12 Reviews

I thought this was very good, hearty food. Perfect for my hungry father! Used ricotta instead of cottage cheese as a personal preferance but otherwise made as written. Came out creamy and beefy in the middle with a nice cheesy crust on top....YUM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taraluvsspicy82 March 10, 2010

DH calls this the "mac daddy" of casseroles. Easy to make, freezes well. Have made it with italian sausage and have also made it meatless, subsituting spinach for the meat. Excellant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aubergine910 December 29, 2009

I really enjoyed the layered flavours in this- you get all the taste of a lasagna without the calories! Thanks to the suggestion of another reviewer, I also added chopped onion and minced garlic which really boosted the flavour. Thanks for another great recipe 2Bleu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud June 04, 2009

A really tasty and easy to make recipe. I used low fat cream cheese, cottage cheese and sour cream (none of which I find compromise flavour) but regular cheddar cheese. I loathe low-fat or reduced fat cheeses, which I find flavourless and would prefer to omit the cheese than to use them. While browning the beef, I added garlic and onion, both finely minced, and then added 2 cups of finely sliced mushrooms and some thyme. YUM! Easy to follow instructions and with the modifications made to suit our taste preferences, certainly a recipe I'll happily make again. Thanks for sharing it. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 20, 2008

I just finished making this for please review my recipe and have tasted it, and it is amazing! I love the blend of cream cheese, cottage cheese and sour cream! I have to admit, I made a lot of adjustments to match my supplies: I used whole wheat rotini pasta because the bag of egg noodles I was sure was in the cupboard was not there! I started off with ground round that I had previously browned with onion and frozen, so I thawed in the microwave and added the italian seasoning. We always use reduced fat cream cheese and cottage cheese, and fat free sour cream, so that's what I used. I left out the butter. I baked covered for the first 2/3 of the baking time. Lastly, I had some lovely fresh mushrooms from farmer's market a couple of days ago that we're just not using up fast enough on our salads, so I sliced those and threw them on top the last 15 minutes of the baking time. I didn't want them to juice and make the whole casserole runny, so I avoided stirring them into the whole mix, but the casserole is not overly moist or runny, so I think it would have been okay. I hope you don't mind that I 'messed with' your recipe so much! I do appreciate the creamy texture of this dish--Yummy! I'll probably serve leftovers with a ladle of jarred marinara or alfredo sauce on top to help keep the noodles moist in the reheating process.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra August 25, 2008

I made this recipe using shell pasta, light sour cream & light ricotta (in place of the cottage cheese). I also left out the butter but added 1 tbsp of cream. It was very good but I think I would have like it better without the hamburger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh July 31, 2008

this was good, the only changes I made was with the ground beef mixture, I reduced the Italian seasoning to 1 teaspoon then cooked the beef mixture with onion, garlic and crushed chili flakes, I did not add on the last layer of cheese until after it cooked, thanks for sharing Bird!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 10, 2008

Cheesey, creamy and yummy! I made this as written, but just added chopped onions to the beef as I browned it. I used reduced-fat sour cream and cream cheese with wonderful results. This would be great for potlucks because it's pretty much sure to please everyone. Thanx for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 12, 2008

As usual I didn't look at the recipe completely before tagging, so I was surprised with how much it made. But that's ok, I just made one pan for the freezer. This was a great simple casserole recipe. I started making it before I realized I had no sour cream, so I made it with a mix of cream of mushroom soup and cream of chicken soup, turned out great! Next time I will use sour cream

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 March 05, 2008

Very creamy and very easy to make. I only used 8 oz of cream cheese because I failed to pick up another block at the store. It was still quite creamy and very cheesy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori December 08, 2007
Bird's Creamy Egg Noodle and Beef Casserole