. Do the same with the leftover batter. Refrigerate and when you're ready to bake just take the wrap and roll the log onto your baking sheet, again make sure you have enough space between rolls. Don't worry if a bit sticks to the wrap, just wet your hands and smooth out the roll. Easy Peasy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodtoepia January 21, 2011

SO GOOD! I made these for a MOPS meeting and they were a HUGE hit. So easy to make and tastes really great. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon and took the nuts out. i can see myself coming back to this time and time again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autumn Maney December 12, 2010

wow these were absolutely wonderful! I made some changes which included leaving out the walnuts and adding 1 tsp. salt. Also, there seemed to be a little bit of confusion involving the baking. I followed what some of the other reviewers said and looked at other biscotti recipes. I baked the "loaves" for half an hour, took them out and let them cool for about 5 minutes, and then sliced them about 3/4 inch thick and baked them sliced-side-up for another half hour. The texture and baking times are perfect and the biscotti aren't break-your-teeth-hard. They are just right :) Also, i noticed that after I chilled the "dough" it wasn't really a doughy consistency. It was really liquidy so you have to try your hardest to just form long logs on a greased baking sheet. Make sure to keep a couple inches space between both loaves because they spread out. All in all they were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 April 27, 2009

I'm a very very new baker and this was such a great recipe for me to make. Very easy and delicious! I substituted some brown sugar for the white and skipped the walnuts. It was impossible to "roll" them into loaves as the batter was way too sticky even after being refridgerated. I did the best I could and found that they sort of spread and smoothed themselves out (good thing I spaced them far apart on the baking sheet) so it was okay. I wasn't sure if I had to bake them (the second time around) all spread out or if I could just slice the loaves and stick it right back in the oven. I tried the second (easier) option but after twenty minutes or so, I realized the inside pieces were not getting crisp. I then spread them out and they came out perfect. Brought in one loaf for my coworkers and they were demolished before lunch! Thanks so much. :-) I'll definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cime1900 March 05, 2009

This recipe is so easy and the texture turns out just right. I added 1 tsp. salt to the basic recipe. Instead of the vanilla extract I used almond extract and 1 cup of sliced almonds. Then I left out the walnuts, chips, and cinnamon/sugar sprinkles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy72552 December 21, 2008

These are really good. I have been searching for a recipe for chocolate mint biscotti, I used this one, added Andes Mint Chips in place of the chocolate chips, didn't put nuts, and then drizzled melted andes mint chips on top of the biscotti.....mmmmmm good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k_ksgranny December 18, 2008

These were lovely. All I had was raisins and they worked perfectly. I will def. make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrimsonPhoenix November 19, 2008

Loved these! I used chocolate chips and dates(thats all I had. )Turned out great. The directions were a little confusing to me, after you shape and bake biscotti for 30 minutes, then take out and slice and continue cooking for another 25-30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieValerie October 29, 2008

Love these as an all purpose biscotti because I can change the flavors with such ease. One ingredient I did not like was the walnuts. Flavor too strong. I prefer almonds or pecans. Thanks Sari!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmsanti August 22, 2008

Made this recipe with Cranberries and Walnuts/very easy and a big hit/adding to my cookie tray list next year

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shdwgrv December 14, 2007
Biscotti