Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bird's Easy Shrimp Scampi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bird's Easy Shrimp Scampi

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2010

      I squirted the lemon right in with the wine while preparing it. We loved it! I served it over linguine and had a small salad on the side with garlic bread. What a great combination and a great meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Oh wow, wow, yummy, yummy, quick, flavorful, and did I mention yummy? I had to make a couple changes. I was only able to afford cooked tail-on, deveined frozen large shrimp (the 1lb bag was on sale). I decided to halve this recipe. While thawing the shrimp in a strainer, I snapped off the tails. I used 1/2 tsp paprika for approx 1/2 lb shrimp. I used 2 tsp jarred, minced garlic for the fresh. For the wine, I got one of those mini bottles of white wine (Sutter Home Chardonnay) and used 1/4 cup. I used a pinch of salt and a couple pinches black pepper. Instead of lemon wedges, I added 1 tsp of lemon juice along with the shrimp to the reduced wine mixture. I used the amt of olive oil called for and for the butter, I used the same amt called for, but used Smart Balance with Flaxsweed OIl spread. I also added 1tsp dried parsley flakes a few mins before the shrimp was removed from heat. I cooked the shrimp for several mins so it could steep in the sauce, even though they were already fully cooked. I'm really glad I made the full amt of "sauce". I served this atop Simple Spaghetti Dish for a very quick and flavorful supper. I would definitely make this again! Bf seemed to enjoy it, also. I made this for Please Review My Recipe. Thanks for sharing, Bird! Shrimp Scampi is one of my all-time fave dishes, so this will be a happy addition to my faves cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Made for an unexpected guest and what a hit! I did add some red pepper flakes but otherwise I followed the instructions. Served over buttered noodles and added a green salad. Thank you for posting. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      this IS a very easy recipe .thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Very easy and delicious, we enjoyed this very much exactly as is. I would have used the breadcrumbs, but thought I didn't have any, discovered them the next day exactly where they are supposed to be, sigh. So next time I'll add them! However, they are certainly not required, for this to be a 5 star dish. Thanks, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Very good. We served over pasta. We enjoyed this for dinner last evening and next time I will add some spice to it. I think the addition of red pepper flakes would be wonderful. I believe I could cut down the butter for us also. I did add the optional bread crumbs and recommend adding them. Nice and easy. Thanks for a great meal 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Overall a very easy recipe and great for mid week but would like to see a little more kick in it and would add a finely sliced chilli with the garlic next time. Served with steamed rice and vegetables, I also used 500brams (1lb) of prawn flesh for 3. Thank you 2Bleu, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Very good combination of ingredients. I didn't use the optional breadcrumbs. Next time I'll try it with the suggested scallops. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Holy Smokes was this good! I left out the bread crumbs and served over gluten free pasta. Nummy Nummy. Made for the Gardening Forum Herb of the Month (parsley).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      yummy! These shrimps are the bests :D I reduced the fat to 1 tbs olive oil, 2 tbs unsalted butter. It was enough. I used the whine wine. And I used only 1 tsp of paprika. I was afraid it would be too much for us. It was perfect like that. The taste was great and the texture also. Thanks 2Bleu. Made for Top Favorites of 2008 tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I've graduated this from 3 to 4 stars (mostly because the garlic made this work) but even though we adore shrimp we weren't raving about it. I think it's a pure and simple case of being spoilt rotten by great Zaar recipes... this one is nice enough but lacks the wow factor. That said, it was nice enough, it was easy to make and the wine,paprika and garlic were very welcome additions that harmonised the favours togeher. Please see my Rating System: 4 lovely stars for a recipe that for us at least, was good but not in any way spectacular. It's excellent to have had a go and to have tried it though. Other reviewers obviously found this far better, and personal taste is everything so if you are considering this recipe then I recommend that you give it a go and decide for yourself. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Super yummy! I used chicken broth in place of the wine and served over noodles. I cut the butter to 3 T. Everyone loved it! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was good, but not what I am used to as scampi...maybe we do scampi differently on the Gulf Coast! It was a little bland. I've never seen scampi without any lemon, but I refrained from adding any to test the "true" recipe. I went down to the docks and purchased shrimp at the fish market so it would be fresh and tastey. The shrimp were beautiful, and I served it over linguine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This blew me away! I never thought I would find a Scampi recipe that I liked as much as my own, but I may have to reevaluate my opinion. I made this exactly as written, including the breadcrumbs. I think my personal recipe will go into retirement for awhile! And, by the way, it is super easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      5+ stars all the way. This is very tasty. I served it over Simple Spaghetti Dish but used angel hair pasta instead. This has a nice garlic, butter flavor to it. Not an overpowering taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      This was a really quick and easy meal to fix. We had this for supper tonight along with steamed white rice and steamed brocolli. My DD ate two helpings and was wanting a third. We really enjoyed this thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      These are outstanding and truly easy to make. I did serve them with Simple Spaghetti Dish #256215 and it was a lovely combination. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This was great and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I didn't add the parsley as I am not a fan or the optional bread crumbs. I also used chicken broth instead of white wine as I didn't have any. This was enjoyed by the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Super easy, absolutely delicious and one of the prettiest dishes we have had the pleasure to photograph. Very rich. Made for PRMR August 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bird's Easy Shrimp Scampi

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.3
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    67%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 173.7 mg
    57%
    Sodium 747.5 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites