Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bird's Creamy Egg Noodle and Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bird's Creamy Egg Noodle and Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2010

      I thought this was very good, hearty food. Perfect for my hungry father! Used ricotta instead of cottage cheese as a personal preferance but otherwise made as written. Came out creamy and beefy in the middle with a nice cheesy crust on top....YUM.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      DH calls this the "mac daddy" of casseroles. Easy to make, freezes well. Have made it with italian sausage and have also made it meatless, subsituting spinach for the meat. Excellant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      I really enjoyed the layered flavours in this- you get all the taste of a lasagna without the calories! Thanks to the suggestion of another reviewer, I also added chopped onion and minced garlic which really boosted the flavour. Thanks for another great recipe 2Bleu!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      A really tasty and easy to make recipe. I used low fat cream cheese, cottage cheese and sour cream (none of which I find compromise flavour) but regular cheddar cheese. I loathe low-fat or reduced fat cheeses, which I find flavourless and would prefer to omit the cheese than to use them. While browning the beef, I added garlic and onion, both finely minced, and then added 2 cups of finely sliced mushrooms and some thyme. YUM! Easy to follow instructions and with the modifications made to suit our taste preferences, certainly a recipe I'll happily make again. Thanks for sharing it. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I just finished making this for please review my recipe and have tasted it, and it is amazing! I love the blend of cream cheese, cottage cheese and sour cream! I have to admit, I made a lot of adjustments to match my supplies: I used whole wheat rotini pasta because the bag of egg noodles I was sure was in the cupboard was not there! I started off with ground round that I had previously browned with onion and frozen, so I thawed in the microwave and added the italian seasoning. We always use reduced fat cream cheese and cottage cheese, and fat free sour cream, so that's what I used. I left out the butter. I baked covered for the first 2/3 of the baking time. Lastly, I had some lovely fresh mushrooms from farmer's market a couple of days ago that we're just not using up fast enough on our salads, so I sliced those and threw them on top the last 15 minutes of the baking time. I didn't want them to juice and make the whole casserole runny, so I avoided stirring them into the whole mix, but the casserole is not overly moist or runny, so I think it would have been okay. I hope you don't mind that I 'messed with' your recipe so much! I do appreciate the creamy texture of this dish--Yummy! I'll probably serve leftovers with a ladle of jarred marinara or alfredo sauce on top to help keep the noodles moist in the reheating process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I made this recipe using shell pasta, light sour cream & light ricotta (in place of the cottage cheese). I also left out the butter but added 1 tbsp of cream. It was very good but I think I would have like it better without the hamburger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      this was good, the only changes I made was with the ground beef mixture, I reduced the Italian seasoning to 1 teaspoon then cooked the beef mixture with onion, garlic and crushed chili flakes, I did not add on the last layer of cheese until after it cooked, thanks for sharing Bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Cheesey, creamy and yummy! I made this as written, but just added chopped onions to the beef as I browned it. I used reduced-fat sour cream and cream cheese with wonderful results. This would be great for potlucks because it's pretty much sure to please everyone. Thanx for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      As usual I didn't look at the recipe completely before tagging, so I was surprised with how much it made. But that's ok, I just made one pan for the freezer. This was a great simple casserole recipe. I started making it before I realized I had no sour cream, so I made it with a mix of cream of mushroom soup and cream of chicken soup, turned out great! Next time I will use sour cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Very creamy and very easy to make. I only used 8 oz of cream cheese because I failed to pick up another block at the store. It was still quite creamy and very cheesy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I made this today and used light versions of all of the cheeses. It tasted alright, but the cream cheese flavor I thought was way too intense for me. I scaled this recipe down to serve 4 and it made a great dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This is a yummy casserole. It's almost like lasagna but a lot easier to make. It is creamy, rich and the flavors blend together so well. I was afraid the cream cheese would be too overpowering, but it wasn't at all. It just added to the creaminess. However, I did only use 8 ounces of cream cheese because that's all I had on hand. My family enjoyed this meal, especially my 13 -year-old son! I admit I only had a very small amount because it's so high in fat and I'm trying to watch that. I could probably make a low-fat version, but I'm not real crazy about the taste of fat-free sour cream and cream cheese in recipes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bird's Creamy Egg Noodle and Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.4
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    55%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 106.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 474.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes