11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG this was so good. I can't believe I'm saying this but it's better than my Mother's. I had doubts about the amount of liquids but in the end the broth was so thick and rich it was perfect. Thanks for sharing. My husband ask to have this again son.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggodess June 23, 2010

I made this for the first time tonight. I had a fairly large chicken, almost 8 pounds. So I found that I needed a great deal more liquid. I ended up using a total of 9 cups of water and broth. I made the stew version, and since time is a factor, I actually cooked the chicken overnight in the slow cooker on low. This morning I removed skin & bones and shredded chicken, it was literally falling off the bones and smelled wonderful. I added the chicken back and the veggies and left the slow cooker on low all day. I waited until 30 minutes before making dumplings to add the canned green beans and heavy cream. Everybody had seconds and said it was a keeper recipe. I have plenty left for another night, but will have to make more dumplings for the left overs. I didn't have fresh herbs on hand, so I used 1/2 tsp ground sage and 1 tsp parsley in the dumplings. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motherof4boyz February 27, 2009

This was excellent! Definitely on my list of comfort foods. I made this with the dumplings and everyone loved it! Another keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2SixKids January 22, 2009

This ended up being delicious soup, but I think the recipe as written is probably more suited to make the stew. There wasn't enough liquid to handle all the meat and veggies plus the seasonings seemed overpowering for only 4 cups of liquid. However, after adding 1 additional cup of broth and 1 additional cup of water, the seasoning was perfect. I only used half of the meat in the soup; the rest I put away for another use (even with the extra liquid, there just wasn't enough for all of the meat plus the other ingredients). I cooked 1 lb. of pasta, but only needed half of it because of the amount of broth. I definitely would make this again because the flavor was outstanding, but I would do so with the changes I made above. I would have tried the stew version, but we're trying to eat healthier! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= January 14, 2009

This is one of the best tasting Chicken & Dumplings I have ever had. I had to substitute a can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream because mine had gone bad. I also left out the green beans & onion but added onion powder. Excellent!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh October 10, 2008

Wonderful! Made for small group of friends with no leftovers. Everyone loved it. Made the dumpling version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Concrete September 28, 2008

I have been on a chicken and dumplings kick lately LOL. So I made this recipe as written other then I made it into the soup version with the noodles. I also used two cans of mixed veggies instead of the veggies indicated. I had cooked chicken in my freezer so used that which made this recipe easy and quick to make. Everyone enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 18, 2008

Great taste and super thick! I actually used leftover chicken for this. I left out the celery due to personal taste but added in celery salt. Thanks, 2Bleu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady April 15, 2008

I made the soup and it was just what I was looking for today. I've never added garlic powder to my chicken soups but I have no idea why because it works very well. I didn't have any green beans but everything else went in and it was a wonderful old fashioned chicken soup that is pure comfort. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 26, 2011

Although another time I might just start with a cooked chicken, this first time around I pretty much followed the recipe for the stew with dumplings & had an absolutely great, wonderfully flavorful chicken dinner! Definitely worth making again! Thanks for this stew recipe keeper! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 01, 2011
Bird's Chicken Stew With Dumplings (Or Chicken Noodle Soup)